Hot answers tagged

3 votes
Accepted

Can you "steal" if the last piece lands in the hole it came from?

You are able to steal if the last piece lands in the hole it came from. From wikipedia: If the last sown seed lands in an empty house owned by the player, and the opposite house contains seeds,...
user avatar
  • 1,401
2 votes

In Mancala, can you pick up the stones if your last stone lands in a hole that isn't empty?

I also grew up playing that way, and I was surprised to find out that the "standard" rules are different! I found a variant that fits that description: Kenyan Bao with laps. "This version of Bao ...
user avatar
  • 773
1 vote

Last stone in hand landing in Mancala

You Must take another turn. When the last seed in your hand lands in your store, take another turn. Source: mancala_rules
user avatar
  • 3,488
1 vote

Computer engines that play Mancala

The Mancala variant Oware was strongly solved in 2002. This basically means they have a database with the best move and outcome of all possible positions in the game. The researchers made their ...
user avatar
  • 28.4k
1 vote

Winning avalanche with all pebbles on avalanche mode?

According to this article, you can capture all 48 turn 1 in avalanche mode if an avalanche triggers on both sides. If you can only place on your side of the board, you can still capture 42 stones on ...
user avatar
  • 16.7k
1 vote

Engines that play Mangala?

I'm not sure if this is what you're looking for, but the name is correct. Here is Mangala game available on the AppStore. I haven't played it, so I can't confirm that it's using Turkish variant of the ...
user avatar
  • 3,214

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible