7

Here is my opinion. 1) I have never seen it played where 11, 12, 1, 2 was allowed. The official printed rules say... RUNS: A run is made of four or more cards numbered in order. EXAMPLE: Part of Phase 2 requires a run of four, which could be “3,” “4,” “5,” “6.” The cards may be in any combination of colors. 2) The official iPad version of the game does ...


6

You can only draw the top of the discard pile. From the rules: On your turn, draw one card, either the top card from the draw pile or the top card from the discard pile, and add it to your hand. End your turn by discarding any one of your cards onto the top of the discard pile. So the discard pile is 1 single stack, like the draw pile, with only the top ...


6

This isn't going to be covered by the rules of any game. In all games players make mistakes, this is not the same as cheating, its simple human error and everyone does it at some point. In all games it's up to the players to decide how to resolve this in as fair a way as possible without the need for 'forceably' making players do things which sounds like ...


5

This looks like Skip-Bo or Spite and Malice: Each player is dealt a stockpile of 30 cards. The winner will be whoever manages to empty their stockpile first. Cards are played onto four shared building piles in numerical sequence from 1 to 12. On each turn, a player draws until they have five cards in their hand, and then plays cards from: their hand, a top ...


4

Short answer: Yes. Explanation: This is one of the main tactics in Phase 10. It is used to surprise the other players so they don't make their phases and only you move on to the next Phase in the next hand. Another benefit is you catch your opponents with many cards in their hands. Why is it legal? Lets grab the rule book: GOING OUT / FINISHING A HAND:...


4

Yes, of course it is. There's no rule limiting when you can go out. Play your phase, empty your hand, round over. Nice hand, BTW.


4

If you don't have a discard during the game, it means you have played all of your cards, so the round ends. You can end the round either by discarding your final card, or by playing all cards in your hand. The color doesn't change in Phase 10. Perhaps you are thinking of Uno rules? You can discard any card you like; the color doesn't matter.


4

Assuming you mean as your normal discard on your turn, yes. From the rules: End your turn by discarding any one of your cards onto the top of the discard pile. For clarity, if you by "about to go out" you mean that it is your turn, then no, your opponent cannot discard anything when it is not their turn.


4

It is not possible to have all the other players under pending skips when you take your turn. Someone may have been skipped (and are no longer under a pending skip) and can therefore be skipped again, though. There's always a valid target. For example: the player to your right is a valid target. Even if they had just lost their turn to a skip, having lost ...


3

Before making your phase, your turn structure is like this: You MUST draw a card from the deck or discard pile. You MAY make your phase and put it on the table. You MUST discard a card onto the discard pile. When making your phase you MAY immediately add any number of your own cards to other phases on the table. Afterwards, you MUST discard a card to end ...


3

Yes. The skip card does not have any special rules about when it can be played; you discard it the same way you play any other card; and it does something special when you do. On your turn, draw one card, either the top card from the draw pile or the top card from the discard pile, and add it to your hand. End your turn by discarding any one of your cards ...


3

No you cannot. From the rules: Skip Card – This card enables you to force someone to skip or lose a turn for that particular rotation/round. Once you discard or play it down, you can choose anyone to lose their turn. The Skip card may not be picked up from the Discard Pile, only from the Draw Pile. If it’s the first card to be turned up at the start of ...


3

Yes, you may do that, based on the rules, here's what's relevant: Hitting: Hitting is the way to get rid of leftover cards after making a Phase. You make a hit by putting a card directly on a Phase already laid down. The card must properly fit with the cards already down. Before you can make a hit, your own Phase must already be laid down. You may hit only ...


3

There is nothing in the rules about this. Yes, a round could end before a player gets a chance to play. This isn't really any less fair than anytime a player other than the last in turn order ends up going out; in that case the last player has less turns than anyone else. Having 0 turns instead of 1 isn't all that different from having 4 turns instead of 5. ...


3

You may be misunderstanding the once per round restriction. From the rules: When someone is skipped, a “round” is once around the table. So a “round” is not a hand; which ends when a player goes out. It is simply one turn for each player. So if it is your turn, there must be at least one other player who has not been skipped since your last turn.


3

This sounds more like a question of sportsmanship and the play-style of people you choose to play with rather than an actual rules question. Yes, discarding is the last thing you do on your turn; when you make a meld you do so during your turn before discarding your card. However, as long as the next player has not taken a turn, or provided any additional ...


2

Score is used when more than 1 player completes Phase 10 in the same hand. Completing a phase doesn't end the hand immediately; a player must go out by getting rid of all his or her cards. So a second player can complete Phase 10 after the first player has done so. Once a player goes out by getting rid of all of his or her cards; then if multiple players ...


2

During a round you can only ever work on the Phase that you started the round with. The round ends once someone has gotten rid of all of the cards in their hand by completing their phase and playing their remaining cards, if any, on other completed phases. Once a round is over your pieces will move and you have a new phase to work on for the next round. For ...


2

After you complete a phase you must get rid of all the cards in your hand by hitting on existing Phases and discarding cards you can't play. Once someone who has completed a phase runs out of cards the hand is over and all the cards are dealt out again and players who completed the Phase can move on to the next Phase.


2

There is no such restriction. From the rules: The player ends the turn by discarding one card of choice onto the discard pile. And SKIP CARDS: When discarded, a "Skip " card causes another player to lose their next turn. The player who discards the "Skip " card chooses the player who loses their turn. When a player draws a "Skip " card, the player ...


2

The rules cover this, under the "If you land on the PHASE 10 Space..." section: You may skip over the 10th Phase space by earning a 2 or 3-space move from one of the two preceding spaces. So you indeed win if you go out while on Phase 9.


2

TLDR Based on the wording of the rules you won... So the rules say that a player is the winner if: THE WINNER: The first player to complete Phase 10 at the end of a hand is the winner. If two or more players complete Phase 10 in the same hand, then the player with the fewest total points is the winner. In the event of a tie, the players that tied ...


2

No you are not need to go down if you have your phase in your hand. Taken from the rules: MAKING A PHASE: If, during your turn, you are able to make a Phase with the cards in your hand, lay the Phase down, face-up on the table before discarding. For example, you are trying to make Phase 1. You have 3 “5s” and 2 “7s” and you draw another “7.” You now have ...


2

You were correct There's two key phrases in the Hit rule to support this, You make a hit by putting a card directly on a Phase already laid down. The card must properly fit with the cards already down. The first phrase deals with your cards being added to the played Phase and not a separate "also could legally go here" pile. In effect, your card becomes ...


2

Yes, they keep drawing A player still does all the steps of a turn, regardless of whether or not they have completed their phase (i.e. Draw, lay down a phase if they haven't already and can, optionally add any additional card(s) to a laid-down phase, discard). This allows more time for other players to finish their own phase while still making 'finished' ...


2

Yes. You draw the card, put it into your hand, and then discard any card from your hand (which may be the card you just drew).


2

From the rules (found here): A player may only be skipped once per round. If player one skips player two, then player two can not be skipped until player one plays again. So if you are player one, then sure - you can skip them again.


2

TL;DR : They are technically breaking the rules but you should allow it as it doesn't affect the game. Looking at the rules here it says :- Draw a card from either the Draw Pile or the Discard Pile, and add it to your hand. And then, discard any card that you want onto the Discard Pile. There is also nothing in the rules about 'still touching' ...


2

According to the rules at wikipedia, the Skip card is placed in the discard, not in front of the skipped player. Those rules also prohibit the drawing of a skip card from the discard pile. (So: no, the next player does not have the option of taking the previous card from the discard pile. Only the top card can be drawn, and the Skip card being on top ...


1

Yes. The rules say that you must draw a card and that you must discard a card as part of your turn. (At least my edition) It does not state specifically about not being able to discard the draw off the discard pile. However, I do question it as a strategy. If the card to be picked up from the discard does not help the hand, then there is a much greater ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible