A message from our CEO about the future of Stack Overflow and Stack Exchange. Read now.
22

The player does lose. The full rule book is explicit about this: If you discard the Princess—no matter how or why—she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are immediately knocked out of the round. If the Princess was discarded by a card effect, any remaining effects of that card do not apply (you do not draw a card from the Prince, for example). ...


20

I did not find the rules stated below from the English rulebook (Alderac). Maybe they did not have this situation during the early test games. The Finnish/Swedish/Danish/Norwegian rulebook (Nordic version, Lautapelit.fi), has been published a bit later, and there is a solution for this problem. Tie-breaker for the winner of a round The round ends if one ...


17

No, you must always apply the effect of the card even if that card would hurt you, such as playing the prince with the princess in hand when the other 2 players have handmaidens out. Always having to play the effect of the card is spelled out in the rule book and making a house variant to change that would greatly alter the balance of the game as it would ...


16

Yes as the card says you lose the game. It doesn't matter how the princess gets into the discard pile but when it does the person who was holding it loses. If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.


14

The Tempest version of the rules is just a little bit vague - it does say that to play a card you discard it face up, it does say that your discarded cards go in front of you, it does say that when you're knocked out you place your card face up in front of you, it doesn't explicitly say that a card you discard to the Prince should be face up (although I'd ...


13

According to the rules. A single card is to be removed from the deck at the start of each round. This removal serves two purposes. The first is to remove perfect information. So that in the final rounds you can deduce the likely card your opponents have but not necessarily with 100% certainty. The second is to be used in situations like you describe. If you ...


10

Because it is not explicitly mentioned in the rules what you can or cannot talk about, there are two interpretations for this. I suggest that you agree with each other which interpretation you will follow before starting the game. (as this really can divide people's opinions) Option 1: Do not reveal a card = do not even talk about the card Interpret the ...


9

The player you chose to discard a card draws the new card. The idea is that every player always has exactly 1 card in their hand except during their turn when they draw a second before choosing one to play/discard. While the language on the card could be ambiguous, the rulebook is clearer: When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the ...


7

If you're really up to it, you might want to buy the Love Letter Premium Edition which lets you play with up to eight players. It might be a bit different from the Love Letter you're used to though as it comes with new characters like the Assassin (which eliminates an opponent if that opponent forces you to reveal it). It's an official game though so I you ...


6

No, the Bishop cannot guess the hand of a player who discarded the Handmaiden last turn. This comes from the original rules: If all players other than the player whose turn it is are protected by Susannah, the player must choose him- or herself if possible. This shows that the Handmaid doesn't only cause the player to not be affected, but it actually ...


6

One way that I use lets you accommodate up to eight players. You will need two decks of Love Letter cards, and two tokens distinctly different from the tokens of affection. Remove one Princess, and give each player two tokens. Play normally, but when someone would be out, have them discard their card and draw a new one. Then they get rid of one of the tokens....


6

No it is not legal to announce what you you had to the rest of the group after you are forced into a trade with the king. If you look at the rules for the priest which lets you look at another players card it says in there that you are not allowed to show others what the card is. When you discard the Priest, you can look at one other player’s hand. Do not ...


5

In situation 1 nothing will happen. This is explicitly covered in the rules under the expanded text for the Baron card (page 10 in the Premium edition rulebook). Situation 2 is also covered in the rules. On page 6 of the Premium edition rules linked above: In case of a tie, players add the numbers on the cards in their discard pile. The highest total ...


5

Yes, it is mandatory to show your card in both cases. The Nordic version has very clear rules for these: Baron Player with the smaller number in the card drops out from the round and (from "Dropping out of the game") If a player drops out of the game, he puts his card on front of him face up.. Prince The player of your choise puts his card into ...


4

If you read the design diary of Lost Legacy (a game designed to be in the same system, from a games mechanics perspective, as Love Letter) you'll note it's pretty similar. It also has explicit rules on how to incorporate more players (because it's a series of games and there are more) The Lost Legacy "MegaMix Set" This variant allows up to six players to ...


4

You are correct: where appropriate you must target yourself if all other players in the game are affected by a Handmaid card, although the effect of this is not as intrusive as you would think. The rulebook (pages 19-20) expands upon the Handmaid card, specifically stating: If all players other than the player whose turn it is are protected by Susannah, ...


3

You must be eliminated before the end of the round. Text from Constable: If this card is in your discard pile when you are knocked out of the round, gain an Affection Token. (Emphasis mine) In the rulebook for the original Love Letter, the phrase "knocked out of the round" is used several times, and in each case it is only referring to being ...


2

We've recently been playing with 5 and 6 players, first to 3 favours. For a 5 player game, add a Guard, a Priest and a Baron just to pad the deck a bit. This seemed to work seamlessly. For a 6 player game, on top of the above, also add another Guard, a King and a Countess. This worked well, but we found that the strategies started to change. The ...


2

Definitely. If you are knocked out by a Baron or any other card, you must discard your card face up so anyone can see. Also, at any given time, any player can look through any other player's discarded cards stack. Also, when you discard a card for any reason, it goes face up in your stack.This goes for playing cards, etc.


1

yes its very clear out of the round If a player is knocked out of the round, that player discards the card in his or her hand face up (do not apply the card’s effect) and takes no more turns until next round. http://www.alderac.com/tempest/files/2012/09/Love_Letter_Rules_Final.pdf


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible