22

I am going to reiterate that the Basic Rules are sufficient for and a better way to learn how to play MtG rather than the Comprehensive Rules When can Instants be cast? Instants can be cast on your own turn, during your opponents turn, and in response to other spells. This differs from Sorcery cards, which can only be cast during your own Main Phase. (MtG ...


19

No, that won't work. If your opponent's creature has died, your opponent no longer controls it, and Huatli's ability will not see it. If your opponent wants to get the life for the creature that would die from the sweeper, he has to activate Huatli before casting the sweeper. Once your opponent has cast the sweeper (MtG slang for a spell or ability that ...


17

Would the stack resolve their ability first? Yes. A spell cast in response to another resolves first (Last In, First Out). 116.4. If all players pass in succession (that is, if all players pass without taking any actions in between passing), the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves or, if the stack is empty, the phase or step ends. would I be ...


16

The destruction only happens once, it's instantaneous, and there's only one creature vulnerable to it when it happens. 610.1. A one-shot effect does something just once and doesn’t have a duration. Examples include dealing damage, destroying a permanent, putting a token onto the battlefield, and moving an object from one zone to another. Think of it a ...


16

No, the turn continues as normal, without that player. 800.4i If a player leaves the game during their turn, that turn continues to its completion without an active player. If the active player would receive priority, instead the next player in turn order receives priority, or the top object on the stack resolves, or the phase or step ends, whichever is ...


16

Magic is designed to avoid any interruptions to the resolution of a spell or ability It might seem like placing triggers on the stack is a minor thing that would not cause any problems, but some triggers target and that means that now somebody is making decisions in the middle of the resolution of the spell. Even worse, some abilities trigger when the ...


14

Basically, the answer to this question lies in the understanding of the phases of the turn. there are a number of phases and steps that a turn goes through, here is a brief overview: Untap step Upkeep Draw step First Main Phase Combat phase (has many sub steps, skipped for understanding) Second main phase End step Cleanup. The above is not an exhaustive ...


13

You have it correct, they will be allowed to draw cards. The specific order is: Opponent casts Faithless Looting... that casting process looks completely normal and doesn't interact with Narset at all. Aria of Flame's ability triggers, going on the stack on top of Faithless Looting Aria of Flame's ability resolves, dealing damage to Narset Narset goes to ...


13

The card found by Scheming Symmetry will be one of those looked at. Spells and abilities in Magic the Gathering are atomic - once they start to resolve, they need to fully resolve before anything else happens. Psychic Surgery will see the shuffle, and the ability from it will trigger, but triggers do not get put on the stack as soon as they happen, they are ...


13

You can interrupt this combo with any instant or ability that removes the Witherbloom Apprentice or counters the Chain of Smog. The most important thing to see here is that the copy of Chain of Smog is created as part of the resolution of the spell. The player it's targeting can't create the copy whenever they want, while the spell is on the stack. The fact ...


12

Your opponent gets to put their silver on the stack first. However, you can then add your incinerate to the stack, targetting their Root Silver. Incinerate New Sliver You can then pass so the Incinerate resolves, destroying the Root Sliver. Stack is now: New Sliver Then you cast your counterspell so the stack is Counterspell New Sliver Your ...


12

You are correct, you can save your creatures with that play. The stack works according to the "last in, first out" principle. Whatever spell or ability goes on the stack becomes the top-most object on it, and when the stack starts resolving, the top-most object on the stack will resolve first. Whenever something resolves, players have the chance to play ...


12

At the beginning of your upkeep: Both instances of the card will put their own triggers onto the stack. You can choose which order the triggers go onto the stack, not that it matters very much. The stack resolves in LIFO order as always. The first trigger resolves. You can choose whether to return a land to your hand or sacrifice the specific instance of ...


12

You cannot react to the even/odd choice in Extinction Event because that choice is made during the spell's resolution. In general, you don't make all kinds of choices while casting a spell. As specified in rules 601.2b-d, you choose modes, splices, other cost modifiers, targets, and how to divide or distribute an effect among targets. Any other choice, like ...


11

In plain English: In most cases, players can only play sorceries, enchantments, creatures, artifacts, planeswalkers and lands on their turn. Instants and Abilities can be played on anyone's turn, as long as the ability does not say it is used as a sorcery. When a player plays a card by paying its cost, they then have the opportunity to play any instant or ...


11

You can reveal your hand and cards at will. It doesn't count as casting. 3.12 Hidden Information Hidden information refers to the faces of cards and other objects at which the rules of the game and format do not allow you to look. Throughout the match, a draft, and pregame procedures, players are responsible for keeping their cards above the level of the ...


11

The opponent can use either spell to target Hushwing Gryff while Eater of Days is on the stack. In this case, The spell resolves first, removing Hushwing Gryff from the battlefield. Eater of Days resolves, and as there is no Hushwing Gryff on the battlefield the caster of Eater of Days loses two turns.


11

Wizard's Lightning was surely used in response to Archfiend's Vessel's triggered ability, which means the spell was cast and resolved after the ability triggered, but before the triggered ability resolved. The Archfiend's Vessel is on the battlefield as a 1/1 until its triggered ability resolves, and thus easily succumbs to Wizard's Lightning. The ...


10

Taken from this page: 700.4. If a permanent is indestructible, rules and effects can’t destroy it. (See rule 701.6, “Destroy.”) Such permanents are not destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the lethal-damage state-based action (see rule 704.5g). Rules or effects may cause an indestructible permanent to be sacrificed, put into a graveyard, or exiled. ...


10

If it's dead, it's not coming back. Reminder text isn't actually official rules, but it is there to help you out, and there's a key phrase in the reminder text to help you in this case just from the card, without having to look things up: You may cast this spell for its dash cost. If you do, it gains haste, and it's returned from the battlefield to its ...


10

Sinuous Striker will die without dealing combat damage. Your opponent's creature will remain blocked, but will not be destroyed. The problem with this combo is that there is no way to activate Sinuous Striker's ability without state-based actions being checked immediately afterwards. State-based actions are checked immediately after any ability resolves. ...


10

When you cast your creature, its triggered ability goes on the stack. At this point, all players have a chance to respond to the ability, before it resolves and taps the lands. They can respond by tapping the land for mana. The mana that is produced will go away at the end of the upkeep step, however, so they would have to use it then; they can’t keep it to ...


9

Your reasoning is only partly correct: you can't use that extra token to help pay for the spell, because it won't exist yet. You have to sacrifice two creatures that you already have at casting time. If you want extra creatures and tokens to sacrifice, they have to be there first. That's because of the spell casting process. During that process, nothing ...


9

Yes, you can remove a card discarded through Madness from exile before your opponent has a chance to cast it. As per the the relevant rule you already quoted, Madness has two parts to it. 702.34a Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with madness is in a player’s hand. The second ...


9

Pull from Eternity will be useless. Those cards will be put into your library again immediately after you finish casting the spell, before it resolves. This means you could choose one of those exiled cards for a target of Pull from Eternity as it's cast via Cascade, but the exiled card will have left exile when Pull from Eternity resolves. That makes it an ...


9

This is incorrect; the damage will be dealt too late for Bloodthirst. You were right up to a point... but Warstorm Surge triggers on a creature entering the battlefield, meaning that it will not trigger until after Vampire Nighthawk is on the battlefield, completely done resolving. Note that Bloodthirst creates a replacement effect, that changes how a ...


9

The Griffin Protector will not get the bonus power and toughness from its ability until after it deals its damage. All combat damage is dealt simultaneously (ignoring First Strike and Double Strike). So, in this situation, first the Earl of Squirrel and the Griffin Protector both simultaneously deal their combat damage, and the Earl of Squirrel immediately ...


9

You would have to draw the 3 cards from Standstill and lose the game. Standstill has a triggered ability. It triggers whenever its trigger condition is met, i.e. whenever a player plays a spell. It can keep triggering as long as it's on the battlefield. 603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability ...


9

You cannot prevent the Counterspell with a Goblin Gardener. Here is what happens, step by step. You declare you are casting Goblin Grenade and put it on the stack. You choose the target for Goblin Grenade. You pay the cost for Goblin Grenade. At this point, you may use any mana abilities you currently have to produce the red mana you need (or in fact, any ...


9

Your conclusion is correct: no counters will be placed, and the creature's controller will not get any lands. Strictly speaking, each Ordeal's first triggered ability does not "fizzle". They still resolve as always, but the actions they try to take are impossible so they don't actually do anything. The creature is dead, so no counters can be placed ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible