Skip to main content
6 votes
Accepted

Counting a surrounded non-alive carpenter's square

During the game $$ $$ ------------- $$ | a b O X O . $$ | X O O X O . $$ | . X , X O . $$ | X X X X O . $$ | O O O O O . $$ | . . . . . . The corner is not settled yet, as both players can choose to:...
Christophe's user avatar
  • 1,091
5 votes
Accepted

How would this seki be scored at the end of the game?

Both the black and white stones are alive, so no points are scored for either side here.
TimK's user avatar
  • 3,488
4 votes
Accepted

Why are the white stones in the bottom left of this game counted as points for black?

It is possible depending on previous turns that some variants of the Superko rule would allow black to win that fight. For example, if black played A3, white might not be allowed to capture at A5 if ...
Benjamin Cosman's user avatar
4 votes
Accepted

How to evaluate this board situation under Japanese or European rules

I will only discuss the Japanese pro rules, since as far as I know there are no official European rules. The tournament of the European Go Congress 2015, for example, was played with AGA rules. I ...
havogt's user avatar
  • 416

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible