The Official Munchkin FAQ says Yes.
Q. What happens to a Level 1 Thief who fails an attempt to steal? Does
A. Nothing happens to him. You can't go below Level 1. (Beware
the Level 1 Thief – he literally has nothing to lose!)
You do not lose Class, Race, Level, or Curses when you die. The other characters get to loot your body when you die, each getting one card from your revealed hand or the cards you had in play, starting with the highest level character. The remaining cards (non-Class/Race/Curse) are discarded.
The rules have a section labeled Death that clearly explains the ...
From the Munchkin Rules:
The first player to reach Level 10 wins . . . but you must reach Level 10 by
killing a monster, unless a card specifically allows you to win another way.
The only requirement it gives is that you kill a monster to reach Level 10, it doesn't say you have to be Level 9 when you kill it. The only other rules about winning say you ...
You still give them. But those players must discard extra cards at their charity phase (if they are still the player with the lowest level).
This rule gives a slight advantage to players with the lowest level. Although they mostly get the less usefull cards (gee two halfling and a thief card, I'm really happy now!)
To add some reference to the rules:
According to the very old rules from the beginning of munchkin you could cheat if the other players didn't catch you.
Likewise, you may also use only one headgear, one suit of armor, one pair of footgear, and two “hand” items (or one “two hands” item), unless you have a card that lets you cheat or the other players don’t catch you.
That was in an earlier ...
The monster that will not follow level 4 or below will not pursue you, only your helper will suffer bad stuff if they fail to escape. The FAQ at Steve Jackson Games covers this.
Q. I'm at Level 2 and I encounter a Level 9 monster. Another player (Level 5) joins the combat. A third player wanders in a new monster that will not pursue Level 3 or below. We are ...
No, the loss of 2 levels is part of the bad stuff that happens when you normally fail to escape, or since the card specifically states it, "even if they escape." From the World if Munchkin FAQ,
Q. King Tut and the Wight Brothers say "Characters of higher Levels [than 3] lose 2 levels, even if they escape." Does that mean you lose two ...
You still give them to the player.
While you've already got a correct answer, I'd like to explain it a bit further. Specifically, there is no hand limit. The only rule that deals with having too many cards in your hand is the charity rule, which describes what you do during your own charity phase. It doesn't place a limit on players' hands in general, it ...
It probably is a common mistake, although it seems pretty clear to me from the rules, page 1 under Starting and Finishing the Game
The first player to reach 10th level wins ... but you must reach 10th level by killing a monster, unless a card specifically allows you to win another way.
Some amount of people must make the same mistake since it is the first ...
There is a long and storied tradition of unspeakably awful deathtraps showing up in dungeons. Kind and generous dungeon masters would allow such traps to be found, but others would skip the tedious step of permitting the party Thief to check for traps, and simply spring the trap upon the unsuspecting victim, sans saving throw, sans opportunity to escape, and ...
The question boils down to: Does "that removes your Headgear" mean "that specifically instructs you to remove your Headgear", or does it mean "that causes you to remove your head gear".
Since no cards specifically instructs you to remove your headgear —they instruct you to lose it— I would favour the looser interpretation.
I've played plenty of games where someone has joined mid-game, and it has worked very well them just starting as if from scratch (i.e. at level 1 and drawing the starting hand of 4 treasure, 4 doors).
In my experience, what tends to happen is the established players have no problem with helping them to fight monsters they can't beat, meaning they'll level ...
If it's "just for fun" and everyone is still having fun, then sure. If someone finds their fun level jeopardized by, for example, the disruption of the play order, then either you should delay the introduction of the new player or change the mind(s) of the opposed player(s).
While I hate the Munchkin game...
the cards are of one of the standard card sizes.
Mayday Games makes sleeves intended for card game play. In about 100 hours of play, I've shed 2 sleeves on my dominion set, and both of those because someone riffle-shuffled lengthwise. You'll need to shuffle sideways, rather than lengthways, but sleeving the cards is your ...
You can keep 'Go Up A Level' cards in your hand until you choose to play them, you do not have to play them right away.
From the Munchkin Rules:
Go Up a Level cards may be played on yourself or any other player at any time, even during combat. Discard them once they are played.
Obviously if you can play them during combat you do not have to use them ...
You can only have two.
Super Munchkin says:
You may have two Class cards...
Half Breed says:
You may have two Race cards...
So that's exactly what you can do: have two. It doesn't matter how many of them you have. All they say you can do is have two. They don't say "one additional" or "twice as many".
No, a player may not foist help upon you.
The rules state "you may ask any other player to help you" at which point the player may accept or deny the request. There is no "involuntary" help.
In addition, in your specific case, since help was not needed, even requesting help is not allowed, according to the official Munchkin FAQ:
Q. Am I ...
You can't voluntarily discard a card from your hand, you can only play it or give it away. But you can freely discard races and classes in play or sell items in play. During charity you can play cards instead of giving them away if you want to.
So, you can play a race, discard it, play a race, discard it, wash, rinse, repeat. Unless you had some type of ...
Yes, the rules do specifically say
Combat strength is the total of Level plus all modifiers - positive or negative - given by items and other cards.
So the helping player adds all their bonuses to yours. Remember also to count situational modifiers that are brought about by the new helper eg. a monster who is +4 against Elves would gain a +4 bonus if the ...
No he can't, although official evidence is a little circumstantial. This question is in an old version of the Munchkin FAQ (but not the current one):
Q. A wizard must discard his hand to use his charm ability. Can he do
this if he has no cards?
A. No. If you have no cards, you don't have a hand.
This is corroborated on the Munchkin wiki:
Yes that is one way to achieve a tie. A SJG representative confirmed it (with a slight clarification with regard to being enthralled):
Q: I was playing the original Munchkin game as an elf who gains a level for each monster that they help kill. I was enthralled to fight by a bard. We were both level 9 and killed the three monsters. Since we both gained the ...
We have played it this way. I've not found anything in the rules that indicates that you need to be able to cover the cost of failing before attempting the theft. Also, this is probably the best time to use the Theft ability since your level can never go below 1.
Both players must roll to run away separately, and any player that fails to run away suffers the bad stuff.
From the official rules
If two players are cooperating and still can’t defeat the monster(s), they
must both Run Away. They roll separately, and each player chooses in what
order to Run Away. The monster(s) CAN catch them both.
If you ...
The charms only work for wizards in the combat. From the Munchin FAQ
Q. Can a Wizard use his charm ability if he's not involved in the combat?
A. No. The card says this is something he may do instead of fighting a monster. It's not for interfering with others' fights, so the Wizard in question must be the munchkin who opened the door or is helping.
No you can't choose to take the Bad Stuff, you must always attempt to Run Away first.
From the Munchkin rules (page 3 under Combat):
If the monster’s combat strength is equal to yours,
or greater, you lose the combat and must Run Away
Also from page 5 under Running Away:
If nobody will help you . . . or if somebody tries to help, and your fellow
Your question basically boils down to "what are the rules for recovering from breaking the rules?"
Munchkin doesn't have such rules. But it does have the catch-all rule (from the rulebook) :
Any other disputes should be settled by loud arguments, with the owner of the game having the last word.
So fix the error however the owner of the game decides: ...
You can absolutely play cards to help other players, even when not involved in combat
From the rules (direct PDF link)
You can interfere with others’ combats in several ways, including:
Use a one-shot card. You could help another player by using a
one-shot to strengthen his side. Of course, you can “accidentally”
strengthen the monster with it, ...
According to the Munchkin FAQ under Important Note #2: Playing/Using/Switching Items During Combat:
Playing/using a one-shot Item during a combat that aids the munchkins (and not the monsters) does not constitute "helping" in combat, as described in the rules. This means that in any given combat, any number of players can play cards to aid or hinder ...
Note: all rules quotes below are from the Munchkin rulebook PDF. The same or very similar text is found in the Adventure Time rulebook PDF.
Can you use the "if you discard this card" effect for items you carry?
If you are talking about one-shot items, absolutely (as long as there is not a restriction on the item that you do not meet).
The rules ...