10

The total power of a set of minions is the sum of their powers. If your minion has a power of 6, you could destroy a minion of power 4 and a minion of power 2, but you could not destroy a minion of power 4 and a minion of power 3. To get the other meaning, it would be phrased the same except for the removal of the word "total".


8

Edit: It appears that the manufacturer has decided that it was economically unfeasible to release the new base cards. Todd Rowland, one of the Game Designers/Publishers, has confirmed that the base cards in the episode were made by AEG (the publisher), and will be made available later this year: No we made them, and we've made them for AL9K and Cthulhu ...


8

Plants/Steampunk and Ghost: Plants and Steampunk have ways to draw additional cards every single turn, but the Ghost deck is trying to discard all of its cards, and is often most powerful with an empty hand. (The Wizards get a pass here; they draw cards on demand rather than every single turn.) Wizards and Robots: the Robot deck is light on action cards, ...


8

This is covered on page 4 of the rules. If you need to draw or reveal a card and your deck is empty, shuffle your discard pile. Put it on the table face down—that’s your new deck. Start drawing from there. If you have no discard pile as well, that would be a very odd game! I've never seen a game go anywhere near that situation though.


7

In the "Void Where Prohibited" section of the rules it says "If you get to play extra minions or actions while a base is being scored, you must play those extra cards immediately or not at all" which means that you DO get to play the extra card from the Chronomage, but only if you play it immediately. You can't wait to see if other cards get played first. ...


7

Yes. All minions are considered Microbots. So everything that applies to Microbots applies to all your minions in play. However, as included in the Pretty Pretty Smash Up rules, page 10: "A minion" or "minions" means any minions in play unless stated otherwise. So minions in your discard pile are NOT affected. See also this discussion on ...


7

No, it can't destroy Warbot, but that's because it can't destroy minions in general. It can only destroy actions attached to a minion, and Warbot doesn't prevent that. Poison affects Warbot as any other minion because Warbot's ability has no effect on Poison's ability. Poison doesn't destroy minions. Warbot's ability doesn't prevent actions from being ...


6

You are correct. The card text : Destroy the lowest-power minion(you choose in case of a tie) on each base with higher-power minion. So the Lowest minion (even yours) on each base with a higher minion (from anyone) die.


6

No. I don't know if this is explicitly mentioned anywhere in the rules, but destroying a minion refers to destroying a minion card on a base. This is akin to Magic: The Gathering, which has concepts of discarding cards from one's hand and destroying permanents on the battlefield.


6

Yes. If it could only be triggered once per turn, it would read: After the first time a minion is played here each turn, ...


6

Stepping through it in order. Start - Nukebot with Hang in There are on a base Play Sacrifice Choose one of your Minions - Choose Nukebot Draw Cards equal to its power - draw 5 cards Destroy that minion - prepare to destroy Nukebot, check Ongoing triggers Hang in There triggers on If this minion would be destroyed Move the Nukebot to another base Destroy ...


5

in the meantime you can use these printable ones :) http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/91736/smash-up-base-mats


5

In two players in the base game I would avoid the combination of Dinosaurs and Pirates. But truthfully in the two players game the problem isn't your deck is weak. It's that some combinations are really really strong. Such as Zombie, Aliens. With Aliens constantly throwing back your minions and the zombies more or less ensuring they never run out of Aliens ...


5

Playing Howl, will not allow First Mate to be played on the Tsar's Palace base. In this thread on BGG, Mark Wootton, who appears to be AEG's Director of Company Development said: Q: What about the Homeworld base ability and the War Raptor? The Homeworld states that when you play a minion on it you can play another minion of Power 2 or less. Is the Raptor ...


5

The effect resolves on the spot, giving you a floating extra play. However, if it's not your main play phase (i.e. specials during scoring) you must use the extra play immediately. From the most recent rulebook (Pretty Pretty Smash Up): Extra: An extra minion or action is one you can play in addition to the normal quota of one of that type per turn. ...


5

Yes. There's no rules reference for this one since it's just about the card, but as you correctly identified, it doesn't reference a particular base.


5

The rules don't say anything about it, because they assume it won't happen. Making rules for it would potentially allow people to game the system by claiming that they forgot. I think the best way to handle it is make all players (not just the current one) responsible for ensuring that no base is ready to score. Make a habit of going through each base as ...


4

No, Invader grants a victory point when it's played, not when it's moved. Play: You play a card when it’s one of the free cards you get in step 2, or any time an ability specifically says that you’re playing it. A card’s ability happens when you play it. When cards are moved, placed, or returned, they’re not being played, and their ...


4

One. It says You may only use the ability of one Tenacious Z each turn. It doesn't say You may only use the ability of a Tenacious Z once each turn.


4

No, only one Zapbot can come from the discard pile. While the text is unclear, AEG has issued an official ruling on BoardGameGeek, here. It only lets you play a single minion that way, not whenever you play a minion. That is, you can make one minion play each turn on the base with "They're Coming to Get You" from the discard pile. However, playing a ...


4

No. While the core rules don't answer this, it is explicitly covered in the expansions. From the most recent expansion, Pretty Pretty Smash Up, page 12: The power of a minion not in play is only the number printed on it, but once in play its power includes all modifications. Its power may never go below zero.


4

Yes, unless an earlier played action card or minion on the base prohibits that. In the rules there is a section that states that the rules are not perfect. There will be clashes. And there are some tie-breakers. If rule A prohibits X and rule B grants X, rule A wins. If all else fails, the player whose turn it is decides.


4

No. From the Pretty Pretty Smash Up rules, page 10: On your turn: This means during the normal Play Cards phase of your turn. The turn order is: Start Turn Play Cards (normal time for plays) Score Bases Draw 2 Cards (and then discard) End Turn By the time you're drawing and discarding, you've missed the window of opportunity for Tenacious Z's special. ...


4

The correct order is: Commission is played. This triggers two abilities in order. (Step 2 and 4) An extra minion is placed on the base. This triggers the ongoing ability of the Leprechaun. (Step 3) The new minion has less power so it will be destroyed. But it's ability is resolved first. If any. At the end of this step, the minion is gone. The next ability ...


4

The Poison card does not destroy Warbot. The Poison card does not destroy any minion directly. Reducing a minions power to 0 does not destroy it. It hangs around until an effect destroys it or the base that it is on scores.


4

I assume you mean the "War Raptor" (The original text was "Rapture"). The War Raptor text: Ongoing: Gains +1 power for each War Raptor on this base (including this one). This means, that each War Raptor gives a +1 bonus to power on each other War Raptor on the same base. The power of each War Raptor is 2 + the total number of War Raptors on the base. ...


4

Each expansion contains functionally unique bases, which makes sense, as every expansion adds a number of new factions, each of which have their designated bases. Some expansions may also contain reprints of existing bases - in case of Awesome Level 9000, as mentioned on the back of the package (see the image below), there are reprints of the original bases ...


4

There should not be any duplicates in the base pile. Each faction has exactly two different bases associated with it, and they are different from the bases of every other factions. Awesome Level 9000 reprinted the bases of the original game because the font and/or art changed. These reprints are meant to replace the bases from the original game; they are ...


4

5. By default, "minion" refers to any minion card on any base. Qualifiers such as "your", "each other player's" and "on the same base" are added to refer to subsets of those. Since Group Hug uses neither qualifier "your" nor "each other player's", who controls the minion is not a consideration when counting the other minions on the base. The game ...


3

Every base is keyed to a faction. It's pretty easy to determine with which faction a base is associated, so look for the bases associated with the factions from the original game. If there are ambiguities, keep in mind that each faction has two kindred bases. Bases from the original game: Jungle Oasis Tar Pits The Grey Opal Tortuga Mushroom Kingdom Cave of ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible