62 votes

Am I technically allowed to look up cards during a Magic tournament match?

You can look up things on the Internet during a match per MTR 2.12: Electronic devices are permitted, but players may not use them to access information that contains substantial strategic advice or ...
user avatar
  • 2,543
44 votes
Accepted

How does your opponent verify you have not more than 4 of a particular card in your deck?

In general, your opponent cannot conclusively verify that your deck is legal. As you mention, you can always concede to prevent them from seeing certain cards. However, this statement that you made ...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
43 votes
Accepted

Is refusing to concede in the face of an unstoppable Nexus combo punishable?

No, Bob's behavior here should not be punished. The Magic Tournament Rules have the following definition for Slow Play: Players must take their turns in a timely fashion regardless of the ...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
25 votes

Is refusing to concede in the face of an unstoppable Nexus combo punishable?

It's not punishable. A judge may make sure Bob isn't taking too long to play (for example he really has nothing to think about each turn so should not be spending more than a few seconds to draw card, ...
user avatar
  • 1,431
16 votes
Accepted

Does showing my opponent I have an effective win condition qualify as improperly determining a winner?

The key phrase in that rule is in the first sentence: A player uses or offers to use a method that is not part of the current game (including actions not legal in the current game) to determine the ...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
15 votes
Accepted

How do I handle a gameplay error when I have an equivalent play available in a tournament?

The attack was illegal. Your opponent can call a judge at any time, and is required to do so as soon as he noticed the error. The consequences of that error depend on the rules enforcement level (REL) ...
user avatar
  • 46.9k
12 votes
Accepted

Am I technically allowed to look up cards during a Magic tournament match?

As of the July 2021 Magic Tournament Rules Release Notes, you are now able to look up cards on your electronic devices as long as you do so in the open: A few years ago, we opened Regular Rules ...
user avatar
  • 945
12 votes
Accepted

What happens if both players misunderstand the game state until it's too late?

First, players should never rewind game actions on their own; they should always call a judge to resolve problems like this. In the particular situation you describe, it is ambiguous whether any rule ...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
12 votes

How does your opponent verify you have not more than 4 of a particular card in your deck?

The assumption is people are playing with legal decks - this is enforced at higher rules level events by random deck checks (where players are randomly selected and their decks compared to the ...
user avatar
  • 13.1k
11 votes
Accepted

In what category of information are timestamps?

There is a simple answer here that resolves all of the conflicts: timestamps are free information if and only if it makes a difference to the current game state. Otherwise, it is private. The Magic ...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
10 votes
Accepted

In Magic, are you allowed to reveal what cards you have drafted to stop others from drafting the same colors?

The MTR (Tournament Rules) indicate that you are not supposed to reveal the contents of your booster (which includes your pick); visually or otherwise. You may, however, reveal double-faced cards. 7....
user avatar
  • 8,601
10 votes

What happens if both players misunderstand the game state until it's too late?

There was no illegal play, and no reason to rewind the game. From a rules perspective, the players did not notice "too late" that the attack would not be lethal, it was simply a misplay on Alice's ...
user avatar
  • 46.9k
9 votes
Accepted

Is it permissible to intentionally make an illegal move in order to bluff?

No, you are not allowed to do this because doing so would be a violation of tournament rules at every level. At Competitive and Professional REL, the Infraction Procedure Guide determines how judges ...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
8 votes
Accepted

Is declining to win to burn time on the clock punishable?

I would say that this is not in violation of any rules. By taking more turns than necessary, Alice is giving Bob additional chances to draw outs to this situation, so it is not unambiguously to Alice'...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
6 votes
Accepted

Should I tell opponent they can't draw a card if they try to cantrip when I have a "can't draw more than one card a turn" effect in play?

In this situation, you're certainly not required to proactively tell your opponent that they can't draw a card. In other words, when they cast the Preordain, you don't need to remind them. When it ...
user avatar
  • 6,725
3 votes
Accepted

Intentionally Not Announcing Triggered Abilities Until Just Before They Would Be Considered Missed

This would not qualify as cheating. In the example, Tower of War's Exalted trigger creates a continuous effect that modifies Bear Cub's power and toughness. These are not visible changes, so they are ...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
3 votes
Accepted

Can I bring a visual flow chart for complex magic cards to events?

No, you cannot refer to pre-made notes or diagrams like that during matches in a tournament. The Magic Tournament Rules section 2.11 says the following: Players are allowed to take written notes ...
user avatar
  • 72.9k
3 votes

Am I technically allowed to look up cards during a Magic tournament match?

As a supplement to piotrek's answer, there is a story in which Gerard Fabiano repeatedly attempted to name "Humpus Wumpus," for the ability of Demonic Consultation. Humpus Wumpus was not allowable in ...
user avatar
  • 57
2 votes
Accepted

In what way are cards simultaneously milled by multiple players?

It is option 1. Rule 101.4 is what governs this: 101.4. If multiple players would make choices and/or take actions at the same time, the active player (the player whose turn it is) makes any choices ...
user avatar
  • 69.8k
2 votes

Tapping a creature with summoning sickness in an equivalent play situation

The answers to #1 and #2 will depend on the judge. A judge may not give a warning at all if it's unclear any rule has been violated. But if a judge does give a warning in this situation, it would ...
user avatar
  • 16.7k
1 vote

Tapping a creature with summoning sickness in an equivalent play situation

If one of the cards is summoning sick and the other not then being confused about which one to tap is rather trivial. If you tap both of them while one is sick then the rules are violated and then a ...
user avatar
  • 4,798

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible