10

Yes. But if you have enough cubes to complete that many missions, you'll probably find the spaces at Waterdeep Harbor filled with enemies playing mandatory quests on you... From the FAQ: Q: When you move (reassign) an agent out of "Waterdeep Harbor" to another building, are you taking another turn? Can you complete a quest? A: You can complete a quest ...


9

Yes, you can place more than one of your agents at Waterdeep Harbor to play multiple Intrigue cards. At the end of the round, the agents there are placed onto other spaces in order, regardless of who they belong to. On Page 9 of the rulebook (emphasis mine): Waterdeep Harbor has three action spaces instead of the usual one. You can assign more than 1 of ...


8

First, I agree that Mandatory Quests can be a little unbalancing. I've never played 2-player, but I can see how they could be even worse in that case. I've seen a handful of alternatives, any of which may work for you and your opponent: Don't use them. Remove them from the Intrigue deck beforehand, or discard and draw again if you draw one during the game. ...


8

No, that is incorrect. On your turn, you first place an agent in Waterdeep Harbor, and then, as a result of doing so, you get to play an Intrigue card. So by the time you play that card, you automatically have at least 1 agent in the Harbor (the one you just played). Now it is possible to play an Intrigue card in other ways, such as a reward for completing ...


8

At the bottom of page 4 of the rulebook, it's indicated that the Ambassador is represented by the yellowish-white piece and the Lieutenant by the unpainted, brown, wooden piece, as shown in the image below:


8

I don't see why you wouldn't get the gems. The quest on your cards says: Put 1 building from Builder's Hall into play and under your control at no cost. The rules for Builder's Hall say: Choose one of the face-up Buildings available for purchase and pay its Gold cost. You immediately score any VP for that Building and place its tile in one of the open ...


8

Yes, you can reassign the returned agents; you do so immediately before continuing with the Waterdeep Harbour phase. But no, you cannot place them in the Harbour. From the FAQ: Q: If I complete the "Recruit Lieutenant" quest as a result of reassigning an agent from "Waterdeep Harbor", do I get to assign that agent immediately? A: Yes. ...


8

No, you always have to resolve the card. The rules say that when you play an intrigue card, you follow its instructions, and none of the intrigue cards have instructions that say "if you feel like it, do X". Play Intrigue Card: By assigning an Agent to one of the action spaces on Waterdeep Harbor, you play a single Intrigue card from your hand. If ...


6

Yes. In fact, it's a great way to learn the financial concept of return on investment (ROI). First you must understand the game's currency: 4 coins = 2 oranges or blacks = 1 white or purple The most obvious way to understand where this conversion comes from is by observing that on the first turn of the game, an agent can be placed to obtain 4 coins, 2 ...


5

You can only do it once. When you see a cube on a card, it means one cube. This isn't explicitly stated in the rules, but it should be apparent from the way cards always show a number of cubes, and any time there's not a known number of cubes, it's qualified. For example, this very card says "...any {white}..." rather than just "...{white}..." to make it ...


5

There are no building limits in Lords of Waterdeep as defined in the Appendix 3: Clarifications section in the rulebook of Scoundrels of Skullport: Number of Buildings in Play: You are not limited to the ten empty spaces on the game board for Building tiles when putting Buildings into play. Simply place any additional Buildings in a convenient place ...


4

No, Waymoot would only get 1 VP Tokens placed on it, since it isn't in play. The Builder's Hall (page 12) of the rules tells you to take the 3 VP Tokens for the round, and distribute one to each building tile for purchase. The Waymoot has special rules text that takes effect at the When Purchased/Start of Round, but this only occurs if it is "in play.&...


4

No you cannot spend more than 2 Gold, yes you get 2 Adventurers. The rules (page 5) under Assign Agent require that a building has an unoccupied action space to place your Agent. Immediately below that, the parts of a Basic Building are diagramed, showing what an Action Space looks like. On page 8, the House of Wonder is detailed, showing a single Action ...


4

As a general rule, you should be looking to take more actions that give you corruption than the other players. For all players, these actions give more resources than other actions in exchange for an end-game penalty. For The Xanathar, this end-game penalty is less than it is for other players. If you end the game with no corruption tokens with The Xanathar, ...


4

I posted the question to Playdek support. They said it is a bug in the UI. The message is intended for when an agent is assigned to The Place after someone else has already taken the Ambassador, but before they've had a chance to use it. In that case, the player assigning the new agent does not get to take the Ambassador (see page 22). It is incorrectly ...


4

"Whenever" infers present tense, you score 2 VP at the exact time you complete a Warfare quest happens. If it were to refer to end of game or count anything retrospectively then that would have been clearly stated. I don't think the card would qualify for its own bonus. The rules say. To complete a Quest, remove the required Adventurers and Gold ...


3

This has been answered by designer Rodney Thompson on BGG here You gain the primary benefit of the action, not the owner's benefit. The part about "as if you controlled" the building is simply there to dispel any questions about where the owner benefit goes. Just like when you assign an agent to a building you control, you gain only the primary ...


3

Looking at the FAQ for Lords of Waterdeep, there is a question which seems to answer this question: Q: If a plot quest gives me resources for having taken an action, did I gain those resources as a part of taking the action? A: No. You gained the extra resources from the effect of the plot quest, not from the action itself. Note 2: The benefits of plot ...


3

@user1873 Note in the bit you quoted "If any of those Buildings are in play, follow the start-of-round instructions for each." Note also on page 9 under the rules for the Builder's Hall, "Once a new Building is in play, it is available for anyone to assign an Agent to" Which means that while the building is in the three Builder's Hall spaces it is not in ...


2

Late answer, but how about allow other quests and for every mandatory quest not competed at the end of each round, deduct 2 points. So an annoying penalty that can get progressive worse, but not devastating, and can be ignored, especially late in the game.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible