17

You can use card sleeves, as you suggested, or use checklist cards, which were included in booster packs of Eldritch Moon. These checklist cards are single faced, and included a list of all of the double faced cards in the set. I've also seen people write on basic lands to note the card (though this isn't allowed in tournaments).


16

No, a Clone'd creature cannot transform because Clone is not a double-faced card, even though it copies one face of a double-faced card. If you activate the ability, the Clone will be exiled and stay in exile. First of all, to flip a card has its own meaning in Magic. It is a mechanic used exclusively in the Kamigawa block. Even though transforming a card is ...


15

This article explains that double-faced cards can be manifested and enter as 2/2's with no abilities. The actual implementation of this stems from the fact that the double-faced card must already be unidentifiable in your hand and library. As a result, you already have the card in an opaque sleeve or you have a checklist card in your deck as a placeholder, ...


12

When you blink Garruk, the Veil-Cursed, it will return as Garruk Relentless as if you had just cast it. When a permanent such as a planeswalker leaves the battlefield, it becomes a new object with no relation to its former existence. When it returns, it will enter the battlefield as if you had cast it from your hand, non-transformed and with full loyalty. ...


11

You can use opaque sleeves, or a "checklist" card that is included in the promo slot of packs that may contain transforming cards. These checklist cards have a normal Magic back. 711.3. Players must ensure that double-faced cards in hidden zones are indistinguishable from other cards in the same zone. To do this, the owner of a double-faced card may use ...


10

It is #2, you will end up with an Insectile Abberation. A few different rules at play here. First off, your Delver of Secrets is only copying The Ravenger side of Nicol Bolas, it doesn't have any relationship to The Arisen: 706.8. When copying a double-faced permanent, a face-up meld card, or a melded permanent, only the copiable values of the face that’...


10

This FAQ has all the answers. Tl;dr: For the majority of tournaments, you reveal all double-faced cards as they are opened. And, since picks are put in a pile in front of you, any opponent can see when you pick a double-faced card. For further details (including e.g. what happens if you don't want to pick a card until you know if your opponent is choosing a ...


10

There are two different kinds of double-faced cards that work differently and are handled differently in the rules: modal double-faced cards, and transforming double-faced cards. Modal double-faced cards Modal double-faced cards, introduced in Zendikar Rising (the most recent set as of the time of writing this answer), are very similar to split cards. In ...


9

If it's your upkeep, the last turn is the turn that has most recently concluded (usually your opponents). If it's your opponent upkeep, the last turn is usually yours. What is a turn? 500.1. A turn consists of five phases, in this order: beginning, precombat main, combat, postcombat main, and ending. Each of these phases takes place every turn, even if ...


9

No, it cannot. Rule 711.4a says While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics of its front face.


8

Double-faced cards only transform when they (or another effect like Moonmist) explicitly say they transform. For example, Ulvenwald Mystics says on its front side: At the beginning of each upkeep, if no spells were cast last turn, transform Ulvenwald Mystics. and the back side (Ulvenwald Primordials) says: {G}: Regenerate Ulvenwald Primordials. At the ...


8

Ulrich will be a copy of Civilized Scholar, so you can use Civilized Scholar's ability to transform it, repeatedly if you have some way to untap it. But the triggered abilities will not trigger. First, in the rules section about Copying objects, rule 706.2 says When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s ...


8

Yes, there is nothing that prevents you from Transforming at anytime you could cast Waxing Moon. There are no special timing restrictions when transforming a double faced card. Lets break down your example step by step: You attack with Duskwatch Recruiter, your opponent declares a 1/1 goblin token as a blocker. After blockers are declared, but before ...


8

Yes. From the Comprehensive Rules: 711.12. When a double-faced permanent transforms, it doesn’t become a new object. Any effects that applied to that permanent will continue to apply to it after it transforms. Example: An effect gives Village Ironsmith (the front face of a double-faced card) +2/+2 until end of turn and then Village Ironsmith ...


8

You are correct about the outcome, but it is a different set of rules that deals with what happens here. In the case of a Jace token, it can’t transform because tokens cannot exist outside of the battlefield, and can’t ever come back to the battlefield after leaving. With a non-token copy, we have this rule: 711.8a If a player is instructed to put a card ...


8

No, you cannot transform a token of Jace, Vryn's Prodigy this way. 110.5g A token that has left the battlefield can’t move to another zone or come back onto the battlefield. If such a token would change zones, it remains in its current zone instead. It ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked; see rule 704. So any effect that ...


8

Yes, if either Gisela or Bruna are your commander at the start of the game, when they meld together Brisela will still be considered your commander for all purposes. When and if Brisela leaves the battlefield only the original commander half will follow the commander rules for returning to command zone, the other half will behave as any other creature would. ...


7

You can't pick a double-faced card that is a land only on the back Double-faced cards only count as their front face while not on the battlefield. From the rules on double-faced cards: 711.4a While a double-faced card is outside the game, in a zone other than the battlefield, or on the battlefield with its front face up, it has only the characteristics ...


7

Yes. A transformed creature is the same creature it was before. Auras don't fall off and temporary effects don't go away. Now, "exile and return transformed" cards leave play, so they will enter as new objects.


7

Yes. From the Comprehensive Rules: 711.7. When a double-faced permanent transforms, it doesn't become a new object. Any effects that applied to that permanent will continue to apply to it after it transforms. So your Werewolf will keep its Vampire subtype.


6

If you copy a Itlimoc, Cradle of the Sun, you get an Itlimoc, Cradle of the Sun, not its front face. The most relevant rule from the Comprehensive Rules: 711.4b While a double-faced permanent’s back face is up, it has only the characteristics of its back face. The further down in 711.5, the rules also acknowledge the possibility of copying the back face ...


5

A "turn" is one player's go. i.e. from the start of one player's upkeep step until just before the start of the next player's upkeep step. Note that this triggers during EACH upkeep, so in your upkeep it will trigger if there were no spells during your opponent's turn and during your opponent's upkeep it will trigger if there were no spells during your ...


5

You can do what you want, but NOT during the combat damage step. The combat phase is broken up into 5 steps: Beginning of combat Declare attackers Declare blockers Combat damage End of combat During combat damage step, players don't get priority until after combat damage has been dealt. That means that if you waited until combat damage step to cast Waxing ...


5

It won't work because of the layer system and the fact that transforming a creature doesn't make it a new object. The layer system (which is way more complicated than I want to try and explain here, google it if interested) lays out how you determine what abilities a card has, power, toughness etc. It applies when anything changes a card's ...


5

Hanweir Battlements and Chandra are exiled permanently. The Metamorphic Alteration goes to the graveyard. As you already noted, only meld cards can meld. You can exile Chandra and the Battlements with Battlement's ability, but those two cards cannot return melded. 701.36b Only two cards belonging to the same meld pair can be melded. Tokens, cards that aren’...


5

In the first 2 cases, you end up still having a copy of the same creature you were already copying. You are able to follow the instruction to transform it normally: 701.27a To transform a permanent, turn it over so that its other face is up. Only permanents represented by double-faced cards can transform. With Meld cards, you would never actually ...


5

Yes. Perhaps the most significant is that when not on the stack, a split card is both its faces combined (CR 708.4): In every zone except the stack, the characteristics of a split card are those of its two halves combined. while a dual-faced card is only its front face (CR 711.4a): While a double-faced card is outside the game or in a zone other than the ...


4

Yes, your opponent will be able to kill your Ulrich. Whenever a spell is cast, or an ability is activated, it goes on the top of the stack. When both players pass priority, the top of the stack resolves. In this case, your opponent will be able to respond to your Waxing Moon spell by activating Scorpion God, and the -1/-1 counters will be placed on Ulrich, ...


4

No, if you reanimate a double-faced card (modal or transforming), or otherwise do something that isn't casting it, you can generally only operate on the front face. The most important rule here is 711.4a: While a double-faced card is outside the game or in a zone other than the battlefield or stack, it has only the characteristics of its front face. If you ...


3

Ulrich will always be the Scholar, and will not get Ulrich's transform trigger. Copying the Scholar onto a transformable creature will "only" allow you to cycle any number of creature cards. The reason for that is that the copy effect is applied after the characteristics printed on the actual card: Interaction of Continuous Effects 613.1. The ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible