You still have to go into decline. This is clarified in the FAQ, where every answer has been made by a Days of Wonder spokesperson:
All active units destroyed
If all your active units are destroyed in
one turn you may:
1) Score points only with the in-decline race. or
Go into decline and score 0 for that turn. You may not take a new
Because their power continues to work in decline, Dwarves are not intended to be played for very long. In most cases probably 2 turns with them is all you should be doing. Get 2 or 3 mine spots, and move on to your next race. This is why there are fewer Dwarves, because you aren't intended to use them for more than a couple turns or to conquer more than just ...
The Gypsies ability states:
"Place 1 bonus Victory coin (taken from the Victory stash) in each Region you abandon. You cannot conquer these Regions again this turn, but you receive the coins they hold as a bonus at turns end".
At the start of your turn, you place coins in each Region your Gypsies occupy. At the end of the Gypsies turn, collect ...
Absolutely, the rulebook (on page 4) under the section on Enemy Loss & Withdrawals explicitly covers this:
If all of a player's Regions were attacked this turn, leaving him with some Race tokens in hand but none on the board, he may redeploy these as if he was doing a First Conquest, on his next turn.
As stated in the other answer, you can also ...
The rule you reference is correct: powers are cumulative so you can get a +2 bonus like that. Some race/power combinations are indeed much more powerful than others in Small World; a key balancing feature is that powerful options will usually be claimed higher up the list, which means you have to pay several points to claim them, while weaker options will ...
Yes - but you can also do this every go anyway. You simply need to abandon all regions when starting your turn.
Abandoning a Region
If the player chooses to abandon all the Regions he previously occupied, his next conquest must follow the same rules as its First Conquest (see First Conquest, p. 4).
You only use your unused race tokens (those you took into hand at the start of your turn). The only time you can take race tokens from already conquered spaces is 1) At end of turn when you can reallocate tokens on conquered spaces, and 2) At the start of the turn when you can take race tokens from conquered spaces into hand.
This is a token from Small World: Realms. You can see it listed on page three of the Realms rules (PDF) in the top left. They're listed as: “1 Rusted Throne & 7 Miscellaneous Tokens to use in Scenarios of your own creation”. I'm not sure whether you ought to have multiple or just the one Knight token in Realms.
Yes, you can attack these new adjacent regions after conquering the seas or lake. The Seafaring rules state that the seas and lake are considered empty regions for you:
As long as your Seafaring race is active, you may conquer
the Seas and the Lake, considering them as 3 empty Regions. You keep
these Regions even once you go into ...
Because it says "back into the Storage tray", it is the first option; Skeletons and Sorcerers can reuse them. Note the limitation in the rules for both Skeletons and Sorcerers:
If there are no more tokens in the storage tray...
Both Skeletons and Sorcerers state that the new unit comes "from the storage tray", and the rules for the loosing player state ...
No, it is not required. There's nothing wrong with just leaving everything exactly as is.
Leaving in place one Race token in each Region they occupy,
the player may take all his other Active Race tokens from the
map back in hand and use them to conquer new Regions.
Note the "may".
The active player can repeat this process to conquer as
Your Active race and your In Decline race(s) are scored independently of each other. A race's Special Power only applies to that race. From the rulebook (section II, p8):
Each Special Power badge gives a unique benefit to the race it is
Yes, Lost Tribes are considered an in-decline race and can be conquered by Goblins with advantage. Lost Tribes tokens have little broken column symbol, which indicates "in-decline" state in game assets.
Bunker up. The scenario you describe relies on people leaving a path of territories with single defenders. Barring the unlikely event where they are revealed and claimed in the same round, you likely know they're coming, so don't leave yourself that open. Use mountains, leave extra defenders, etc. Wall them in, so that they are surrounded by highly ...
There is no builder ability in the base set. It sounds like you're talking about the Fortified ability?
The rules for Fortified state you can put down one fortress per turn while active. Here's the full text from the rulebook -
Once per turn, as long as your Fortified Race
is active, you may place 1 Fortress in a
Region you occupy. The Fortress is ...
As @bwarner commented, I'd say abandon all regions and start invading from the maps borders
From the rules (emphasis mine):
If a player wishes to free up some more Race tokens, he may opt to entirely empty up some - or all - Regions, leaving no Tokens there; but in this case, these now abandoned Regions will no longer be considered his, nor bring him any ...
They should be played the same round. The rule is not explicit and I have found no official statement. But this topic on boardgamegeek took the same conclusion:
All the magic sources do is indicate how many markers the Ice Witches may play at the end of their turn. Highlighted this bit as this is a rule we've got wrong a few times when playing.
I am unsure about an 'official' list (i.e. from Days of Wonder), however I can list the races and abilities that would not be transfer as well to the other game. Page 10 of the SmallWorld Underground rulebook does offer some general advice if you are aiming to play with SWU races on a SW board or vice versa:
Powers and effects that make no sense (because ...
The rules for Lava state
At the end of your turn, for each Mountain Region you occupy, you may
place 1 Lava Token in any Region adjacent to that Mountain Region
(excluding Regions protected by Special and Racial Powers). All tokens
in this Region are taken in hand by the defeated player and treated as
if the Region were conquered (except there is ...
The fact that there are 10 is the good side.
This is similar to other races from the base Small World and its expansions. For example, ratmen get a larger number of tokens with no downside. Kobolds (never leave a kobold token alone), barbarians (no redeployment) and pixies (only 1 stays on the board in each region) all have even larger token numbers but ...
#1 is correct.
I can't find a place in the rulebook that makes this super-obvious/clear, but there's this:
The game then proceeds clockwise,
from player to player. Once all players have had a turn, a new
During his turn, each player must now either:
Expand the reach of his race through new conquests
Put his race ...
Yes. From the rules on conquering regions in the base game, on what to do if you have been conquered:
Permanently discard one Race token
back into the Storage
And from the rules for Sorcerers, for example"
with one of
your own taken from the storage tray.
I agree with Alex's answer about hiding score. It makes it more difficult to tell at a glance how many VP someone has.
But it's helpful even without that, just to use fewer one-point coins. Remember, the varying denominations aren't just to make it easy to exchange coins. You don't have to do that, and if you're trying to hide your score, you probably ...
I think the simplest answer is to allow players to hide their score better. If you only had 1s, 5s and 10s, you'd just have to remember how many 5s and 10s someone earned - adding a third variable makes it really complicated, especially three-plus player games.
Yes they will stay on the board because the spirit power overrides the rule that prevents them from being removed while in decline. The White Ladies are unlikely to have a lot of territory as other players are likely to target them strongly before you have a chance to put them in decline.
I found an answer to this question in an answer to a similar question:
Q: Is a race with the Diplomat power allowed to nominate a player, who has just declined or who has not yet had a turn (and therefore has no active race) as an ally?
A: Yes indeed, the only restriction in the choice of an ally is that you cannot choose a player if you just attacked his ...
I found Commando Dwarves a very successful race and power combo. You can conquer any region with 1 less race token than usual, which helps you easily extend early game. I found that aiming for 3 mines that are the closest together on the game board is a good strategy (so as to not over-extend yourself). And mines are often found in mountains so when in-...
When a territory containing a player's active race is conquered, one of the tokens goes back to the tray and that player gets back the rest of them.
That does mean that they could potentially come back via special powers. Of course, it doesn't really matter which of your tokens the special power gives you, and so if the race has plenty of extra tokens (like ...