21

I believe you've misinterpreted the "Legend Rule", which is CR 704.5j (emphasis mine): 704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.” You can have as many legendary permanents as you want, as long as ...


20

Sakashima the Impostor copies a creature except its name; Spark Double copies a creature or planeswalker except it loses legendary. There are other cards as well. The rule that is responsible for preventing the existence of multiple identical legendaries is the so called "legend rule". It is a state-based action: 704.5j If a player controls two or ...


16

There have been three versions of the Legend rule. From Legends to Champions of Kamigawa (1994–2004) We had the rule you described: only one of a given Legend card could be in play. If any newer copies entered, they were immediately removed. Here's what the rule said in 2002: 420.5e If two or more Legends or legendary permanents with the same name ...


13

Legendary permanents trigger the Legend Rule only if they have the same exact name. Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger and Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre have two different card names, so you can have both out simultaneously (even though they're both variants of Ulamog, lore-wise). 201.2. A card’s name is always considered to be the English version of its name, ...


11

If a Progenitor Mimic copies a legendary creature, then each time its triggered ability resolves and you get a token copy of the creature, you have to choose to keep either the token or the Progenitor Mimic copy, and you put the other into your graveyard. This happens as a state-based action, which means that it happens immediately after the ability resolves,...


9

No, you cannot. Let's go through this step by step: I use his ability to create the X tokens. Then, I play a Progenitor Mimic targeting Krenko. When the Legend Rule takes effect, I sacrifice the original Krenko. So far, so good. A minor detail is that the mimic doesn't actually target, but that's beside your main question. You currently have an untapped ...


8

Yes, the ability of the God that remains on the battlefield will trigger. When you play the second copy of Athreos, you will control 2 of them. Then, when state based effects are checked, by rule 704.5k, you have to choose one to keep and move the other to the graveyard. This triggers the ability of the one still on the battlefield.


8

Yes, it's considered as died. 700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.”


7

Each player can have their own Slimefoot, the Stowaway. The legend rule applies only to permanents controlled by the same player; the other players' permanents are not taken into account. 704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. ...


7

They will conflict because of the legend rule. Spy Kit gives a creature the names of all non-legendary creature cards that exist in Magic. This can be found in the card ruling: The set of names the equipped creature has includes the names of all nonlegendary creature cards in the Oracle card reference, including the back faces of double-faced cards. ...


7

The token will enter the battlefield when the spell resolves and, the next time any player would receive priority, you'd have to choose one of the legendary permanents to stay on the battlefield. The copies would then be put into your graveyard. This is governed by rule 704.5j: If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, ...


6

Independent of how you arrived at this position, you now get to choose between the Brothers Yamazaki that has the Spy Kit attached and the Grizzly Bears. The premise of the question is wrong; the legendary rule still applies to each Brothers Yamazaki in play. However, it does not apply to a grouping of exactly two Brothers Yamazaki. The specific exception ...


6

You get to keep all 3 creatures. The legend rule reads: 704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.” The Brothers' ability makes the legend rule not apply to them as long as there are exactly 2 of them ...


5

Yes, that's perfectly legal, assuming that you started with 6 clue tokens. Hard to point to a specific rule saying so, but there's 2 things to keep in mind: 1 - The legend rule, which you quoted, doesn't say anything about restrictions on which of the duplicates you have to choose, so there's no reason you can't choose the tapped one to get rid of and the ...


5

My reading would be that nothing happens. The legend rule is: 704.5k If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.” It seems like there's no way to apply this without having two or more creatures to apply it to....


5

The simple answer is "no, planeswalkers are always legendary and the legend rule applies". However, that leads to the obvious question of what did happen in your case - given that this was on Arena and therefore Standard (or maybe Historic), by far the most likely explanation is that your opponent played Spark Double: You may have Spark Double enter the ...


5

The Legendary rule is one of the state-based actions which are performed at several points in a turn. 704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, "Timing and Priority"), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. State-...


5

The order goes something like this: You play Progenitor Mimic. When you cast Progenitor Mimic, you choose to have it enter the battlefield as a copy of Niv-Mizzet. "You may have Progenitor Mimic enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield". Since your opponent is the controller of Niv-Mizzet, you don't have two copies of the same ...


5

The Magic rules do not uniquely determine what happens here. The text of Brothers Yamazaki is vague and none of it, its rulings, nor the rules explain the wording "does not apply". Both of the other answers are consistent with the Magic rules, but they do not follow from them. Using common sense, I think either interpretation is reasonable.


5

No, you have no opportunity to take any actions, including activating mana abilities, after the Teysa Karlov spell resolves and before one of the Teysas dies due to the legend rule state-based action. State-based action happen immediately after the spell resolves, before any player gains priority. Mana abilities can be activated when you have priority, ...


4

Tolsimir Wolfblood's ability reads: : Create a legendary 2/2 green and white Wolf creature token named Voja. The rule for the legendary supertype reads: 704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.” ...


4

An object's name is among the values that get copied when copying an object: 706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode, targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple ...


2

The Mercurial Pretender will enter the battlefield as a copy of Terastodon, without Lazav's name, ability, or Legendary supertype. After Lazav's ability resolves, it is a 0/0 (plus the +1/+1 from Caged Sun) Legendary Shapeshifter Creature named Lazav, the Multifarious with the following text: You may have [this creature] enter the battlefield as a copy of ...


2

Since the legend rule is state-based, Rules Lawyer would prevent it from taking effect. Of course, that would run into your "5 mana is too much" concern.


2

Helm of the host. Sorry, it also has a 5 mana cost to equip, but you keep getting them.


1

tl;dr– It's ambiguous, with up to 6 possible interpretations of the rules. However, regardless of the interpretation, the controlling-player can keep all of their permanents. Background: What's the problem? I think most folks imagine the Legend-Rule as: If multiple Legendary permanents that are controlled by the same player have the same name, then all ...


1

The recently released card Double Major copies a creature spell but makes it non-legendary.


1

If Helm of the Host works and you're not too worried about what types of creatures are in your deck, then might I suggest Brass Squire? It's an artifact creature - Myr that can tap to equip target equipment to target creature, utterly removing the 5 mana equip cost. That is if I understand that ability correctly


1

If what you care about is cost, you shouldn't be trying to copy the whole creature. It's much cheaper to copy just the ability you care about, such as with one of the following: Strionic Resonator, Tawnos, Urza's Apprentice, Illusionist's Bracers, or Rings of Brighthearth (Rings and Bracers are included for the general case; they won't work for ...


1

Spark Double is now probably the best spell to do this and super cheap and can hit planeswalkers as well as creatures. If you are specifically looking to duplicate Geist of Saint Traft I suppose you can use Invocation of Saint Traft. But it seems like the real question was can you copy a triggered ability and yes you can with Strionic Resonator it drops ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible