We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.
29

The original rules for Elder Dragon Legend Wars had the following as part of the rules: players choose (or select at random) an Elder Dragon Legend as their army's leader. The dragon must be supported by creatures and spells corresponding to each of the Dragon's three specific casting colours. Players designate and announce three of their creatures as "...


29

No, card art or any other piece of information printed on a card doesn't matter. For card identity, the only factor is the English name being equal or not. There are several reasons why cards with the same name can look different in print. They can be translated into another language. They can have alternate art in the same set (e.g. Hymn to Tourach). They ...


25

There are a variety of general answers for indestructible permanents: Exile effects, which are your real bread-and-butter for all kinds of removal. Toughness-reducing effects against creatures. Sacrifice effects. "Tuck" (move to library) effects. Bouncing permanents (temporary). Stealing permanents: the indestructible thing isn't a problem if you control it,...


23

Because of the slower pace of play in EDH/Commander, it isn't as drastically important to hit 5-6 land drops in 5-6 turns. In addition, the number of "mana rocks" (mana-generating artifacts) and dual lands/mana filtering/land fetch cards are usually higher. Considering that, the 40% lands rule is still fairly close to normal (lightened obviously for the ...


23

Commander used to have special rules about color identity and mana generation. As of January 18, 2016, these rules have been removed. Tapping lands for mana works just like regular Magic. Note that the restriction on mana production and color identity in deckbuilding still applies. So your red/blue deck still can't include a Crumbling Necropolis. You can, ...


22

Wishes are non-functional in Commander, unless your group specifically allows them and defines where they work. The comp rules define the basics of the format but mostly point you to mtgcommander.net for the up-to-date official definition. Per mtgcommander.net, Abilities which refer to other cards owned outside the game (Wishes, Spawnsire, Research, Ring ...


21

Currently (in November 2018) there are the following sets of planeswalkers that you can use for your commanders: The five double-faced transforming planeswalkers from Magic Origins. This is because they're a Legendary Creature on their front face, which is what the Commander rules are looking for. Nicol Bolas, the Ravager, also a double faced card that ...


19

It doesn't matter. Since you can change decks between games, you can change to a deck that's identical except for the choice of Commander. Everyone talks about the Commander as if it's a property of the deck, including the Comprehensive Rules and the EDH site. CR: In the Commander variant, each deck is led by a legendary creature designated as that deck’...


19

This is the "Wish" card series that were released in the Judgment extension. For example: Burning Wish. It allows one for example in a tournament to get a card from the sideboard on the first game. The 5 original wishes are: Cunning Wish Burning Wish Death Wish Living Wish Golden Wish Since then, other similar cards where released. This query should give ...


19

X will be zero When Goblin Dark-Dwellers enters the battlefield, you may cast target instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost 3 or less from your graveyard without paying its mana cost. If that card would be put into your graveyard this turn, exile it instead. You are casting it from your graveyard, but you don't pay its mana cost. In that case, ...


19

Here are the lands that will work in a 5 color deck, I ordered them in roughly the order I think they are helpful speed wise to an EDH deck and will include the lands you already run for completeness. Prices rounded and are from TCGPlayer based on the results returned by Scryfall. (For sake of site rules, I have no affiliation with either site) Assumed ...


18

You may cast Tempt with Vengeance with the Dwellers, but X has to be zero. The converted mana cost (CMC) of an object is the total amount of mana in its mana cost, and X counts as zero outside the stack. When you determine the CMC of Tempt with Vengenace for the Dwellers, TwV is in the graveyard and has a CMC of 1. 202.3. The converted mana cost of an ...


18

No, this doesn't work. Medomai the Ageless has an ability that says Medomai the Ageless can't attack during extra turns. It doesn't matter what caused you to take the extra turn in the first place. If you're in an extra turn, it can't attack.


17

Yes, both sides of DFC count towards its color identity. 903.4c The back face of a double-faced card (see rule 711) is included when determining a card's color identity. Example: Civilized Scholar is the front face of a double-faced card with mana cost {2}{U}. Homicidal Brute is the back face of that double-faced card and has a red color ...


17

As @Dopplegreener mentions, all cards that said "remove ... from the game" has been errataed to say "exile ...". The problem with getting rid of a commander permanently is rule 903.9: 903.9. If a commander would be exiled from anywhere or put into its owner's hand, graveyard, or library from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead. ...


17

Resolute Watchdog's ability is an activated ability not a triggered one, so it isn't affected by Teysa at all. 602.1. Activated abilities have a cost and an effect. They are written as “[Cost]: [Effect.] [Activation instructions (if any).]” 603.1. Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as “[When/Whenever/At] [...


16

No, the reason that you cannot use Devoid cards in a Commander deck with a colorless commander is that a card's "color" is not the same thing as it's "color identity". "Color identity" dictates what cards that can go in your Commander deck, not "color". Devoid changes a cards color. 105.2. ...An object is the color or colors of the mana symbols in its ...


15

In the Commander/EDH format, when a player's Commander/General would be either sent to Exile or to the Graveyard, that player may choose to instead send the Commander to the Command zone, as a replacement effect. When a replacement effect takes place, the original event never happened. When a player returns their Commander to the Command zone instead of ...


15

No, 'commander-ness' is an intrinsic property of the card that nothing can take away. 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones. ...


15

Yes, Thrun can be exiled Let's go through Thrun's abilities: This spell can't be countered. This ability affects Thrun while he's on the stack. It has no impact on him once he reaches the battlefield. Note that while Thrun is on the stack, he can still be exiled by effects such as Mindbreak Trap. This is because "exiling" a spell doesn't actually ...


14

No. The Commander rules state (CR903.3) state: "[Being a commander] is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones." and drives the point home with the last example: "A permanent that's copying a commander (such as a Body Double, for ...


14

You got it wrong, but this interaction is tricky. Sliver Overlord can be put in the command zone, but the ability of Conjurer's Closet will return it to the battlefield anyway. We follow the instructions in the triggered ability: 1) "exile target creature you control": instead of putting it in the exile zone, we put it in the command zone. We don't first ...


14

Yes, because extort is merely a keyword. The color symbol {hybrid white/black} is not part of the card, but only exists in reminder text, which is not officially part of the card. Here's the official ruling on the matter: EXTORT With the release of Gatecrash, we'd like to clarify our stance on extort by confirming that, as always, reminder text has ...


14

Yes, you can replace drawing your commander by moving it to the command zone instead. J. Sallé's answer already covers all the details about why drawing counts as putting the card into your hand from anywhere, which is what 903.9 lets you replace. The answer hinges on the question of whether or not you can know that a card is your commander even when it is ...


13

Fetchlands + duals is a formula used by almost all the top decks in every format that allows them. The main advantage is monumental consistency. Verdant Catacombs, for instance, can fetch any of the following original dual lands: Badlands (Swamp / Mountain) Bayou (Swamp / Forest) Savannah (Forest / Plains) Scrubland (Plains / Swamp) Taiga (Mountain / ...


13

In Commander, it's typical for decks of all colors to run "mana rocks" -- artifacts that generate mana. Some of the popular ones are: Sol Ring, Mind Stone, Thran Dynamo, Darksteel Ingot, Worn Powerstone, Dreamstone Hedron, Mana Vault, Mana Crypt. Some of these help with mana-fixing, others just produce colorless mana; the former is often helpful in a multi-...


13

I found the answer to this in the rules: 903.3. Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones. Example: A commander that's been turned ...


13

Yes, you can make a player lose by dealing 21 total damage to them with their own commander. (If it keeps getting stolen by yourself or others, a cumulative total 21 damage from their own commander will make them lose.) The rule, from mtgcommander.net's Rules — Play section, is: If a player has been dealt 21 points of combat damage by a ...


13

Rule 13: Abilities which refer to other cards owned outside the game (Wishes, Spawnsire, Research, Ring of Ma'ruf) do not function in Commander without prior agreement on their scope from the playgroup. So while the cards you refer to do exist, and they may be legally played in Commander, they have no effect unless your group establishes a house rule. ...


13

Yes, this will work as described. You can use those abilities together to exile a total of 60 cards in one combat. The exact sequence of steps plays out like this: You declare Ulamog as an attacker, and its ability triggers. While that ability is still on the stack, you activate Strionic Resonator's ability targeting Ulamog's ability. Activating Strionic ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible