19

The contents of the two boxes are identical. The Red and Blue boxes are for people who want to run two campaigns at the same time - for example, with two different gaming groups - to help distinguish between the games.


18

There is no expansion to convert Pandemic into Pandemic Legacy. Firstly, the board is not the same anyway. It has a month track that doesn't exist on the non-Legacy board, as well as printed places for stickers that alter the board. Many other components are also different. Secondly, even if there was an expansion/conversion kit, it would be nearly as ...


16

In fact, the Legacy rules themselves suggest playing a few games if you aren't familiar with Pandemic. IF YOU'VE NEVER PLAYED PANDEMIC... We recommend that you play a few games without any of the special "Legacy" rules to get a feel for the decisions you will have to make. Read this rulebook then play without using the following rules: •...


15

Remove the marker. That is the only effect. Of course,


15

The Pandemic Legacy campaign runs over a single year. You play a game for each month, but if you lose then you play that month one more time before moving to the next one. So if you win every game, you will have 12 games, but if you lose each month then you will have 24. Before you use any of the Legacy components, you can also play an unlimited number of ...


13

Yes, you could play something very similar to vanilla Pandemic using just the base game components and ignoring all the Legacy elements. The board is slightly different, but you probably won't even notice. You can really only do this before you start playing the legacy version though. Once you start playing the legacy version, things will happen that will ...


13

Yes, it is possible. Someone on BoardGameGeek has designed a Reset Kit, which gives full instructions for keeping various components separate, rules reminder cards so you don't have to sticker the rule book, and other stickers to go over the ones on the board/cards to set them up afresh. If you're really careful, you can remove the stickers from the board ...


11

Go for it and have fun! The Pandemic Legacy rulebook covers this contingency on page 3, telling you what sections of the rules to use to play a "vanilla" Pandemic game and advises you to play that way at least twice before starting the Legacy campaign.


11

From the Compiled FAQ on BGG, taken from the July spoiler: What if there are no research stations in faded cities? You will need to build one (or use Field Hospital ) if you wish to attempt the search. So similarly, in September you'll need to build a military base in one of your faded cities. I don't know what the thematic explanation is, but I'm ...


10

A breakdown of how long a month takes depends on the outcome of each game you play. If you win the game it goes faster and if you lose the game it goes slower and it is described in the rules. If you look at the game calendar (page 16) at the end of the rules you will notice that it has 12 months each broken down into early and late. This shows that is ...


10

You move it once per outbreak, chain reaction or otherwise. The rules don't seem ambiguous to me: When a chain reaction outbreak occurs, first move the outbreaks marker forward 1 space. Then, place cubes as above, except do not add a cube to cities that have already had an outbreak (or a chain reaction outbreak) as part of resolving the current ...


8

The biggest spoiler-free Legacy-specific difference is probably in the end-game upgrades: if any given character gets half the player turns instead of a quarter, buffing a character becomes comparatively more powerful. By the same logic, the amount of damage a single Scar can do to a smaller team is greater. However I think the most important differences ...


8

You should have opened door 5, not box 5. You can tape box 5 back up and continue with the game with no ill effects, especially as the meaning of the contents of box 5 is not apparent to you at this time. From what I remember, when you are instructed to open a box (or package as the game refers to it), it will specifically say "Open Package #". Numbers in ...


7

We've played the game with both 3 and 4 in the same campaign. It didn't affect the feel of the game either way. For a variety of reasons you likely won't play the same characters in every mission anyway, so there is no reason that you can't add or drop someone part way through.


7

Unfortunately, no.


7

Yes, this is a legal move, and it is clarified in the rules (page 5) (emphasis mine): When the Dispatcher moves a player’s pawn as if it were his own: • use the Dispatcher’s scars and upgrades, not those belonging to the character he is moving, • cards that need to be played or discarded (for Direct and Charter Flights or to enter a ...


6

No, Flexible Aid Package specifically says that "the current player" takes 1 additional action per card you discard. So if player 2 uses Flexible Aid Package during player 1's turn, player 2 will discard 1-3 cards from their hand, and that will give player 1 extra actions. Player 2 cannot take the extra actions. Same with the Borrowed Time event; it only ...


5

Order does not matter; you draw both cards at the same time. And if either is an Epidemic, you must resolve it first before curing a disease. From the FAQ If we have the 2nd beneficial mutation, exactly when can we discover the cure? You can do it out of turn, but you can’t so it halfway through an epidemic. It’s also worth noting when drawing ...


5

The other answers totally overrate the work necessary to keep your Legacy game reusable. I spent the most time of that process on writing these instructions! We played Legacy reversible without killing the fun or investing a lot of time. Some of it actually improved the fluency of the game play. What we additionally used (you can do with less) 3 sealable ...


5

You get to choose! On page 5 of the rules, under "scars": Characters can be mentally or physically damaged over the course of play. When this happens, choose an available scar and add it to your character’s card.


4

You have to discard first. From the FAQ: If we have the 2nd beneficial mutation, exactly when can we discover the cure? You can do it out of turn, but you can’t so it halfway through an epidemic. It’s also worth noting when drawing player cards, you’ll have to discard down to hand size before curing.


4

No. Only things that specifically refer to Faded affect them. Things that interact with cubes generically cannot. This along with many other questions is handled by the Pandemic Legacy FAQ on BoardGameGeek


4

A month is every one or two games you play. You'll notice you have a Game Calendar — it's referenced in this PDF rulebook in the lower left of page 4. When you complete a game, you mark outcomes in there. It's broken into: January — Early January — Late February — Early and so on. Your very first game will take place in Early ...


4

You must finish the other missions. You still need to finish 3 total, and because that one has been destroyed, there are only 3 missions remaining. There is some discussion saying the same thing here.


4

Technically, it is very possible to replay the game, but that involves so much bookkeeping that it would hugely impact the fun and general flow of your game sessions. For every game component that you reveal, you'll have to take note of where and when it appeared. You probably can't use the stickers as intended: they will be hard to remove and/or won't ...


4

Frankly, I don't see how you could entertain the second interpretation at all! From this picture: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/20687079#20687079 ADVANCE 3 SPACES IF YOU DISCARD THE CARD MATCHING YOUR CITY There is clearly a distinction between the [city listed on the] discarded card and the city where the active player's pawn is located. Furthermore,...


4

Roadblocks have no effect in these scenarios. They do exactly what they say they do, and nothing else. Since they never mention affecting abilities, they don't.


3

This is one way only. Reason: Researcher ability works one way only (He can only GIVE card with his ability, NOT TAKE.) Co-worker relationship make good combo with researcher, but don't extend his ability to the "taking" part. (Although, it is possible for other players, to take cards form researcher, in their turns. So also his co-worker can take ...


3

Anything is possible. The bookkeeping involved would be very intensive. From about May on, pretty much every action and card play would need to be double-checked against your written record of modifiers. You'd start to remember some of it, but relying on memory would mean you'd likely make mistakes throughout the game (heck, I sometimes make mistakes even ...


3

Yes, Since the only restriction on the researcher giving cards is that they are in the same city if they get that relationship sticker they can give cards to the person they share it with at any time. This is a really useful combination that can be very powerful for the players. In your example the researcher could to that and they can trade as many cards ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible