Skip to main content
25 votes
Accepted

Can I kill an indestructible creature with -X/-X and sufficient damage marked on it?

Spell order doesn't matter; either way you cast the spells, you wind up with: a 3/3 indestructible creature with 3 damage marked on it. You've asked if you can hit it with both Lightning Bolt and ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
23 votes

After lethal first strike damage to an indestructible creature, will it still do damage?

Indestructible, as with most abilities, doesn't modify how combat works - it only does this: 702.12b. A permanent with indestructible can’t be destroyed. Such permanents aren’t destroyed by lethal ...
TheThirdMan's user avatar
  • 9,291
23 votes

Can the card Disintegrate destroy creatures with indestructible?

No. Disintegrate cannot kill Zetalpa, Primal Dawn. Creature with indestructible cannot be killed with damage. Rules quote from comprehensive rules: 702.12b A permanent with indestructible can’t be ...
Aulis Ronkainen's user avatar
22 votes
Accepted

Deathtouch vs an indestructible creature, which then loses indestructible

No, the creature will not die. The rules for determining whether creatures die due to damage are part of state-based action, which are checked every time a player would gain priority: 704.5g If a ...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 82.5k
20 votes

Do we still track damage on indestructible creatures?

Creatures with indestructible can take damage like normal, and will still be counted as having that damage for anything that cares about that. The full definition of Indestructible is: 702.12. ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 75.3k
11 votes

Do we still track damage on indestructible creatures?

Absolutely. Indestructible does not prevent damage, it prevents damage from causing a creature to be destroyed. That damage needs to be done for lifelink to happen, and in the case of wither or infect,...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.7k
9 votes

To kill or remove an Indestructible

Indestructible means the permanent cannot be destroyed. Something would be destroyed if something says to destroy it, or if it takes lethal damage (e.g. a 3/3 takes 3 damage, or is dealt damage by ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
8 votes

After lethal first strike damage to an indestructible creature, will it still do damage?

Your indestructible creature would deal damage during the second damage step. At that point in time, it has 4 marked damage, but since it is indestructible, it is not, well, destroyed. So, the 4/2 in ...
JonTheMon's user avatar
  • 11.1k
8 votes

What happens if someone Doomblades a creature in response to you trying to give it Indestructible?

Your creature will be destroyed As you correctly noted, the stack resolves in reverse order of casting, and if your opponent casts Doom Blade while Adamant Will is still on the stack, Doom Blade will ...
Hackworth's user avatar
  • 51.5k
5 votes
Accepted

Death Wind and Irradiate are able to send indestructible creatures to the Graveyard?

Assuming that the above is all correct Unfortunately, it's not. There are several ways for state-based actions to put a creature into its owner's graveyard; the ones relevant for this situation are: ...
Glorfindel's user avatar
  • 29.6k
5 votes

How do indestructible creatures actually work?

No, indestructible is different from regeneration. An indestructible permanent simply ignores lethal damage and destruction effects and stays in combat. 702.12b A permanent with indestructible can’...
Hackworth's user avatar
  • 51.5k
5 votes

Can I deal indefinite amounts of damage to an indestructible creature?

Yes, you can keep dealing an indestructible creature damage. Magic doesn't have any concept of “health”, although digital games might misrepresent this by appearing to reduce the toughness of a ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
5 votes
Accepted

Does Reduce to Ashes Kill indestructible creatures?

The creature will not die or be exiled. The ability Indestructible is defined in rule 702.12b: A permanent with indestructible can’t be destroyed. Such permanents aren’t destroyed by lethal damage,...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 82.5k
4 votes

Does Reduce to Ashes Kill indestructible creatures?

Reduce to Ashes can exile an indestructible creature, but it can't kill such a creature. You are correct in that Reduce to Ashes can't kill an indestructible creature. However, it will still exile ...
Hackworth's user avatar
  • 51.5k
3 votes

Magic The Gathering: Indestructible vs damage and -1/-1 effect

They live. Damage doesn't change its toughness, it's "marked" on a creature. See 120.5 - when state-based actions are checked, that's how and when the creature would be destroyed by lethal ...
Adam R. Grey's user avatar
3 votes

Can I kill an indestructible creature with damage and -1/-1?

No. Once damage has been dealt, the indestructable creature is a 2/2 with 2 damage on it. That means it has lethal damage, but that doesn't mean anything for an indestructable creature: 702.12b A ...
Ingix's user avatar
  • 576
2 votes

How can creatures with indestructible end up in the graveyard?

Damage dealt with infect is able to kill Indestructible creatures. This is because sources with infect deal damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters, which eventually can reduce the creature'...
Sarasa's user avatar
  • 21
2 votes

Do we still track damage on indestructible creatures?

Yes. If an indestructible creature takes "lethal" damage (under the normal definition of "lethal") and then loses Indestructible at a later point in the turn, it will still be destroyed.
Ertai87's user avatar
  • 604
1 vote

MTG: Indestructible creature with both damage and -1/-1 counters

It does not. An indestructible creature will die from having 0 toughness. It will not die from lethal damage (damage greater than or equal to its current toughness). In your example, you have ...
Zags's user avatar
  • 18k
1 vote

How can I get rid of indestructible creatures with a Red and White deck?

The answers here were all correct at the time, but there have been new cards printed that I believe are worth adding. Three newer cards specifically remove the ability indestructible, they are: Burn ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.7k
1 vote

Does Reduce to Ashes Kill indestructible creatures?

No, the indestructible creature doesn't die, so the replacement effect of Reduce to Ashes doesn't happen. 702.12. Indestructible 702.12a Indestructible is a static ability. 702.12b A permanent with ...
Drunk Cynic's user avatar
  • 3,902

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible