61

You can't lookup things on the Internet during a match per MTR 2.12: At Competitive and Professional Rules Enforcement Level during drafting, deck construction, and playing of matches, players may not use electronic devices capable of taking and storing notes, communicating with other people, or accessing the internet (with the exception of taking brief ...


42

No, Bob's behavior here should not be punished. The Magic Tournament Rules have the following definition for Slow Play: Players must take their turns in a timely fashion regardless of the complexity of the play situation and adhere to time limits specified for the tournament. Players must maintain a pace to allow the match to be finished in the announced ...


42

In general, your opponent cannot conclusively verify that your deck is legal. As you mention, you can always concede to prevent them from seeing certain cards. However, this statement that you made in your question is incorrect: since one can never prove that I'm cheating, one can't call a judge either Players can call a judge for any number of reasons, ...


32

They can't refuse a shortcut[1]; they can merely shorten it by naming a place where they will deviate from the shortcut. The game then advances to that point, and they must take a different action than the shortcut. 716.2b Each other player, in turn order starting after the player who suggested the shortcut, may either accept the proposed sequence, or ...


24

It's not punishable. A judge may make sure Bob isn't taking too long to play (for example he really has nothing to think about each turn so should not be spending more than a few seconds to draw card, look at card, pass or play) each turn but it's Alice's choice to play a deck without a way to win quicker and if she can't win then that's her problem, not ...


21

The active player takes the rest of the turn as usual, then the five-turn count begins. This is based on my own experience, but it is likely that if they wanted to end the turn immediately they would have used a wording that matched the corresponding effect template and said "End the turn". Overall, it would not really make sense to end that turn like that. ...


15

The attack was illegal. Your opponent can call a judge at any time, and is required to do so as soon as he noticed the error. The consequences of that error depend on the rules enforcement level (REL) and the judge's call. The illegal attack will be reverted, but you will not be allowed to animate and untap a different mountain at any REL. In the Tournament ...


15

The key phrase in that rule is in the first sentence: A player uses or offers to use a method that is not part of the current game (including actions not legal in the current game) to determine the outcome of a game or match. Importantly, it is not a violation of this rule to take an action that is legal in the current game to determine a winner. For ...


15

Presenting a card as your companion requires you meet the companion condition. Like every keyword in magic, there is a section of the comprehensive rules that cover the ability, and those rules are what really matter. I think what you're doing is reading the reminder text as if it were the entirety of the rules for companion (reminding that you can cast a ...


14

This situation, in which no player knows whether a sequence of mandatory actions will end or loop forever, is so rare and so niche that neither the comprehensive rules nor the tournament rules address it. By a strict reading of the rules, players would need to continue executing the loop until they either know it will end, or that it will loop forever. ...


13

The rules are not definitively on your side but you definitely should have appealed the ruling. According to the MTG Infraction Procedure Guide section 2.3, the default penalty for drawing an extra card is a game loss. However, it also says: If the player received confirmation from his or her opponent before drawing the card (including confirming the ...


12

First, players should never rewind game actions on their own; they should always call a judge to resolve problems like this. In the particular situation you describe, it is ambiguous whether any rule was actually broken. In this scenario, Tarmogoyf's power and toughness are derived information (see section 4.1 of the Magic Tournament Rules), and both ...


11

The assumption is people are playing with legal decks - this is enforced at higher rules level events by random deck checks (where players are randomly selected and their decks compared to the decklist they submitted) and being able to call a judge when you find that your opponent's deck is not legal for whatever reason (including a 5th copy of a card) ...


10

Regarding shortcuts, the relevant rules for this scenario are: 716.1a The rules for taking shortcuts are largely unformalized. As long as each player in the game understands the intent of each other player, any shortcut system they use is acceptable. as well as 716.2a At any point in the game, the player with priority may suggest a shortcut by ...


10

Covered by the Tournament Rules: Any person physically present at a tournament and not in any other category above is a spectator. Spectators are responsible for remaining silent and passive during matches and other official tournament sections in which players are also required to be silent. If spectators believe they have observed a rules or policy ...


9

Yes, you can accept only the first 18 iterations. After he proposes the number of iterations for the loop (500 here), you can choose a lower number of iterations, and both players have to abide to those iterations. The rules for this are described in 719. Taking Shortcuts. A few quotes from that section: 719.2a At any point in the game, the player with ...


9

Friday Night Magic runs at Regular REL, and is covered by Judging at Regular. The Tournament Rules and Infraction Procedure Guide cover Competitive and Professional REL. This answer borrows from all three documents and covers all three RELs. Should I call a judge? Absolutely. Am I required to call a judge? No. According to the Infraction Procedure Guide, ...


9

There was no illegal play, and no reason to rewind the game. From a rules perspective, the players did not notice "too late" that the attack would not be lethal, it was simply a misplay on Alice's part, as she could have independently verified the number of card types in Bob's graveyard. Assuming Bob did not intentionally give a wrong number (which would, ...


8

As of the release of Amonkhet, the "Go to combat" tournament shortcut changed, and it now unambiguously supports Anthony's interpretation of the sequence of events. The game is in the beginning of combat step and Mutavault's ability is on the stack. Noah has priority. The current wording of that shortcut is If the active player passes priority ...


8

I would say that this is not in violation of any rules. By taking more turns than necessary, Alice is giving Bob additional chances to draw outs to this situation, so it is not unambiguously to Alice's advantage to draw this out. And Alice is drawing two cards per turn, so Alice only has 15 to 20 turns before she either decks out or plays Entreat and wins. ...


8

No, you are not allowed to do this because doing so would be a violation of tournament rules at every level. At Competitive and Professional REL, the Infraction Procedure Guide determines how judges handle rules violations. The action described in the question is a Game Rule Violation, a sort of catch-all category that includes making invalid attack or block ...


7

There is no way to give absolute answers to some of those scenarios in a vacuum on the internet. I agree with Hackworth's answer as far as the 'most correct' interpretation based on the rules absent any other information, but you did ask about player communication in a CREL event. Judges are in fact required to, well, apply judgement in some situations and ...


7

No they can not look at the cards again. 1 : Look at the top three cards of your library, then put them back in any order. By placing the cards back on the library they have finished taking all the actions the ability allowed and then it finishes resolving. If you were playing a very competitive game, this is not a legal thing to do. I do not think ...


7

The DCI Infraction Procedure Guide, describes very specifically how the judge should rule various infractions, and section 2.1 covers missed triggers. It describes both when a trigger is considered to be missed and what the penalty should be. In your case, Legion Loyalist's Battalion ability changes the game state in non-visible ways by giving abilities to ...


7

Companion-related cheating is much the same as other existing forms of cheating regarding illegal decks and sideboard. Call a judge just like in any other situation where you suspect someone is running an illegal deck. The updated Infraction Procedure Guide (IPG) has specifically addressed Companion cards. At a high level, Companion deck restrictions fall ...


6

The turn has not yet ended. To end your turn, all players must pass priority until the stack is empty, all players must pass priority once more to end the current step or phase, and then all players must pass priority again if you ever regain priority (e.g. in subsequent steps or phases).[1] Since you can't unilaterally end your turn, telling the next ...


6

There is nothing in the Magic Tournament Rules about timing when interrupting a shorcut. All it says is "A player may interrupt a tournament shortcut by explaining how he or she is deviating from it or at which point in the middle he or she wishes to take an action." So there is no reason you wouldn't be able to have a moment to think about it. Obviously if ...


6

The tournament rules only allow official WotC product and make no distinction between basic lands and others. What would actually happen in a sanctioned event is ultimately the decision of the head judge, as there is no explicit penalty for using counterfeit cards that are indistinguishable from real cards. From the MtG tournament rules, section 3.3 "...


5

Nathan is not obligated to inform Alice that the storm count is wrong until Grapeshot's triggered ability resolves. In the section of the rules regarding player communication, there is no rule that says that players are at any time obligated to volunteer information spontaneously. However, the rules also say "Players may not represent derived or free ...


4

You have to choose and return a valid target if there is one. You have to follow instructions of all spells and abilities that resolve. Scrap Trawler's ability requires you to target a valid card in your graveyard if possible, and you have to return that card to your hand if it's still a legal target by the time the ability resolves. In the general case, ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible