New answers tagged

1 vote

What happens if you cast a modal spell but choose illegal modes?

The answer is pretty much the same for casual games, Regular REL, Competitive REL, and Professional REL, but there are minor differences. For casual games, the rules simply state that the action is ...
Rainbolt's user avatar
  • 13.8k
1 vote

What happens if you cast a modal spell but choose illegal modes?

Phillip ia right about what happens in the game, the spell is illegal and couldn't be cast that way, so the game rewinds what it can to before it was cast if possible (some mana sources cant be ...
Andrew's user avatar
  • 14.3k
4 votes
Accepted

What happens if you cast a modal spell but choose illegal modes?

The opponent gets to take back Izzet Charm; see below for untapping lands. The important rule here is 601.2 which states (in part): If a player is unable to comply with the requirements of a step ...
Philip Kendall's user avatar

Top 50 recent answers are included