13 votes
Accepted

Can you cast a creature with Bestow while you control a Steel Golem?

Under the current rules, you can bestow despite "you can't cast creature spells." The rules changed in the Magic Origins rules update to tweak the spell casting procedure and also to address ...
  • 517
8 votes

Can you cast a creature with Bestow while you control a Steel Golem?

601.5. A player can’t begin to cast a spell that’s prohibited from being cast. So you are exactly right EDIT: not correct anymore
  • 2,757
8 votes
Accepted

Losing Control of Bestowed Enchantment Creatures

Your opponent never had control of Herald of Torment. When he took your creature, he only took the creature; he did not take control of any auras (or equipment) attached to it. So in this case, he ...
7 votes

When is the game state checked for "Whenever you cast [...]" triggers?

A spell is cast and will trigger any 'on cast' triggers when all of the steps of casting the spell are complete and it is on the stack 601.2h. Once the steps described in 601.2a-g are completed, ...
6 votes

Is an Enchantment Creature also an Enchanted Creature?

In addition to the answer you've already gotten, I want to point out that Spiteful Returned doesn't say 'another enchanted creature'; it specifically uses the phrasing 'when enchanted creature attacks'...
6 votes
Accepted

When is the game state checked for "Whenever you cast [...]" triggers?

There's just one point to check at, once the spell is fully cast: 601.2h Once the steps described in 601.2a–g are completed, the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast ...
  • 26.7k
5 votes
Accepted

Remove bestow target, does it become a creature?

It becomes a creature, because the rules make a special exception for bestow. Even though you've cast your creature with bestow as an aura spell, when it resolves, it can end up as an aura or a ...
  • 26.7k
4 votes

When a Creature dies, does the Enchantment Creature attached to that Creature go in the graveyard?

Depends on the situation. Normally, when a creature dies (goes to the graveyard) or gets exiled, all attached enchantments are moved to the graveyard as well. 704.5n If an Aura is attached to an ...
  • 1,443
4 votes
Accepted

Can Enchantment Creature play its enchanted ability?

Close, but not quite. Bestow is an alternative way of casting the card, once you choose to cast it not for its Bestow cost it is a regular 3/3 Enchantment Creature with Trample (It isn't enchanting ...
  • 20.2k
3 votes

If Nighthowler is attached as an Enchantment to a Creature, what different things can it do?

When you cast a card for its bestow cost; it becomes an Aura Enchantment spell; and does not act as a creature in any way. So Nighthowler can never attack nor block while it is attached to another ...
3 votes
Accepted

Dictate of Erebos and Bestowed creatures

You may sacrifice Underworld Coinsmith, and then you may sacrifice Hopeful Eidolon. Whenever a creature dies, all of its enchantment(s) become unattached. Normally, they would be sent straight to the ...
  • 13.6k
2 votes

Is an Enchantment Creature also an Enchanted Creature?

303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or “enchants,” that object or player. Since Nyxborn Eidolon has no Auras attached to it, it's not ...
  • 47.3k
2 votes

Dictate of Erebos and Bestowed creatures

Dictate of Erebos' effect goes onto the stack for each instance it was triggered. The Hopeful Eidolon becomes a creature as soon as the creature it's attached to is removed from the battlefield so it ...
  • 2,873

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible