New answers tagged

2

There are specific commanders that can interact with or have abilities that can be used from the command zone, all of them very specifically say 'command zone' on the card or in the rules for keywords (Eminence). In general though abilities work only on the battlefield unless the ability says otherwise. You can't use Horde of Notions' ability from the ...


6

No, abilities of permanents usually only work when they're on the battlefield. Exceptions exist, but are generally explicit on the card. 113.6. Abilities of an instant or sorcery spell usually function only while that object is on the stack. Abilities of all other objects usually function only while that object is on the battlefield. The exceptions are as ...


5

No. Unless stated otherwise, abilities on creatures only work when the creature is on the battlefield. 113.6. Abilities of an instant or sorcery spell usually function only while that object is on the stack. Abilities of all other objects usually function only while that object is on the battlefield. Some exceptions follow, but this is not one of them.


7

This is not an infinite combo Here are the relevant steps, in order: You enter combat, and Helm of the Host creates a token copy of Ghired. The token is not legendary, and has haste. The token entering the battlefield creates a 4/4 Rhino. (The Rhino does not have haste.) You declare attackers, attacking with both Ghireds Both Ghired populate triggers go ...


7

No. Ghired does not go infinite with Helm of the Host. Whenever ~ attacks abilities trigger when those creatures are declared as attackers - You will be able to attack with the original Ghired and the token created by Helm of the Host, both of which will trigger populate, but the tokens that those populate abilities create will not have their abilities ...


4

No, there is no infinite combo here. Helm of the Host creates a non-legendary copy of Ghired just before you attack. Both Ghireds could create additional non-legendary Ghired tokens that are tapped and attacking, so on the first time you attack, you can get up to 3 non-legendary Ghired tokens plus the original. However, these populate tokens do not trigger ...


2

Generally, abilities of permanent cards and tokens only work on the battlefield. 113.6. Abilities of an instant or sorcery spell usually function only while that object is on the stack. Abilities of all other objects usually function only while that object is on the battlefield. The exceptions are as follows: The exceptions can be summarized as follows: ...


6

You won't be able to active Multani on the battlefield. See Comprehensive Rules 113.6k: 113.6k An ability whose cost or effect specifies that it moves the object it's on out of a particular zone functions only in that zone, unless that ability's trigger condition, or a previous part of that ability's cost or effect, specifies that the object is put into ...


Top 50 recent answers are included