Skip to main content
49 votes
Accepted

In Pandemic, why take the extra step of eradicating a disease after you've cured it?

Eradicating a disease relieves pressure on the game board. Those infection cards that correspond to the eradicated disease remain in the deck, and continue to get drawn but have no effect other than ...
Ginji's user avatar
  • 1,986
35 votes

Can you eradicate a disease without finding a Cure first?

From the rules, page 4, when describing the Discover a Cure action: At any research station, discard 5 City cards of the same color from your hand to cure the disease of that color. Move the ...
mmathis's user avatar
  • 3,597
24 votes
Accepted

Does the medic remove cubes of the final cured disease (and thus eradicate it) before the game ends in a win?

Yes, according to Matt Leacock (one of the game's designers) on a BGG thread for Pandemic Legacy Season 1, the disease is eradicated. The medic's ability is immediate, so the cubes are cured and the ...
mmathis's user avatar
  • 3,597
23 votes

Medic abilities

No, you can't remove every cube of the same colour from any location as the Medic - it is only all cubes of the same colour on the same location. The rulebook (page 5 under the Treat Disease action) ...
Ken Herbert's user avatar
  • 8,326
22 votes
Accepted

Are the (player) cards in your hand supposed to be face up or not?

Both ways are correct and dependent on who is playing the game and what their skill and preferences are: When players are getting used to the game they are encouraged to play with their hands face-up ...
Ayatollah of Rock 'n' Rolla's user avatar
18 votes

Does the Medic remove all cubes of cured diseases from the cities he travels through?

All of the cubes. This is not an action. The Medic may remove all the cubes of a single color (instead of 1) when performing the Treat Disease action. Also, if the Medic at any time finds ...
Dave's user avatar
  • 434
15 votes

Can I begin a turn when there is only 1 card remaining in the player deck?

The game ends when you have to draw cards and there are not enough. If, as you are about to draw, there are fewer than 2 cards left in the Player Deck, the game ends and your team has lost! (Do not ...
Toon Krijthe's user avatar
  • 11.8k
13 votes

Can you eradicate a disease without finding a Cure first?

The disease can still come back. Eradication is only something that can happen after the cure is discovered. Before that, it isn't eradication, it is just not having any cubes of that color at this ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 75.3k
12 votes
Accepted

Is it advisable to play Legacy without having played Pandemic before?

Go for it and have fun! The Pandemic Legacy rulebook covers this contingency on page 3, telling you what sections of the rules to use to play a "vanilla" Pandemic game and advises you to play that ...
Pat Ludwig's user avatar
  • 30k
11 votes
Accepted

Does the Quarantine Specialist prevent Epidemic in connected cities?

Yes, she cancels the placement of any disease cubes on a city she is in and connected cities. Note that this does not "prevent the Epidemic"... when an epidemic card is drawn, you still fully deal ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 75.3k
11 votes

How do you eradicate a disease?

You must first discover the cure before you can eradicate a disease. Otherwise, some diseases could begin the game eradicated. From the rulebook, page 4: Treat Disease If the last cube of a cured ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 75.3k
10 votes
Accepted

How often do you have to move the outbreak marker in a chain reaction?

You move it once per outbreak, chain reaction or otherwise. The rules don't seem ambiguous to me: When a chain reaction outbreak occurs, first move the outbreaks marker forward 1 space. Then, ...
Cascabel's user avatar
  • 26.9k
10 votes

What are good general strategies for Pandemic?

Count cards ;-) Less metaphorically: while trying to get better, focus on what micro-optimizations you can do. While playing to win, have micro-optimizations in mind, but always keep your eyes on the ...
Jonas Kölker's user avatar
10 votes

What constitutes a month?

A breakdown of how long a month takes depends on the outcome of each game you play. If you win the game it goes faster and if you lose the game it goes slower and it is described in the rules. If you ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14.3k
9 votes

Use of Researcher in Pandemic?

Yes, it is perfectly legal for the researcher to share cards on the first turn but it is still somewhat limited, as it is limited to the cards that the player starts with. While it does sound powerful ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14.3k
7 votes
Accepted

Does the "Disease Zones Expand" emergency event only apply to cities with cubes of more than one color?

In this thread on BGG, game designer Tom Lehmann addresses this concern. User joekeck posted this as a reword: "if any cities contain any cube(s) (other than purple) that do not match that city's ...
SocioMatt's user avatar
  • 7,783
7 votes
Accepted

Contingency planner question

Yes, assuming the Contingency Planner isn't already "storing" a different event, that is perfectly within the rules and the text of the Contingency Planner. During your turn, you (or any other player)...
L. Scott Johnson's user avatar
7 votes

Resilient Population Card in Pandemic

Yes, you can still place infection cubes in that city if they would be placed there through other methods. You just won't draw that card anymore.
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14.3k
6 votes

In Pandemic, can the Coordinator's ability be used on another player's turn?

Only on your turn. If you're asking about the first ability All the first ability does is allow you to treat all pawns as your own when you take a move action. You can only move your own pawns on ...
ikegami's user avatar
  • 47.7k
6 votes
Accepted

Pandemic - Can an action be performed by different players during action phase?

No, Flexible Aid Package specifically says that "the current player" takes 1 additional action per card you discard. So if player 2 uses Flexible Aid Package during player 1's turn, player 2 will ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 75.3k
6 votes

Epidemic infections

Yes, you must do the infect cities step every turn (unless an event is played to skip it). From the rulebook: Each player turn is divided into 3 parts: Do 4 actions. Draw 2 ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
  • 75.3k
5 votes
Accepted

Is "Sequencing Breakthrough" applied only to a single player

You have been playing correctly. The effect applies to the next 'Discover A Cure' action, regardless of which player performs it. The card is placed in front of the player for two reasons: it ...
Nij's user avatar
  • 3,536
5 votes

What are good general strategies for Pandemic?

As the other answers are a bit broad, let me add some general tips that apply to every team composition and every number of players (even one). Some may not apply depending on the randomized ...
TheThirdMan's user avatar
  • 9,301
5 votes

What constitutes a month?

A month is every one or two games you play. You'll notice you have a Game Calendar — it's referenced in this PDF rulebook in the lower left of page 4. When you complete a game, you mark ...
doppelgreener's user avatar
5 votes

Pandemic - reduced rule-set for beginners

I don't believe simplified rules exist. For the reference here are the full rules. This is how we approached it: First, follow the steps on page 2-3 to setup. Then look at the inset at the bottom ...
Andrew Savinykh's user avatar
4 votes

Does the "Disease Zones Expand" emergency event only apply to cities with cubes of more than one color?

IMHO, you need to add a cube to the non-native cubes so LA (which is yellow) but has a blue cube RECEIVES an extra blue cube Mexico (which is yellow) and has both a blue and yellow cube RECEIVES an ...
Razieltje's user avatar
  • 141
3 votes

Pandemic 2012 or 2013

The second edition came out in 2013, the first edition in 2008. There is no 2012 edition. If you see it anywhere, then it's probably a typo. There are differences between the 2008 and 2013 editions—...
Tin Man's user avatar
  • 131
3 votes

Are the (player) cards in your hand supposed to be face up or not?

Pandemic Legacy should always be played with cards face up. There are mechanical reasons for playing this way. Season 1 Rules: in Pandemic Legacy, players keep their hands faceup at all times ...
bwarner's user avatar
  • 8,369
3 votes

Lab challenge: Can a cure be tested multiple times

The game designer answered it on BoardGameGeek. Each cure can only be tested once, because there is only one card supposed to be on each field (although this is never actually stated in the rules). ...
Tim's user avatar
  • 804
3 votes

Can Pandemic Legacy be played as "vanilla" Pandemic?

Yes, you can play “vanilla” before, during and after playing the campaign. During the campaign: don’t destroy anything, just put it aside1 before placement, shift stickers a little so that they don’...
Robert Siemer's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible