30

The original rules for Elder Dragon Legend Wars had the following as part of the rules: players choose (or select at random) an Elder Dragon Legend as their army's leader. The dragon must be supported by creatures and spells corresponding to each of the Dragon's three specific casting colours. Players designate and announce three of their creatures as "...


14

No. The Commander rules state (CR903.3) state: "[Being a commander] is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones." and drives the point home with the last example: "A permanent that's copying a commander (such as a Body Double, for ...


13

I found the answer to this in the rules: 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones. Example: A commander that's been turned ...


13

Yes, you can make a player lose by dealing 21 total damage to them with their own commander. (If it keeps getting stolen by yourself or others, a cumulative total 21 damage from their own commander will make them lose.) The rule, from mtgcommander.net's Rules — Play section, is: If a player has been dealt 21 points of combat damage by a ...


12

Rule 903.3 says Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones. Only the cards that start the game as commanders count as commanders and can deal ...


11

Per the official rules on mtgcommander.net, If a player has been dealt 21 points of combat damage by a particular Commander during the game, that player loses a game. "Combat damage" refers only to damage dealt in combat as a result of attacking and blocking; direct-damage abilities don't count. Note also that Obzedat, Ghost Council's triggered ability ...


8

I would guess that the commander specific damage would be to make combat-oriented commanders like Akroma, Angel of Wrath competitive with commanders with powerful abilities like Arcum Dagsson or Krenko, Mob Boss. By having it be commander specific, it prevents this from tipping the balance too far in favor of the combat oriented commanders in a multiplayer ...


7

No, it is an at attribute of the card itself, not a characteristic that is copyable. From the Mtg Comprehensive Rules: 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation ...


7

They would not track separately; the player will lose. 903.10a A player that’s been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same commander over the course of the game loses the game. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.) And 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of ...


6

Yes, you can take control of someone else's commander. The rule about returning the commander to the Command Zone reads (emphasis mine): 903.9. If a commander would be exiled from anywhere or put into its owner’s hand, graveyard, or library from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. This replacement effect may apply more than once ...


6

No, the token does not count. Being a commander is a property of the card itself, and is non-transferable.


3

In the first case our protagonist's commander, currently pretending to be Malignus, will deal 25 damage, ending the game. A Legendary Creature that is designated as Commander retains this designation even if it later becomes something else. As such, combat damage dealt by the commander will count towards commander damage. Since the designation of Commander ...


1

From the Comprehensive Rules 104.3j In a Commander game, a player that's been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same Commander over the course of the game loses the game. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704. Also see rule 903.14)


1

The simplest definition of what makes a commander a commander is this: The attribute "Commander" is inherent to the card itself. It cannot be removed, copied or transferred. It is just something that IS. (Much like how a token will never be a card.) Using Infinite Reflection, even if you found a way around the Legendary Rule, only a commander CARD would ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible