26 votes
Accepted

Do I need to get a noble in order to win Splendor?

No. From the rulebook, hosted on the creator's website, no mention of nobles as part of the win condition: END OF THE GAME When a player reaches 15 prestige points, complete the current ...
steenbergh's user avatar
  • 3,237
15 votes

How can you ever buy a development card with 14 tokens?

I don't think players are meant to by a level 3 development card with just gem tokens. As you righty say, buying a development card costing 14 or more with just gem tokens would be impossible. Are you ...
StartPlayer's user avatar
  • 10.6k
15 votes

Do I need to get a noble in order to win Splendor?

As per the rules quoted by steenbergh, you do not need a noble in order to win. However, in some discussions I've seen it raised as a house rule (particularly in situations where people believe that ...
ConMan's user avatar
  • 11.4k
15 votes
Accepted

Is Splendor accessible to those with red-green color-blindness?

OK, I have red green colorblindness. It comes in a continuum from "severe" to "mild". I am near the midpoint (sort of halfway between mild and severe, called "partial"), so there are people worse ...
MAP's user avatar
  • 266
12 votes
Accepted

Can you take 2 gems of the same kind for 2-3 players?

You are reading the rules incorrectly, they says when there are 4 chips at the start of your turn not after you take them. The rules don't care how many gems are in a stack after you have taken them ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14.1k
12 votes

Alternative play for Splendor

I play quite a bit of Splendor, love the game, but I've never run into this problem. Do you each pay attention to the other's gameplay? (that sounds rude, but I promise it's not meant to be!) Do ...
Fellow Writer's user avatar
11 votes
Accepted

What to do when you don't have any move available?

You pass the turn More formally, you take the "take three" action and follow the "do as much as you can" principle* to take zero. From a representative of Asmodee Games So, ...
Arcanist Lupus's user avatar
10 votes

Is Splendor accessible to those with red-green color-blindness?

In this photo of the game components, you can see that differentiating gem symbols have been added to all those previously-ambiguous circles and rectangles! I assume this is a newer edition than the ...
Benjamin Cosman's user avatar
10 votes

In Splendor can we have more than 3 joker (gold) tokens in our hand without spending them?

Yes, you can have more than 3 joker tokens. In the list of things you can do on a turn, the rules say: Reserve 1 development card and take 1 gold token (joker) The rules later restrict when ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
10 votes

Can you use jokers to change which noble visits at the end of turn?

No, you cannot. From the rules: At the end of their turn, a player automatically receives the visit from a noble if that player has the amount of bonuses (and only bonuses) required. (emphasis ...
WooperSlim's user avatar
9 votes
Accepted

Do you add a new noble if one is taken?

No you do not; they are playing incorrectly in that video. From the rules: Shuffle the noble tiles and reveal as many of them as there are players plus one (example: 5 tiles for a 4 player game). The ...
GendoIkari's user avatar
8 votes
Accepted

If I have 10 gems, can I still reserve a card?

Yes, absolutely. Very simply, if at the end of your turn you have more than ten tokens discard down to ten by returning your choice of tokens to their respective piles. The only time when having ...
JMoravitz's user avatar
  • 792
8 votes
Accepted

What is the fastest possible game in Splendor?

I have found 15 points in 15 turns, which works even for 3 player rules: Take: white, blue, green Take: white, blue, green Take: white, blue, red Claim: white card (3 blue) Take: green, red, black ...
Marcin_smu's user avatar
8 votes

Winning Splendor with reserve cards

Yes. The rules only specify "The player who then has the highest number of prestige points is declared the winner (don’t forget to count your nobles). In case of a tie, the player who has purchased ...
ConMan's user avatar
  • 11.4k
8 votes

Usefulness of Splendor rare moves

A possible scenario in which you would want to reserve a card rather than buy it: You have: 10 VPs 3 red development cards 3 green development cards 4 black gems Your opponent has: 12 VPs 3 white ...
Philip Kendall's user avatar
7 votes
Accepted

Do I have to pay for a development card if I have a joker and the card needs only one type of resource?

From the rules: Buying a development card ... A joker token can replace any color. This means that a Gold Joker token can be used in place of any single other token as part of any purchase. In ...
Benjamin Cosman's user avatar
7 votes
Accepted

Splendor: can I use gem coins instead of development cards?

It's not explicit in the rules whether you're allowed to do that, but they say: if a player has 2 blue bonuses and wants to purchase a card which costs 2 blue tokens and 1 green token, ...
Tom77's user avatar
  • 4,144
7 votes
Accepted

When is it worthwhile to aim for visits from Nobles?

Generally I'd look to go for Nobles in one of the following situations: There are 2 or more Nobles with matching colours. E.g. if there's a Noble that requires 4 green and 4 red, and also a Noble ...
Tom77's user avatar
  • 4,144
7 votes
Accepted

Alternative play for Splendor

I play Splendor a lot with my wife and I don't run in the problem you mention. Maybe you suffer from a "group thinking" problem. This happens when several people play the same game over and over and ...
Djaian's user avatar
  • 496
6 votes

How much of an advantage is going first in Splendor?

The player taking the first turn in Splendor receives the following advantages, regardless of player count: The ability to reserve any single development card before any other player, during the ...
Chris's user avatar
  • 361
6 votes

Do reserved cards get returned when gold token is spent?

From the rules here The reserved cards are kept in hand and cannot be discarded. Players may not have more than three reserved cards in hand, and the only way to get rid of a card is to buy it (...
StartPlayer's user avatar
  • 10.6k
6 votes

What is the fastest possible game in Splendor?

Update: here used to be my solution for 16 points in 16 turns, but since then I've managed to find an even better solution with my bruteforce tool. Still 15 turns only, but this feels so efficient ...
monk-time's user avatar
  • 161
5 votes

What is the fastest possible game in Splendor?

EDIT: fixed violation of limit on taking 2 of same gems (Forbidden when <4 gems remaining). First of all, @Arcanist Lupus has provided good answer with simple yet efficient approach and also ...
Deo's user avatar
  • 3,226
4 votes

Is Splendor accessible to those with red-green color-blindness?

If no-one with actual experience can help you out, try one of these as an alternative (taken from this link). Of course, you'll need a close-up picture of card (I'm sure there are some on BGG). Color ...
FDM's user avatar
  • 358
4 votes

Discarding Coins in Splendor

You may return any of your tokens. The wording in the rules just confirms that the tokens you return can include any of the ones you just took.
ConMan's user avatar
  • 11.4k
4 votes
Accepted

Returning tokens for the 10 token limit: which ones?

You may return any of the tokens currently in your possession. When you collect gems and/or gold, you may collect fewer tokens than you are entitled to collect. It would be a little weird to collect ...
ikegami's user avatar
  • 47.7k
4 votes

What to do when you don't have any move available?

In the Days of Wonder app, if you reach a state where (say) there are only 2 colours of token available, it allows you to just take those two tokens, even though this doesn't meet the action as stated ...
Philip Kendall's user avatar
4 votes
Accepted

Can I use multiple joker tokens in one buying a development card action?

From the rules Buying a development card To purchase a card, a player must spend the number of tokens indicated on the card. A joker token can replace any color. The spent tokens (including any ...
Zibelas's user avatar
  • 1,609
3 votes
Accepted

2 players for 2 nobles

Player 2 gets noble B if they have enough for that noble on their turn it doesn't matter if Player 1 had enough for it as they chose Noble A on their turn. It doesn't matter if you have enough to get ...
Joe W's user avatar
  • 14.1k
3 votes

Usefulness of Splendor rare moves

In games in general, any time there are more than two players, for any action, no matter how apparently self-defeating, it's usually possible to construct a scenario in which it is optimal. Your ...
Acccumulation's user avatar

Only top scored, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible