11

Your interpretation is incorrect. You cannot use the actions of a card that you scrap. The rules state that during the main phase, players may perform the following actions in any order (among other actions): Play cards from your hand Use the Primary Abilities of in-play Bases So the answer to your second question is that you can use the Brain ...


10

Your opponents bases are In Play so Stealth Tower can copy them too. After Stealth Tower copies a base, it remains a copy of that base regardless of what happens to the original (destroyed or returned to hand, etc). This relies on an understanding of what "In Play" means in the context of this game. A Player Turn consists of three phases: Main, Discard ...


10

According to the Star Realms rules, I think your interpretation is correct: you may play a card for its trade value, then scrap it in the same turn. The relevant text (in the third row, top): When a Ship is played, its Primary Abjility triggers immediately. If a ship has an Ally and/or Scrap ability, you may choose to use one or both of these ...


8

No relevant information is conveyed by marking the front of a card. All cards with the same name are totally interchangeable, regardless of whether they are marked. Logical example You have two Vipers in your deck. One is marked, and one is not. There are four possible situations. You draw both Vipers. You know that both Vipers are in your hand. You ...


8

50% Symbolizing the cards that give you a draw a D, and the cards that do not as N, there are 6 possible permutations of draw vs no-draw. In each permutation, the second N card represents the farthest you can get through your deck on this turn. I have bolded it for easier visibility. DDNN DNDN DNND NDDN NDND NNDD


7

Yes, that would be a valid move as far as I can see (as long as you had another Star Empire card in play to trigger the ability of the Fighter Base). While there are no rules anywhere that I have found to support or reject this exact scenario, the official Crisis expansion announcement indicates that it is possible: Here we see Mega Mech, one of the few ...


7

You can destroy the base first. There is no requirement that combat points be used immediately. From the Two Player rules link at http://www.starrealms.com/learn-to-play/ If an ability grants Combat or trade, that resource goes into a resource pool, which can be used at any point during the Main Phase. Note that the electronic version of the game acts ...


6

It matters for the solo variants. I can't find rules for these online but I can explain how they work in the app. In a typical solo scenario on the bots turn a card is turned up and depending on the faction this dictate how it behaves. This image is from Star Realms website to explain show what I mean and is best 'reference' I can fine. In the app there ...


5

Whether or not the information matters most of the time, you could mark the cards with invisible ink and then it wouldn't show up while playing. Keep a small black light with the game and you can use it to sort out the cards.


5

For the core set & expansions, I am aware of, Mech World counts as an ally for any faction, but it being a Machine Cult does matter in some cases. Blob World, for example, reads: So, you cannot draw an extra card for playing Mech World - since it is not a blob card and Blob World doesn't care about allies. On Star Realm - Frontiers, there are cards ...


4

Alright, so I found google docs with cards, added some more data concerning base sets and made a diagram with it. I used a sophisticated formula of counting only half of the trade from ally and scrap abilities and counting optional abilities as full trade. Google docs data Here are some diagrams I came up with: This one shows generated trade by card costs,...


4

This can happen in an actual game if a person trashes all of their economy in order to get more damage efficiency. A person with no money in their deck cannot purchase anything since the cheapest card in the market costs 1 (scouts are not in the market). This is different from Dominion, where you can buy copper for 0. Additionally, if you have fewer than ...


2

This appears to be a legitimate scenario when using a card denial strategy if the AI keeps trashing a card. Also, no, you cannot buy a scout. They should never be on the market and are only part of a starting hand.


2

The campaign game changes some of the rules, depending on which mission you are playing. For example, on Mission 3 "A test of strength (hard)", the rules are [...] If you would make your opponent discard a card, you gain 2 Authority instead. [...] I'm pretty sure you were playing a mission with special rules.


1

If you are worried about the trade row being too expensive, by far the most important factor will be the average cost of the cards in the deck. From the card gallery, you can calculate that the average costs in the three large sets are Core Set: 3.6 Colony Wars: 3.525 Frontiers: 3.4 Thus both the expansions have less expensive cards than Core Set; mixing ...


1

"Balance" typically refers to each player's relative chances of winning. There isn't any inerrant balance changes from the expansions because the trade row is shared between the two players. Even if the trade-row gets full of high-value cards, the game does not favor one player over the other. Unaffordable trade rows happen even with just the base game (I'...


1

By the nature of it being a co-op then everybody wins. I can't anything specific in those rules to say an eliminated player doesn't win so I wouldn't rule that just those surviving are winners. It seems very against the spirit of a co-op game to try and claim you won solo unless thats specifically in the rules such as Archipelago where everyone wins/loses ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible