Skip to main content
18 votes
Accepted

Is there any way my opponent can prevent me from winning in this situation?

Considering only the cards mentioned, and assuming you chose the proper targets for the triggered abilities, your opponent is guaranteed to lose once you block with the Fiend. The active player is ...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 82k
15 votes

Does priority matter in Magic?

Preface While the answer by the OP is a pretty good list of examples when priority matters, the question as posed is more about "Stack vs Priority", as in, "Do the rules need the priority system when ...
TwiNight's user avatar
  • 381
12 votes
Accepted

What are the uses of holding priority?

You hold priority when you need to take additional actions before a previous action resolves, and those additional actions depend on the previous actions. That is the general answer to your question. ...
Rainbolt's user avatar
  • 13.7k
10 votes

Rules of MTG Dive Down and spells priority

This goes to the basics of how the stack works. After a spell or ability has been played, but before it resolves ("takes effect") it goes on the stack. Then all players have the opportunity to play ...
Arthur's user avatar
  • 5,593
8 votes

Multiple End step events

Depends on what order you put the abilities on the stack. You will have two triggered abilities that trigger at your end step. The Promise of Tomorrow checks for creatures when it triggers and when it ...
Neil Meyer's user avatar
  • 5,304
8 votes

Is there any way my opponent can prevent me from winning in this situation?

But now we're wondering—is there anything that could have made me not win in this situation? Of course. Them casting Shock targeting you, them casting Healing Salve targeting themselves, etc. For ...
Acccumulation's user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

Can I have priority passed back to me during spell resolution, so that I can do more with my own spell?

If you wait for your opponent to respond and your opponent has no response, your lightning bolt resolves before you can twincast it. 608.1. Each time all players pass in succession, the spell or ...
Michael Snook's user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

MTG Trapjaw Tyrant vs Butcher of Malakir and tokens

The description you wrote is very similar to what happens, but there are some minor differences. Here's the actual exact sequence of events, starting with the spell. The spell resolves, dealing 3 ...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 82k
7 votes
Accepted

How does Hive Mind work with Counterspell in a multiplayer game?

You can counter the original Counterspell with your copy, ensuring that at least two copies of Wheel of Fortune resolve. This is true no matter whose turn it is or which opponent casts the ...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 82k
7 votes

Does priority matter in Magic?

Yes, priority can definitely matter. The classic example is Terry Borer's mistake involving Grave Servitude in the quarter-finals of Pro Tour Atlanta, 1996. An error which cost him the game, the match,...
BradC's user avatar
  • 977
6 votes

How does casting a spell while casting a spell affect priority?

You don't do anything with priority after casting the "inner" spell. It doesn't really matter that you're casting the spell in the process of casting another spell. There are many different ...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 82k
5 votes
Accepted

Can I kill Lurrus directly after it enters the battlefield, before it's controller gets priority to cast a permanent from their graveyard?

Not normally. When ever a spell resolves, per the rules of magic, the active player gets priority. 117.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.7k
5 votes

What are the uses of holding priority?

The only time I've ever had to do this is playing around Extirpate. In the particular scenario that came up, my opponent had just milled a large portion of my deck, including a lightning bolt (me ...
monoRed's user avatar
  • 2,708
3 votes

MTG Commander Clarification on Triggered Abilities

Yes, you get to create a Cat token. Note that the ability is a triggered ability, not an activated ability. This is an important distinction. Handling Triggered Abilities 603.1. Triggered abilities ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.6k
3 votes
Accepted

Can you give an example why the active player wants to have priority in Beginning of Combat first?

I think the two different pieces here are in some sense independent. The opponent's floating mana makes you want to act in the beginning of combat step instead of the main phase, and holding a split ...
murgatroid99's user avatar
  • 82k
3 votes
Accepted

MTG: creature and enchantment triggered to opposite effects

Assuming you control both the Mortus Strider and the Unholy Indenture, you get to choose which ability will resolve first. If your opponent controls the Unholy Indenture, it depends on whose turn it ...
Hackworth's user avatar
  • 51.2k
2 votes

How does casting a spell while casting a spell affect priority?

It doesn't have any effect on priority There's a little bit of a misunderstanding of how priority moves in the question, even normally you don't need to pass priority between casting spells. The rules ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.7k
2 votes

Can I kill Lurrus directly after it enters the battlefield, before it's controller gets priority to cast a permanent from their graveyard?

Unfortunately, the rules say 117.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves. So if it is your opponent's turn, then once Lurrus has finished ...
Arthur's user avatar
  • 5,593
2 votes
Accepted

Activated effects after combat damage

Question 1A Reconnaissance can in fact be activated after combat damage. The reason for this is because after damage is dealt, all players receive priority before creatures are removed from combat. ...
CollinB's user avatar
  • 2,459
2 votes

Can you give an example why the active player wants to have priority in Beginning of Combat first?

It's contrived, but.... You have an Electrostatic Field on the battlefield. Maybe even you and your opponent both do, and you are both at one life. You also have an Anointed Deacon on the ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 74.6k
1 vote

MTG: creature and enchantment triggered to opposite effects

The answer is: It depends who's turn it was and who controlled what. For the purposes of this I assume different players control the aura and the creature (the question implies that but is not ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.7k
1 vote

What are the uses of holding priority?

I played a game once with Baral, Chief of Compliance on the board, I desperately needed to cycle for an answer so I casted a spell, and while holding priority, was able to counter my own spell to draw ...
Curtis's user avatar
  • 11
1 vote

What are the uses of holding priority?

There is at least one corner case that I know of where it is important. In certain legacy storm decks, it is really important that when you play your Infernal Tutor you keep priority and crack your ...
Neil Meyer's user avatar
  • 5,304
1 vote

Can I have priority passed back to me during spell resolution, so that I can do more with my own spell?

Each object on the stack, each phase (except Untap), and each step have this exchange of players passing priority. It is commonly referred to as "APNAP" or "Active Player and Non-Active Player." The ...
Shankensteinium's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible