Skip to main content
67 votes
Accepted

Is "Adversarial Policies Beat Professional-Level Go AIs" simply wrong?

One of the authors of the paper here. It might shock you to find that I believe the paper was not "simply wrong". I do however think that we did a poor job explaining our evaluation setting, ...
Adam Gleave's user avatar
33 votes
Accepted

Why doesn't a go board have an 'I' ('i') column?

Zeiss isn't completely correct, this is actually the less common reason for omitting the I. The more common reason why I is often omitted where it would normally be expected between H and J is because ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.7k
21 votes

Why don’t you capture more territory in Go?

Suppose there is a black stone in the corner but it is impossible for black to survive, no matter how well played. By convention, both sides recognize this and the black stone is counted as a prisoner....
Ray Butterworth's user avatar
21 votes

Go: Why did I lose? How is territory defined?

5x5 boards are actually harder to understand than a little bit larger board. There are a lot of weird situations that can happen because the board is so small, so I would recommend starting with 9x9 ...
TimK's user avatar
  • 3,488
19 votes
Accepted

What are the differences between Chinese and Japanese rules in Go?

In most games (as already noted) the two rulesets produce the same strategy and outcome. Differences between the current Japanese and Chinese rules: Japanese counts enclosed territory (of groups able ...
benjimin's user avatar
  • 306
19 votes

Why doesn't a go board have an 'I' ('i') column?

In most cases, where "I" is omitted between "H" and "J", it's to avoid confusion with number "1". It's also common to omit the letter "O" for the same reason (confusion with number "0", more of a ...
Zeiss Ikon's user avatar
  • 1,697
18 votes
Accepted

In this Go position, can black capture the entire length of the white arm?

Yes. That white chain has only two liberties - A and the space next to A. If black fills both of them the chain will be captured. None of the surrounding black stones are vulnerable to capture ...
Arcanist Lupus's user avatar
15 votes

In this Go position, can black capture the entire length of the white arm?

Yes, but Black doesn't need to. Since each of the surrounding groups already have two eyes, there's no reason to play those stones. In fact, it will cost Black two points in Japanese scoring. If ...
TimK's user avatar
  • 3,488
15 votes

Is "Adversarial Policies Beat Professional-Level Go AIs" simply wrong?

Regardless of the validity of this particular strategy, the general technique seems quite valid. They did not simply discover a bug in KataGo and then write a program to exploit the bug. Rather, they ...
Stack Exchange Supports Israel's user avatar
12 votes
Accepted

How much of AlphaGo's success is due to novelty?

I would argue that AlphaGo's advantage cannot be significantly attributed to the novelty of its moves. The original public AlphaGo games were those against Lee Sedol, the second ranked player in the ...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 82k
11 votes
Accepted

In Go can you put a counter in a place that had a prisoner

After a piece and/or group is completely out of liberties, it is removed immediately. The only rule that would really prevent you from placing a stone back on the captured space is the ko rule, in ...
goldPseudo's user avatar
  • 6,682
11 votes

Who won this match of Go?

Summary You needed to finish the game, after which, assuming optimal play, White would have won by a very large margin (if it was their turn next) or a large margin (if it was Black’s turn). The ...
PJTraill's user avatar
  • 1,448
11 votes

Is it possible to live with false eyes, only?

Yes, this is possible. It requires the living group to circle back on itself like this: $$Bcm0 $$ ............ $$ ...OOOOOO... $$ ..OOXXXXOO.. $$ .OOX.XX.XOO. $$ .OX.XOOX.XO. $$ .OXXO.OOXXO. $$ ....
cmaster - reinstate monica's user avatar
11 votes

Is "Adversarial Policies Beat Professional-Level Go AIs" simply wrong?

In the Tromp–Taylor rules, the concept of dead stones is left out—all stones on the board at the end of the game are treated as being alive. The KataGo AI was trained primarily using the Tromp–Taylor ...
Tanner Swett's user avatar
10 votes

Do Go players play to minimize score difference after realizing they cannot win?

In general, if you realize that you can't win, you should resign. It's considered rude to make plays that will only allow you to catch up if your opponent makes a stupid mistake. I don't think Go ...
TimK's user avatar
  • 3,488
10 votes
Accepted

Why do asymmetric ko fights exist?

I think the easiest way to think of this is in terms of options, and the freedom to take whatever options benefit me. In your example, you have no options: You need to win this ko, or you will lose. ...
goldPseudo's user avatar
  • 6,682
10 votes
Accepted

Why do player start with fighting for the corners in go?

Common starting practices are to open by placing stones on a Hoshi (4-4 point), or close to it, in order to "claim" that corner. As the players are trying to secure as much area as they can, it makes ...
TheThirdMan's user avatar
  • 9,211
10 votes
Accepted

Is there more than one solution to this problem about cutting in go

Your idea does keep the stones connected, but it isn't as good as the correct answer. $$W $$ ------------------ $$ . . . . . . . .| $$ . . 1 . . . . .| $$ . O X 2 B . . .| $$ . O O X . X . .| $$ ...
TimK's user avatar
  • 3,488
10 votes

Go: Why did I lose? How is territory defined?

Territory is a conceptual shortcut, not fundamental Motivation The fundamental idea of Go is to get your stones onto the board and keep them there. The first question you should ask yourself is: what ...
Karl Knechtel's user avatar
9 votes
Accepted

Do Go players play to minimize score difference after realizing they cannot win?

Sadly I do not have a reliable source for this answer, but as far as I know, continuing when clearly behind is not generally considered rude, at least at professional level. One reasoning was that it ...
mafu's user avatar
  • 7,028
9 votes
Accepted

Go Surrounding Rules

The game is incomplete. Literally nothing is "surrounded" here, and if the game ended in such a state nobody would get any points at all until you can mutually agree on which groups are "dead" and ...
goldPseudo's user avatar
  • 6,682
9 votes
Accepted

Why do we surround the corner in go?

It's entirely a question of efficiency: It simply takes fewer stones to secure more territory if you play in the corner. Taking, for example, the eleven stones White plays in your sample game, if ...
goldPseudo's user avatar
  • 6,682
8 votes
Accepted

How do I effectively use a big wall?

The biggest strength of a wall is that it keeps your opponents stones from connecting to anything on the other side of it; this forces him to worry about living in general, either by making life ...
goldPseudo's user avatar
  • 6,682
8 votes
Accepted

Is this a correct formal heuristic for invalid moves due to Ko?

No, this logic unfortunately doesn't work: It prevents moves that are in fact legal, because they include a snapback. $$ white to play $$ . . . . . . . $$ . . X O X . . $$ . X O X . X . $$ . X O O O ...
balpha's user avatar
  • 589
8 votes
Accepted

Best move for this pattern, in Go

Four stones is an enormous handicap on a 9x9 board. With perfect play by Black, White probably can't make a living group. If you're taking four stones, you presumably aren't going to play perfectly. ...
TimK's user avatar
  • 3,488
7 votes
Accepted

Are there any legal go arrangements that can never occur in an actual game?

Assuming you're only interested in what's on the board and passes are allowed. I would go backwards then: what was the position just before? It's quite easy to see that if you remove any stone of ...
Heimdall's user avatar
  • 202
7 votes
Accepted

Building a live group on a quarter board where two sides are already black

This has been discussed a lot in Sensei's Library (http://senseis.xmp.net/?BiggestCorner and http://senseis.xmp.net/?10x10CornerGame1). The consensus seems to be that white dies with 8 free spaces, ...
jussius's user avatar
  • 188
7 votes
Accepted

When should Beginners finish a Game of Go?

Under Chinese scoring (AKA area scoring), you can (and with new players should) play until each player has no move they can make. There is no downside under Chinese scoring for a player to play ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 17.8k
7 votes

Go - How does one count territory in these scenarios?

For each intersection, ask yourself if it belongs to white or black. The issue with your examples is that the games are not finished yet. You should keep playing until you can answer the question ...
Christophe's user avatar
  • 1,116
7 votes

Why do player start with fighting for the corners in go?

Capturing territory around the edges of the board is simpler and quicker, because the edge forms a boundary which does not have to be constructed with stones, and which can not be attacked from "...
alephzero's user avatar
  • 171

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible