The Official Munchkin FAQ says Yes.
Q. What happens to a Level 1 Thief who fails an attempt to steal? Does
A. Nothing happens to him. You can't go below Level 1. (Beware
the Level 1 Thief – he literally has nothing to lose!)
From the Munchkin Rules:
The first player to reach Level 10 wins . . . but you must reach Level 10 by
killing a monster, unless a card specifically allows you to win another way.
The only requirement it gives is that you kill a monster to reach Level 10, it doesn't say you have to be Level 9 when you kill it. The only other rules about winning say you ...
You still give them. But those players must discard extra cards at their charity phase (if they are still the player with the lowest level).
This rule gives a slight advantage to players with the lowest level. Although they mostly get the less usefull cards (gee two halfling and a thief card, I'm really happy now!)
To add some reference to the rules:
According to the very old rules from the beginning of munchkin you could cheat if the other players didn't catch you.
Likewise, you may also use only one headgear, one suit of armor, one pair of footgear, and two “hand” items (or one “two hands” item), unless you have a card that lets you cheat or the other players don’t catch you.
That was in an earlier ...
You still give them to the player.
While you've already got a correct answer, I'd like to explain it a bit further. Specifically, there is no hand limit. The only rule that deals with having too many cards in your hand is the charity rule, which describes what you do during your own charity phase. It doesn't place a limit on players' hands in general, it ...
I've played plenty of games where someone has joined mid-game, and it has worked very well them just starting as if from scratch (i.e. at level 1 and drawing the starting hand of 4 treasure, 4 doors).
In my experience, what tends to happen is the established players have no problem with helping them to fight monsters they can't beat, meaning they'll level ...
There is a long and storied tradition of unspeakably awful deathtraps showing up in dungeons. Kind and generous dungeon masters would allow such traps to be found, but others would skip the tedious step of permitting the party Thief to check for traps, and simply spring the trap upon the unsuspecting victim, sans saving throw, sans opportunity to escape, and ...
The question boils down to: Does "that removes your Headgear" mean "that specifically instructs you to remove your Headgear", or does it mean "that causes you to remove your head gear".
Since no cards specifically instructs you to remove your headgear —they instruct you to lose it— I would favour the looser interpretation.
If it's "just for fun" and everyone is still having fun, then sure. If someone finds their fun level jeopardized by, for example, the disruption of the play order, then either you should delay the introduction of the new player or change the mind(s) of the opposed player(s).
You can keep 'Go Up A Level' cards in your hand until you choose to play them, you do not have to play them right away.
From the Munchkin Rules:
Go Up a Level cards may be played on yourself or any other player at any time, even during combat. Discard them once they are played.
Obviously if you can play them during combat you do not have to use them ...
You can only have two.
Super Munchkin says:
You may have two Class cards...
Half Breed says:
You may have two Race cards...
So that's exactly what you can do: have two. It doesn't matter how many of them you have. All they say you can do is have two. They don't say "one additional" or "twice as many".
No, a player may not foist help upon you.
The rules state "you may ask any other player to help you" at which point the player may accept or deny the request. There is no "involuntary" help.
In addition, in your specific case, since help was not needed, even requesting help is not allowed, according to the official Munchkin FAQ:
Q. Am I ...
Yes, the rules do specifically say
Combat strength is the total of Level plus all modifiers - positive or negative - given by items and other cards.
So the helping player adds all their bonuses to yours. Remember also to count situational modifiers that are brought about by the new helper eg. a monster who is +4 against Elves would gain a +4 bonus if the ...
The charms only work for wizards in the combat. From the Munchin FAQ
Q. Can a Wizard use his charm ability if he's not involved in the combat?
A. No. The card says this is something he may do instead of fighting a monster. It's not for interfering with others' fights, so the Wizard in question must be the munchkin who opened the door or is helping.
Your question basically boils down to "what are the rules for recovering from breaking the rules?"
Munchkin doesn't have such rules. But it does have the catch-all rule (from the rulebook) :
Any other disputes should be settled by loud arguments, with the owner of the game having the last word.
So fix the error however the owner of the game decides: ...
You can absolutely play cards to help other players, even when not involved in combat
From the rules (direct PDF link)
You can interfere with others’ combats in several ways, including:
Use a one-shot card. You could help another player by using a
one-shot to strengthen his side. Of course, you can “accidentally”
strengthen the monster with it, ...
We have played it this way. I've not found anything in the rules that indicates that you need to be able to cover the cost of failing before attempting the theft. Also, this is probably the best time to use the Theft ability since your level can never go below 1.
Both players must roll to run away separately, and any player that fails to run away suffers the bad stuff.
From the official rules
If two players are cooperating and still can’t defeat the monster(s), they
must both Run Away. They roll separately, and each player chooses in what
order to Run Away. The monster(s) CAN catch them both.
If you ...
No you can't choose to take the Bad Stuff, you must always attempt to Run Away first.
From the Munchkin rules (page 3 under Combat):
If the monster’s combat strength is equal to yours,
or greater, you lose the combat and must Run Away
Also from page 5 under Running Away:
If nobody will help you . . . or if somebody tries to help, and your fellow
According to the Munchkin FAQ under Important Note #2: Playing/Using/Switching Items During Combat:
Playing/using a one-shot Item during a combat that aids the munchkins (and not the monsters) does not constitute "helping" in combat, as described in the rules. This means that in any given combat, any number of players can play cards to aid or hinder ...
Note: all rules quotes below are from the Munchkin rulebook PDF. The same or very similar text is found in the Adventure Time rulebook PDF.
Can you use the "if you discard this card" effect for items you carry?
If you are talking about one-shot items, absolutely (as long as there is not a restriction on the item that you do not meet).
The rules ...
I don't have an official ruling to cite, but my interpretation would be that Illusion only removes the monster and any Monster Enhancers specific to that monster, but does not affect any one-shot items or other "±X to either side" cards.
What's confusing here is that, instead of using the standard term "Monster Enhancer" (like, say, the Mate card does), ...
If the Giant Skunk has just been played (via Kicking Down The Door or Looking For Trouble), then you may play Annihilation to cancel the Giant Skunk. At the time it's being played, it doesn't have all of its defensive text; Annihilation means it never existed.
Once it's in play, Annihilation won't help, because that isn't a monster enhancer or wandering ...
A two-player version that my son and I came up with was pretty fun. Here are the altered rules:
OBJECTIVE: Be the first player to retire your four heroes at level 6.
SETUP: Start by separating out all the Class and Race cards. In the standard Munchkin game you will find 21. Shuffle these cards together. Next, deal 4 cards to each player. Each player places ...
From the rules:
All Items you have in play are considered "carried." Items that are actually giving you a bonus are "equipped."
Anyone can carry any Item (except for extra Big items), but you may equip only one Headgear, [etc.] ... If you are carrying two Headgear cards, for instance,
you can equip only one of them at a time.
This means ...
You cannot escape this way
From the Steve Jackson Games Forums, on a thread about running away, the Munchkin Line Editor wrote:
If a monster doesn't allow you to Run Away at all, then there's no attempt that will automatically succeed or fail. (But some Items will allow you to try to escape even from monsters that don't normally allow a try; they will ...
Yes, go right ahead. For most one-shots, the only requirement for playing them is that there's combat happening. As soon as it is, you can play your one-shots. You don't need to wait your turn or anything like that - there's no turn to wait for! Snoozers losers, you've got loot and levels to find.
From the original rules:
Items – Using Them
No, you do not draw a new hand when yours runs out. Your friends are playing with a house rule. It might be an optional rule in some expansion's handbook, but I'm not aware of such an optional rule.
The only time you draw a new hand is when you start a new character: at the beginning of the game, or after you die.
You are not expected to always have cards ...
From the rules "When To Play Cards" (page 5):
If drawn face-up, during the “Kick Open The Door” phase, they
immediately attack the person who drew them. If acquired any other
way, they go into your hand and may be played during “Looking For
Trouble,” or played on another player with the Wandering Monstercard.
Monster cards can only ...