We’re rewarding the question askers & reputations are being recalculated! Read more.
19

The short answer is that the start world is able to give you a jumpstart toward one or more specific strategies (the military world is probably the best example), but you can still play a very successful strategy that does not revolve around (get it?) that world. I often make the decision about whether to commit to the start world pretty early on. A very ...


15

No, the goods remain. Goods are only discarded if they are used to invoke a Consume power (or Traded). If you do not have enough Consume powers to use all your goods (or none at all), the goods remain. Furthermore, although you may not decline to invoke a Consume power, you get to choose what order your Consume powers are invoked in. This may allow you to ...


15

Your analysis is not wrong, but it is a little simplistic, mostly because you are ignoring the existence of the other players, and the state of their games. Explore is the only option that doesn't depend on anything else. You can always play an Explore. Yes, it's not as efficient as Trading. But Trading isn't always possible. If you've run out of cards, or ...


14

Yes: per the Setup section of the rulebook: Find and shuffle the five start worlds. Deal one world face up to each player. These form each player’s initial card tableau. Shuffle the unused start worlds together with the game cards. Deal six face down cards to each player. Each player then examines these cards and discards two cards face down to ...


11

You would get all of them that you satisfy. While the rules don't actually clarify this (that I could see), the entire point of playing them is to earn extra victory points for how you've setup your tableux, like focusing on alien tech in the case you pointed out.


11

Yes, you draw a card regardless of what kind of world the good was produced on. The rulebook mentions, (page 7) under Produce, that players who choose Produce get to "produce" a good on one Windfall world. It also gives an example of a special power that produces goods on windfall worlds. Since Research Labs draws cards for each good of a specific kind ...


10

It's a common beginner's mistake to pick a strategy too soon, and to stick to it, come hell or high water. Having New Sparta helps start a military strategy, but if playable military cards don't come your way early, you will have to take a different path. So no, it doesn't determine your path. It gives you a jump on one path, but you determine your ...


10

Yes You military in race for the galaxy is never spent. Not even in the two moments between playing two worlds with Improved Logistics. Even when using Space Mercenaries and paying cards to increase your military, the new military score will apply to both worlds played, and does not need to be divided The only exception to this is the Imperium Supply ...


9

In my experience, the most effective way to reduce luck at the beginning is to give players a choice of two start worlds. A world you know will be on the table the whole game is a much bigger deal than four cards, of which you'll likely only play one or two, and sometimes none. The implementation of Race for the Galaxy at keldon.net does this. (Side note: ...


9

Yes. The only difference between the player who plays "Produce" and everyone else is the free good on a windfall world. Every other effect applies equally to every player - there's no difference between Rebel Cantina and any other world with a "Produce" effect.


8

You seem to be playing completely head down, ignoring your opponents. This is not how to play Race well. You pick develop if it will help you more than your opponent, given your opponents expected moves, not just because you want to build a development. Exploring is generally not something you want to be doing often. You don't want to build a strategy ...


7

Yes. Those powers apply to all goods that are produced on your worlds, regardless of how they are produced.


7

The rules say (page 6): Players who chose Consume: 2x VPs double the number of victory point chips — but not any other effects — that their consume powers provide. The consume power on Pilgrimage World defines the number of victory points you get for consuming a number of goods. Consuming one good is zero points, two goods is one point, three goods is ...


7

Military power is not "used up" when you settle a world. All that matters is that each time you are settling a military world, you have enough military power to meet the requirement. So yes, even if you only have 1 military power, you can settle multiple worlds that each have a requirement of 1.


6

Yes. It's possible to just use the new player cards and take out the cards which use new mechanics. I've also just left all the cards in and just simply ignored the Prestige rules, Goals and Takeovers; although that makes some cards weaker as they are costed with these additional mechanics in mind.


6

The only situation that this happens in practice that you want to discard for the sake of reducing your hand size is with the Brink of War card Retrofit and Salvage, which allows a player to take all cards discarded at end of turn by other players into hand. If you preemptively throw cards away to avoid discarding, then you won't be forced to give an ...


6

I'm not aware of any simplified rules. I suspect it'd be pretty difficult to remove significant things without throwing the game out of whack. But the base game does have suggested starting hands for your first game, which is easy to forget. From the setup section: [normal rules for dealing start worlds] Your first game: instead, for two players, ...


6

You said it perfectly in your question "during the Produce phase". When a player plays the V-Produce action card, he iniates that phase for every player, and he gets a bonus for that phase. All cards that have an effect in the V slot are activiated regardless of who iniated the Produce phase.


5

Consume/trade is always a safe opening play with Alpha Centauri. It's never going to be a bad thing to do. More generally, trading when your hand won't overflow and you have a worthwhile good is often a solid play, regardless of whether it's the first turn. But here are some situations in which you might want to delay the first turn trade as Alpha ...


5

Yes, you can use the same military power bonus over and over again. At any time, you can count up your total military power from what's in your tableau. For example, if you have Space Marines (+2) and Drop Ships (+3), your total military is 5. That means that you can conquer any military world with defense at most 5. It doesn't matter when you played each ...


4

I think it is worth extending the answers already here, As a big fan of RTFG, I do not think there is low or no interaction with other players. The thing is, that after the learning curve has been surpassed (it is a bit extended) you will find yourself responding to opponent actions or forcing him to do the same. The model simply doesn't feature card ...


4

Pick Explore if you don't have cards (worlds/developments) that fit your strategy, and need to dig for some. Especially if you have worlds or developments with icons like this: You'll find that it doesn't take long to dig through your supply to find those big bomb 6-cost developments that are going to win the game or those sweet worlds that fit into your ...


4

From http://hiewandboardgames.blogspot.ca/2008_12_01_archive.html To beat the robot you need to understand how it works and know how to minimize the chances of indirectly helping it. Knowing that sometimes it "copies" your actions, you need to think twice before selecting Consume x 2 if the robot's economy size is 5 (i.e. it would score 10VP if it also ...


4

Yes it can. 1) The robot treats the tableau as an abstracted stack, and ignores the abilities of cards it places. From the rules (PDF here): The robot's tableau is a stack of cards, without any goods, where only the number of cards and their VPs matter. What matters is the robot's economic development, which is independent of what the cards do. There ...


3

Yes, it is important to your strategy what start world you get, but it doesn't dictate it. For example, if you get Old Earth, it makes it easier to start a Trade or Production strategy, but depending on what cards you get, you can do something that isn't connected to your start world at all.


3

You still need to have sufficient military power to place the world. Nothing about the placement text implies that ordinary requirements are suspended. Indeed, the game designer says (emphasis mine): Yes. And, just like IL doing a normal Settle after a declared takeover, the player doing this declares this additional settlement during their powers and ...


3

You could discard cards face down in-front of yourself, splayed out so that a count can easily be made, before discarding the cards to the common discard pile. Alternately, until the next reshuffle, you could place those cards face down under the development/planet (splayed slightly) that they are paying. This would give players a much longer time to verify ...


3

Early in the game Like the nice answers already state, this will help you get cards or find something Late in the game After an expensive 6cost dev or planet you may have just gotten nice bonunses, and left with little cards on your hand. An explore here may give you an option to not lag behind if someone develops and/or settles; most likely if you are ...


3

You would get 7 points for your alien worlds. The scoring is cumulative.


3

The expansions for Race for the Galaxy give identical phase selection cards. They can be used alone with no other components of the expansion to add more players. The only limiting factor becomes the size of the deck. Without adding the expansion more people are drawing from the same amount of cards. This will trigger more reshuffles. This can be ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible