35

Dryad of the Ilysian Grove applies a type changing effect to all of your lands at layer 4, which takes effect before the Ichthyomorphosis removes the abilities of the Dryad at layer 6. The ability to play an additional land would go away due to Dryad losing it's abilities and the additional land rule only taking effect after the layers are applied. The ...


34

Here's how the combat actually goes: First strike damage: Attacker marks one damage (they are still 3/2, but with 1 damage marked), Blocker is at 1/1 with no damage marked. Normal strike damage: The two creatures exchange damage simultaneously. The attacker marks another damage (still at 3/2 but with two damage), and the Blocker is a 1/1, but with 3 damage ...


29

You lose when you have to draw a card and can't, not when you have no cards left in your library Your third bullet point is mostly correct. All instances of Drowned Secret's triggered ability resolved, then Thought Collapse failed to counter Inescapable Blaze, but still did as many effects as it could, so you milled some cards. Then Inescapable Blaze ...


23

Mutation isn't a power/toughness setting effect A creature's power and toughness are governed by the layer system, which is fairly complicated but usually fairly intuitive. This happens to be one of the few times when it isn't. Crawling Barrens has a power/toughness setting effect. That comes in at layer 7b. When multiple power/toughness setting effects ...


19

The card Unbreakable Formation will not generally save your creatures from dying from Cry of the Carnarium, because the ability Indestructible does not save creatures from dying from toughness loss. The ability Indestructible is defined in rule 702.12b: A permanent with indestructible can't be destroyed. Such permanents aren't destroyed by lethal damage, ...


16

You can enable or disable automatic ordering of triggered abilities and other decisions in the Options -> Gameplay menu, available through the gear symbol in game and out of game.


16

It looks like you misunderstand how double strike works, thinking the second hit happens after normal damage. The best way to think of double strike is a creature that does both first strike damage (damage at the same time as creatures with first strike) and normal damage (damage at the same time as creatures that don't have first strike) There are a few ...


13

There are multiple reasons that a player may be doing this. Players have been building up to a certain game state; and they want to see their deck actually do what it was built to do. I know in casual/friendly games, my friends and I have been known to do crazy things like attack for 100 damage on the last turn; even though it was overkill for just winning ...


13

Indestructible does not save a creature from dying due to having 0 toughness. It only prevents creatures from being destroyed. 702.12. Indestructible 702.12a Indestructible is a static ability. 702.12b A permanent with indestructible can't be destroyed. Such permanents aren't destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based ...


13

This is because until the end of your turn, the effect “become a 0/0 Elemental creature until end of turn” still applies to the newly mutated creature. Even though the new creature has a base power and toughness of 4/4, that is being overridden by that effect. At the end of turn, it reverts to a 4/4 creature with 12 +1/+1 counters.


12

No, it doesn't. While it's certainly Atemsis, All-Seeing who does the damage (so a Circle of Protection: Blue would work to prevent it), the damage is done at a moment when Atemsis, All-Seeing is in the graveyard (it has been sacrificed as part of activating the ability). It has the reveal-your-hand ability only when it's on the battlefield, so it won't ...


12

This is correct; the creature is blocked and won't deal combat damage to you (unless it had trample). The timing is important though; you need to sacrifice it when you have priority during the Declare Blockers step (which happens after declaring blockers). 509.1h An attacking creature with one or more creatures declared as blockers for it becomes a blocked ...


12

You cannot react to the even/odd choice in Extinction Event because that choice is made during the spell's resolution. In general, you don't make all kinds of choices while casting a spell. As specified in rules 601.2b-d, you choose modes, splices, other cost modifiers, targets, and how to divide or distribute an effect among targets. Any other choice, like ...


10

When you cast your creature, its triggered ability goes on the stack. At this point, all players have a chance to respond to the ability, before it resolves and taps the lands. They can respond by tapping the land for mana. The mana that is produced will go away at the end of the upkeep step, however, so they would have to use it then; they can’t keep it to ...


10

Yes, after you -8 Nissa, lands you control have indestructible, including the land animated by Awakening of Vitu Ghazi. It does not matter what other types, if any, your lands have. Nissa's effect says that "Lands you control have indestructible". "Land" is shortcut for "land permanents". Therefore, every permanent you control ...


10

No, the Shock will not deal damage if the target gains hexproof in response. The reason is that target validity is checked both while you are casting the spell and as the spell starts to resolve. If the target becomes invalid, say by gaining hexproof, before the spell resolves, the spell will not do anything to that target, and if all of the targets are ...


9

Equip is a regular activated ability. It goes on the stack and can be responded to. If it didn't resolve yet, the targeted creature is not yet equipped and does not benefit from the equipment in any way. 702.6a Equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards. “Equip [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this permanent to target creature you control. Activate this ...


9

Both should die. This sounds like an Arena bug. Once an ability goes on the stack, removing the permanent that put it there doesn't stop it from resolving. The ability is now an entirely separate object that has no reliance on its source. This means both Ornery Goblins' abilities resolve, killing each other. Your assessment is otherwise entirely accurate ...


8

No. What matters is the state of the board at the moment that the damage was dealt: 603.10. Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event ...


8

You are right, Ashaya should not have the Land type in this situation. When to effects are in the same layer, as the type changing effects are here, there are two ways that the order can be determined: dependencies, or timestamps if there are no dependencies. The criteria for a dependency are defined in rule 613.8a: An effect is said to “depend on” another ...


7

Unbreakable Formation did make your creatures indestructible. Unfortunately, that wasn't enough to save them. "Indestructible" means that lethal damage and 'destroy' effects won't destroy your creatures. However, if a creature had zero toughness it dies as a state-based-effect, and that isn't prevented by indestructible. Cry of the Carnarium reduces the ...


7

Yes. (Unless the card says "You may search your library for ... If you do, shuffle it afterwards.) 608.2c The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written. If the spell tells you to search your library, you search your library. Most of these place restrictions on what cards you search for; in those cases, actually ...


6

You can activate full control mode. MTG arena has policies in place to speed up the gameplay considerably. This auto pass of priority is an attempt to remove the slow gameplay that has plagued MTGO. You can deactivate this feature temporarily by pressing CTRL, you can turn it off permanently by pressing CTRL + SHIFT. Take note that when I say permanently, ...


6

I assume your library is empty and your graveyard contains no other cards; otherwise you risk drawing something else (an Island?) and you'll have no Clear the Mind to cast anymore. Even then, you cannot play forever; it's a "loop", but one with non-mandatory actions, and you'll have to use a shortcut to state how many times you want to perform the action. ...


6

Not at all. The cards you're shown in a draft on MTG Arena are a simulated version of what you would see in a paper draft of MTG cards. This means that, for each pack, with some exceptions, there will always be 10 commons, 3 uncommons, and 1 rare/mythic rare. As the draft goes around, simulated players (these would be real players in a paper draft) pick ...


6

You're probably mistaken as to exactly what happened; with one Yorion (Y1) on the battlefield, the standard play here is Play the second Yorion (Y2). State based actions are checked, and their controller chooses one of the Yorions to remain. They choose Y1, and the legend rule moves Y2 to the graveyard.1 Y2 still entered the battlefield, so its trigger goes ...


5

You don't lose the game because of "milling" from an empty library. You only lose in that way from trying to draw a card from an empty library. Here's what exactly happened: You cast Inescapable Blaze. The opponent casts Thought Collapse. The two Drowned Secrets' abilities trigger. Each Drowned Secrets ability causes you to try to mill two cards from your ...


5

From the page you reference: It also means that 21 and 22 lands become very different amounts, since 21 or fewer land decks will favor 2-land hands, and 22+ land decks will favor 3-land hands. So the cutoff is indeed 22 lands. For a single draw, the distribution is (note that the figures in your reference are incorrectly rounded): total 0 1 ...


5

There are two things two answer that question: You can simply examine the cards on the stack by right-clicking on them. Then it will open in the large preview (usually on the left on the screen). It is nevertheless a design flaw, as the way of doing this is not very intuitive (in my point of view) and also not "real like", as it would be if the stack was ...


5

The simple answer is "no, planeswalkers are always legendary and the legend rule applies". However, that leads to the obvious question of what did happen in your case - given that this was on Arena and therefore Standard (or maybe Historic), by far the most likely explanation is that your opponent played Spark Double: You may have Spark Double enter the ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible