New answers tagged

1

Yes. 702.18a Shroud is a static ability. “Shroud” means “This permanent or player can’t be the target of spells or abilities.” Single Combat doesn't target, so it's unaffected by Shroud. Only the following target: Spells and abilities on the stack that use the word "target". Auras on the stack (since the rule text for these uses the word "target"). ...


2

Yes. Player A may choose to keep - or sacrifice - the creature with Shroud. Shroud is defined in CR 702.18: Shroud is a static ability. “Shroud” means “This permanent or player can’t be the target of spells or abilities.” "Target" has a very particular meaning in MTG. An entity is only a "target" when the card or ability specifically uses the word "...


1

Gatherer often answers rules questions about cards with special effects directly. In this case, it says Golos’s last ability doesn’t change when you can play the exiled cards. For example, if you exile a sorcery card, you can cast it only during your main phase when the stack is empty. If you exile a land card, you can play it only during your main phase ...


2

The Leyline deals 2 damage twice, for a total of 4 damage. The current oracle text of Pandemonium's ability is: Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, that creature's controller may have it deal damage equal to its power to any target of their choice. This ability has a target, so it can trigger Leyline of Combustion's ability. The exact sequence ...


0

All normal casting restrictions apply for cards exiled with Golos during another player's turn. You may play instants and cards with flash. You may not play lands. The phrase "You may play them this turn" only lifts the restriction that you can normally only play cards from your hand.


6

While the loop that Aulis and Ayatollah describe is undoubtedly the best infinite combo in Alpha, it is not the only infinite combo in Alpha. Step 1: Play your entire deck, until there are only 9 cards combined in your graveyard, hand, and library. Step 2: Play Time Walk Step 3: Play Timetwister, shuffle your graveyard and hand into your library, and draw 7 ...


10

These cards are all available in Alpha: Animate Artifact + Time Vault + Instill Energy Time Vault Enchant Time Vault With Animate Artifact Enchant Time Vault with Instill Energy Time Vault - {0}: Untap enchanted Time Vault Time Vault - {T}: Take an Extra Turn Repeat for infinite turns


16

According to this Reddit post, the first infinite combo was Animate Artifact, Time Vault and Instill Energy. By animating and untapping Time Vault and then tapping it would gain the player infinite turns. This is the first infinite combo in Magic.


2

There's a lot of misconceptions in your question, so I'm going to try and go through all of them. 1. Splinter twin isn't allowed in Standard because it rotated out of the format. Splinter twin was printed in Rise of the Eldrazi and Modern Masters 2015 Edition. Neither of these sets have been allowed in Standard in years. 2. Splinter Twin was not banned ...


0

The situation you describe as it stands isn't an infinite loop, because the stack won't resolve - each trigger will be responded to, eventually one of the two creatures won't be able to activate - either the ballista will have only 1 counter left or the Feeder will have only one counter left - even if both do then the last action on stack will resolve, ...


9

Vigor and Hostility will be exiled and not shuffled back. The controller of Profane Memento will gain life. The part about players not being able to take actions during the resolution of Ashiok's loyalty ability means that no player may cast spells, activate abilities, or take special actions such as playing a land. For all of these, priority, the right to ...


4

An object's name is among the values that get copied when copying an object: 706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple ...


39

Yes, you can choose not to pay {0}. Rule 118.5 says Some costs are represented by {0}, or are reduced to {0}. The action necessary for a player to pay such a cost is the player’s acknowledgment that they are paying it. Even though such a cost requires no resources, it’s not automatically paid. In a tournament, {0} costs are paid by default, but you can ...


14

It depends on which creature has more counters Say the Ballista has 4 counters, the Spike has 2. Bob activates their Ballista (3 counters left). While the trigger is on the stack: Alice activates their Spike (1 counter left). While the trigger is on the stack: Bob activates their Ballista (2 counters left). Alice cannot activate her Spike again, or it ...


2

https://mtg.gamepedia.com/Declare_attackers_step 508.1. First, the active player declares attackers.508.1m Any abilities that trigger on attackers being declared trigger. You declare Bruna as an attacker in 508.1, which causes the "Whenever Bruna, Light of Alabaster attacks or blocks, you may attach to it any number of Auras ..." ability to trigger in ...


-2

Teysa's ability isn't triggered by another creature dying, it's triggered by an ability that's triggered by a creature dying. For instance, suppose a creature has "When this creature dies, gain one life". When that creature dies, its ability is triggered, and "gain one life" is put on the stack. Teysa's ability is then triggered. It's triggered not by the ...


4

You get one more trigger for each Teysa Karlov you have. So if you have 2 Teysa Karlov, you get 3 triggers. From the Rulings on the Gatherer page: 1/25/2019 — If you somehow control two Teysas, a creature dying causes abilities to trigger three times, not four. A third Teysa causes abilities to trigger four times, a fourth causes abilities to trigger ...


2

You are correct on both accounts. Of course, if you have multiple combat phases, you could leverage it in the same turn but the "hey I just attacked" trigger only happens once, regardless of what the incoming card is capable of doing.


1

No, Player C cannot activate the ability or look at the named player. From the rulings on the gatherer page of Emissary of Grudges: If you didn’t choose an opponent when Emissary of Grudges entered the battlefield, you can’t pay the cost to activate its last ability. This will usually happen because you gained control of another player’s Emissary of ...


4

Player C has no access to Player A's secret choice and cannot activate the ability. We can see this reflected in a ruling on Emissary of Grudges: If you didn’t choose an opponent when Emissary of Grudges entered the battlefield, you can’t pay the cost to activate its last ability. This will usually happen because you gained control of another player’s ...


7

The order of events in this case is as follows: Prosperity resolves Resolve the text on the card in its entirety, so each player draws X cards. Jace's Erasure's ability is triggered once for each card drawn, but we wait until the resolution of Prosperity is complete before putting the triggers on the stack. The triggered abilities of Jace's Erasure resolve ...


2

I know this is very late, but I felt since no one else had said this, I should. In addition to the top posters scenario, the ruling also seems to make it clear that if you are in a game with multiple opponents and your creatures deal damage to more than one opponent. For example, if none of your creatures have first strike, and in the single combat step ...


13

There is exactly one card with the {Z} symbol: The Ultimate Nightmare of Wizards of the Coast® Customer Service. It is a silver bordered card from Unglued, and is not legal in regular play. On this card, Z functions exactly the same way X normally does, and the different letter merely serves to distinguish it from the X and Y already present on the ...


3

According to this MTG Salvation forum post, the very first EDH ban list that applied to the very first decks that were played in the format is as follows: Collector's Edition, "Promotional cards", poker cards and silver-bordered cards are banned. (I'm assuming poker cards are the 52-card, Magic-backed standard playing-card decks given to early DCI members....


3

You can't activate Thallid Soothsayer's ability until you gain priority. Looking at the Declare Blockers step here, the first mention of priority is "509.4. Fourth, the active player gets priority. (See rule 117, “Timing and Priority.”)" This occurs after blockers have been declared, and well after "509.1h An attacking creature with one or more creatures ...


7

Unfortunately that plan does not work. The "Declare Blockers" step only happens once during combat, and all your blockers must be declared at the same time at the beginning of that step. So if you declare one blocker and then move on to the part of the step where you can activate the sacrifice ability, it is too late to go back and declare another blocker ...


3

Yes, you have several opportunities to cast spells and activate abilities during the combat phase. The combat phase is divided into several steps: 506.1. The combat phase has five steps, which proceed in order: beginning of combat, declare attackers, declare blockers, combat damage, and end of combat. The declare blockers and combat damage steps are ...


2

Additionally to the answers already given, a card that doesn't say "target", doesn't target anything (although there are cards and abilities that "target" implicitly, for example Aura spells and Equip abilities). From the rules: 115.1d A triggered ability is targeted if it identifies something it will affect by using the phrase “target [something],” ...


0

While Murgatroid and Alex P are right that a complete understanding of Layers would require a full quotation of the recommended references, there is a space here for a broad overview. Fundamental Concepts of Layers Magic has a lot of effects that modify permanents in play. Often times these effects can be confusing or mutually exclusive when stacked, so ...


5

No, there is no interaction. Emissary of Grudges can change a target, but the Annihilator ability does not target. "Target" has a specific meaning in Magic. If an ability does not specifically include the word "target" somewhere, then there is no target for Emissary to change. 115.10a Just because an object or player is being affected by a spell or ...


3

No, Emissary of Grudges does not interact with Annihilator. Annihilator does not target a player, it just affects the defending player, which is the player that the creature attacked. The full definition of Annihilator is in rule 702.85a: Annihilator is a triggered ability. “Annihilator N” means “Whenever this creature attacks, defending player ...


0

There are a variety of reasons why a player would not concede: They want to see more of the opponent's deck. Yes, their opponent sees more of their deck, but it's not always symmetrical, both in terms of how much information is revealed, and how useful that information is. In an extreme case, if the lock consists of not being allowed to draw, there is ...


1

The Defender ability is described as "702.3b A creature with defender can’t attack." but it might be better to describe it as "A creature with defender can't be declared as an attacker". Its Defender status is checked only when attackers are declared. As long as it doesn't have Defender when it's declared as an attacker, or it isn't declared as an attacker (...


3

Wikipedia has a Garbage time article that defines it as follows: Garbage time is a term used to refer to the period toward the end of a timed sports competition that has become a blowout when the outcome of the game has already been decided, and the coaches of one or both teams will decide to replace their best players with substitutes. This serves to ...


1

During Warp World's resolution, you have to put enchantment creatures on the battlefield as creatures. However, during Warp World's resolution, no triggered abilities enter the stack either, so for Murderous Redcap's ability, this specific order doesn't matter. Ultimately, you can't prevent Grenzo from fetching the Faithless Looting. Warp World gives clear ...


3

Yes, you can morph anytime you could cast a spell or activate an ability. Once a creature has been declared as an attacker, it remains an attacker even if it gains defender afterwards. You may morph whenever you could cast a spell or activate an ability: 702.36e Any time you have priority, you may turn a face-down permanent you control with a morph ...


5

Yes, you can cast Emry this way. As you are casting a spell, you have an opportunity after you calculate the final cost but before you pay the cost to activate mana abilities. If you activate the Gilded Goose's last ability at that time, then the Food token gets factored in to the calculation of Emry's cost and you get the mana from sacrificing it to spend ...


6

Yes, Alms Collector will replace Explosion's draw effect, for the reason you mentioned. The exact order of events is like this: Explosion starts resolving. Explosion deals 4 damage to Alms Collector. Your opponent would draw 4 cards as the result of Explosion's second instruction, but Alms Collector replaces that effect. Instead, you and your opponent each ...


5

You are correct; you will still get the replacement effect. State based actions will not be checked until after Explosion fully resolves. So while Explosion is resolving, Alms Collector will have 4 damage, but it (and its static ability) will still be around. When Alms Collector has your opponent draw 4 cards, that effect will be replaced by you and your ...


1

While Glorfindel has already answered this question, the rulings on Gatherer reinforce that Thought Sponge's effect is a replacement effect: Thought Sponge gets its +1/+1 counters at the moment it enters the battlefield. There’s not a time that it’s on the battlefield before its replacement effect has applied.


6

They will now be able to cast Rampaging Baloths again. Ixalan's Binding has linked abilities on it; and in order for the second ability to do anything, the card exiled by the first ability must still be in exile. Linked Abilities 607.2a If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or ...


7

From a ruling on Gatherer: If there is no exiled card (perhaps because the exiled permanent was a token or was a commander that moved to the command zone in the Commander variant), Ixalan’s Binding won’t stop players from casting spells. If you cast the card from exile using Ashiok then there is no more exiled card. Therefore, your opponent can ...


-2

Odds for non-Brawl using the pre-Core 2020 mulligan rules (according to Ikegami's editing) The probability of having a desired card in the hand,at the first draw of seven cards, is, by removing the commander, (7/59) * 100 = 11.8644% If, at the first draw, the desired card has not arrived, then, according to what is stated in the question, you will draw ...


2

1. Suppose the second Chapter ability triggers twice, perhaps through clockspinning, and that I name the same card both times. Later, the third Chapter ability triggers and cast a spell with the chosen name. Do I draw two cards or four? 2. Same setup as question 1, except I choose different names. Later, the third Chapter ability triggers again. How ...


4

It would include any cards drawn before the ability resolves. There are only a few specific things that are set when an ability is put on the stack: Modes, targets, choices required in order to cast a spell or activate an ability (what value to chose for "X" for example; which doesn't actually apply to triggered abilities). The amount of damage it deals is ...


4

Partial answer... Yes. There is no meaningful difference between an ability triggering twice because of Clockspinning, and a triggered ability being copied because of Strionic Resonator. Either way, the triggered ability has resolved 2 separate times. Note that the choice of card name is only made when the ability resolves, so it will not have been made yet ...


5

With Contamination on the battlefield, you cannot get anything other than a single black mana from activating Nykthos's abilities. The current wording of Contamination's second ability says: If a land is tapped for mana, it produces {B} instead of any other type and amount. This is a replacement effect (indicated by the word "instead") that modifies the ...


12

Your opponent can prevent another -1/-1 effect, no matter how you play it. The clause "Whenever a creature dies this turn, each creature other than Massacre Girl gets -1/-1 until end of turn" is part of the Massacre Girl's ability, because there is no new paragraph separating the lines. 113.2c An object may have multiple abilities. If the object is ...


12

You will get to return the Saga to your hand. 714.4. If the number of lore counters on a Saga permanent is greater than or equal to its final chapter number, and it isn’t the source of a chapter ability that has triggered but not yet left the stack, that Saga’s controller sacrifices it. This state-based action doesn’t use the stack. The bold part makes ...


4

The final ruling below the card in Gatherer says: Once the number of lore counters on a Saga is greater than or equal to the greatest number among its chapter abilities—in the Dominaria set, this is always three—the Saga’s controller sacrifices it as soon as its chapter ability has left the stack, most likely by resolving or being countered. This state-...


Top 50 recent answers are included