19

The Greyjoys are a challenging house, and require a really aggressive play style. Out of the 6-player games I've played, the Greyjoys have won the least often, but not by a huge discrepancy, so take hope! There seems to be 2 working strategies, both based on the close relationship the Greyjoys have with the Lannisters. Lannister Bloodbath Screw the ...


10

To the contrary. In the games I've played, Greyjoys win about 1/3 of the time. Though, I admit, it is most probably because their aggressive play style makes them more attractive for the experienced players of the group to enroll (given you didn't select houses at random). Your strengths are: Arguably the strongest cards of all houses You start with the ...


10

No. You may not use them. From page 22. on the 2nd Edition rules: In addition to 10 normal Order tokens, each House also have five Special Order tokens. A player may use any of his 10 normal Order tokens during the Planning Phase, but may use only as many Special Order tokens as he has stars on the King's Court Influence track position. ... ...


9

Yes, you already moved those troops during the March Orders step. The rule book indicates that all troops are moved or not moved during the March Order, before combat begins. If you wanted to leave some troops behind, you need to do so before you begin combat and you cannot add those units to your combat strength. -When a player moves one or more units into ...


8

This is clearly stated on page 20 of the rulebook. (For reference the rulebook and the FAQ.) On p. 20 it states: If either the attacker or the defender holds the Valyrian Steel Blade token, that player now has the option of using its ability to provide +1 to his total Combat Strength. If used, flip the token to its faded side, as a reminder that it ...


8

It can support again another battle. Supporting units simply provide their strength in combat without participating in any other way. Routing only happens to retreating armies. See manual page 21 ("Retreats and Routing").


7

Where a player sits around the table has little influence on the turn order of the game. Straight out of the rule book, on page 7 (emphasis mine): Your house position on the Iron Throne influence track abstractly represents the strength of your claim to be king as seen among the minor nobles, knights, and people of Westeros. In the game, the Iron Throne ...


6

To quote the rulebook: Yes, combat ensues normally: "Whenever a player marches one or more of his units into an area containing units from another House, combat ensues." on p17 They are still units. And there is no rule telling you otherwise. But they provide 0 combat strength: "Routed units provide no Combat Strength, but still count towards a ...


6

Baratheon strength 2 is Final if the Throne ranking so determines : which house executes first and next house executes after. So slightly counter-intuitively the lower Throne ranking would receive the benefit in this case. http://community.fantasyflightgames.com/index.php?/topic/73198-house-card-questions/ http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/867434/final-...


6

The House card discarded by Patchface stays in the discard pile, all other cards are returned to the non-Baratheon players hand. I don't believe that an official answer exists for this situation, as noted here in this BGG thread. I believe that a literal reading of the rules leads to a definitive answer. Important information of note from the rule book (page ...


6

The token, representing the garrison of the stronghold, is removed once it has been taken by an enemy player. If the original owner of that territory retakes it, the token is not replaced. Relevant quote from the rule book, page 26 If a Garrison is defeated in combat (whether defending by itself or with other friendly units), it is permanently ...


6

No. There's no movement outside of the board, and no justification in the rules for these areas to be treated differently. The two sea regions you mention aren't adjacent to each other, nor are they the same region, so ships can't move between them. As for the lore behind this, the Game of Thrones world is big, and not thoroughly explored. It's likely too ...


5

Yes, even routed units immediately control the areas they occupy. According to the FFG rule book, Controlling Areas - A House is said to control a land area when it has at least one Footman, Knight, or Siege Engine in the area, or has previously established control in that area by placing a Power token there (see below).


5

Having played both, the second edition is definitely more streamlined than the first edition. The mechanics and "feel" of the game are pretty much the same (although the new "Wildling" and optional "Tides of Battle" cards do make wildling attacks and battles more interesting), a few balancing tweaks, but the biggest changes are mostly aesthetic. To me, ...


5

That is correct: The army limit is based on your position on the Supply track, but the Supply track is not automatically adjusted during any of the game phases. You would only adjust the Supply track (and thus your armies) when the a game effect explicitly commands it (i.e. a Supply card is drawn). From page 8 of the official rules (second edition, but it ...


5

It makes sense that you would put the discard pile back into the deck and re-shuffle - this is what we have always done in our games. This obviously means that you can have the reappearance of cards that have already been drawn once before. It wouldn't make sense to just shuffle the remaining cards - what would be the difference between that and not ...


5

"Now" means during the step being discussed by that explanation: the Valyrian Steel Blade step. The Valyrian Steel Blade step is the fourth out of six parts in combat, as listed in the rules. It occurs after the Choose and Reveal House Cards step, which is third out of six. The rulebook and the FAQ/errata both imply that the Blade happens after the TOB ...


5

Option two would happen here, two supporting footmen from A + knight from B = 4. From the rulebook: Before resolving combat, all other non-combat movement from the area assign the March Order must be completed. - Rulebook pg 15 This means that the footman unit that is moving has to have completed it's march before combat is initiated. Then: ...


4

No. The supply cards are when you adjust your position on the Supply track, but your armies must always respect your supply. This is called out specifically in the supply section of the rulebook on page 8: A player is never allowed to take any action in the game that would cause him to exceed his actual supply limit as dictated by his position on the ...


4

This is answered in the FAQ: Q: If House Greyjoy plays his “Victarion Greyjoy” House card against House Baratheon’s “Sallador Saan” House card, are the participating Greyjoy Ships still reduced to 0 combat strength? A: Yes.


4

Yes, supply limits apply. From the rules, page 8: A player is never allowed to take any action in the game that would cause him to exceed his actual supply limit as dictated by his position on the Supply track (such as mustering, marching or retreating, all explained later).


4

The loser choses. From the rules, page 21: When a player suffers casualties, he decides which of his units are removed (unless stated otherwise by the text ability of a played House card). Remember that supporting units can never be taken as casualties in combat. Note: Each casualty suffered destroys a single unit, regardless of Combat Strength. In other ...


4

When you move into a territory that contains your own power token, you simply leave the power token there. That way, when you again exit the territory, it already has your power token. When you move into a territory that contains a power token of someone else, that power token gets discarded.


4

Yes, there is still combat. The rules don't specifically mention attacking into a region with only routed units. Therefore we follow the default instructions: if you march into a region with enemy units, you have a combat. As you say, it's plausible that a routed army could win (which is good; if you don't want to lose the units, you can "waste" your good ...


4

Available here means ships that are still in your supply. Use only those ships, not ones from the board. You may find this useful from Page 4: Exceeding the Components Provided Each House is provided a limited number of units, tokens, and cards. If a player is using all his components of a particular type, he may not bring additional components ...


4

Answer 1 "Before resolving combat, all other non-combat movement from the area assigned the March Order must be completed." GoT second edition rule book, page 15, 7th bullet point. Answer 2 It is not the case. "If a playerleaves an area vacant before initiating combat , he must decide whether or not to establish control of the area before combat begins" ...


4

The Combat section of the rules (page 17) states that Combat ensues "whenever a player marches one or more of his units into an area containing units from another House…" However, it says nothing about marching into an area containing neutral forces, and nothing in the Neutral Forces section actually defines taking a neutral territory as "combat". ...


3

The key idea here is that you first resolve your march order. Then, if you march one or more of yours units "into an area containing units from another House, combat ensues" (rules, page 17). So, you must first move all your units to the areas that you want. Then if you did move into an area that contains units from another House, you resolve combat. This ...


3

Yes, this is allowed. From page 13 in the rulebook: If marching units enter an area containing one or more enemy units, a combat ensues (only one combat, however, may be initiated for each March Order). So there's only a problem if you try to initiate two battles with the same marching order (which you're not permitted to do. But as described on page 24 ...


3

Take away a single unstarred order token from your set. Which one depends on how much handicap you think is needed. A huge handicap would be to remove a march token. A big handicap is to remove a support token or a defense token. A significant handicap would be to remove a consolidate power or raid token. If you find those handicaps too hard on you, you can ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible