Hot answers tagged

8

As TimK pointed out, the situation could be but may not be a Seki but without a diagram to show to us, it's not easy for us to guess what happened. Seki : no one die, everyone live $$cm1 $$ +---------------------------------------+ $$ | X . O X . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . | $$ | X . O X . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . | $$ | X X O X . . . X . . . . . . . . ...


6

During the game $$ $$ ------------- $$ | a b O X O . $$ | X O O X O . $$ | . X , X O . $$ | X X X X O . $$ | O O O O O . $$ | . . . . . . The corner is not settled yet, as both players can choose to: either start a ten thousand year ko, white by playing at a and black by playing at b or settle for a seki, if black plays at a or white plays at b. At ...


5

Actually, White is dead after you fill that liberty. He can never attack the Black stones, but Black can capture the stone in the corner. After that there is a ko that will kill White. There's no way for White to win the ko - filling it in leaves the white stones in atari. At the end of the game when White has no more ko threats, Black can take the ko, ...


5

Both the black and white stones are alive, so no points are scored for either side here.


4

It is possible depending on previous turns that some variants of the Superko rule would allow black to win that fight. For example, if black played A3, white might not be allowed to capture at A5 if that position had already appeared earlier in your game. However, even if that rule is in effect and relevant, I doubt it would be incorporated into the scoring ...


4

I will only discuss the Japanese pro rules, since as far as I know there are no official European rules. The tournament of the European Go Congress 2015, for example, was played with AGA rules. I think most European tournaments are played with "Verbal European-Japanese Rules" which usually require to fill all dame points and kos before the end of ...


2

This situation is called Seki. Scoring depends on the ruleset you're using.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible