26

He can only claim a route with length 1 because he only has one train. You will not magically get more trains because it is the last turn so all normal rules still apply. By the rules: Game End When one player’s stock of colored plastic trains gets down to only 0,1 or 2 trains left at the end of his turn, each player, including that player, gets ...


20

Allowing play to continue can give the player who is choosing which tickets to pick up an advantage: Other players may place a route blocking one of the tickets the first player was considering keeping. Seeing what colours others pick up can indicate where they're going. Another round of this can only help decide which routes are worth keeping. If play has ...


20

I don't actually see any ambiguity here. You've quoted the rule saying a Station allows you to use someone else's route. I don't see how that could imply that a Station can complete a route that hasn't yet been filled in by anyone. The reason you are allowed to place Stations on any city, including currently unlinked cities, is to allow you to place a ...


20

There's no concept of direction of travel in Ticket to Ride. If, by the end of the game, a player has created a continuous path of his color plastic trains between the two cities named on a Destination Ticket he holds, he scores the additional points indicated by the Point Value on the Ticket. If he has failed to complete a continuous path between those ...


15

No, you only need one of the base games (Europe or USA) in order to access the train car cards, scoring markers and the player carriage pieces. It doesn't matter which base game you own. For example, the rules for Heart of Africa tell you: This game is an expansion and requires that you use the following game parts from one of the previous versions of ...


15

There's no such thing as a ticket that's "started" vs "not started". Unless it refers to the act of taking the ticket. When you take a ticket, you must complete that route, or lose points for not having completed it. It doesn't matter if you've touched those cities with any trains or not.


14

Destination tickets are kept secret until the end of the game and the final scores are counted. You can't start the game with no cards, and you can never discard the ones you keep, so there is no way to hold zero destination tickets at any point in the game. This is written on the last page of the Ticket to Ride rules, the last paragraph under "drawing ...


13

Yes, you can. There were zero cards revealed from the train draw pile which matched the colour of the cards used to claim the tunnel (red), so you must play zero extra red cards - and having done that trivial action, you claim the tunnel.


12

If none of the drawn cards match the colour of the cards you chose to play, then you are in luck - the tunnel does not cost any additional cards. To put it another way, the tunnel costs 0 additional cards. This case isn't explicitly discussed in the rules, but I think it's quite clear. When attempting to claim a Tunnel route, a player first lays down the ...


12

A Train Station allows its owner to use one, and only one, of the routes belonging to another player, into (or out of) that city to help him connect the cities on his Destination Tickets. As per the instructions (emphasis mine), a station can only be used on a single route into or out of the city on which it's placed. Even if the route from Riga to ...


12

I played with my 5y old daughter using the Ticket to Ride: Europe base game and the following house rules. (We played twice; each game taking 20-30min.) The first player to complete 4 tickets wins! (We don't use the score track) Game setup Deal four train cards to each player Everybody play cards face up Remove all destination cards higher than 8 points ...


11

Stations are specific to Europe and could potentially break (or perhaps make) games on other continents. Since Asia and other expansion maps can be played with both US and Europe base sets, the largest common denominator would be to not use stations in expansions. I have not tried using stations for Asia or India, perhaps it could be worth a test run, but ...


11

The German Wikipedia article is pretty clear on this. Name | Erscheinungsjahr | Spielplan | (Publication Year) | (Board Map) -------------------------------------------------------- Zug um Zug | 2004 | USA Zug um Zug Europa | 2005 | Europa (Europe) The first version to be released in ...


11

This situation is not explicitly covered by the Game End rules. However, since not all the steps of claiming a route (see below) can be executed, I'd interpret not having enough colored trains as an illegal move. Therefore, the final player can only build routes with length 1 (or 2 if they had 2 trains left). Claim a Route - The player claims a route on ...


11

Each station allows you to claim a single route. That route may be used to fulfill more than one destination ticket, but every ticket must use the same route. From the rules, A Train Station allows its owner to use one, and only one, of the routes belonging to another player, into (or out of) that city to help him connect the cities on his Destination ...


11

Yes, you need to indicate which tunnel you are attempting to claim. This has been a somewhat contentious question among other players; because you are correct that the rulebook doesn't not directly address this. However, Alan Moon, the designer of the game, stated1 that you do reveal which route you are attempting. Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/...


10

According to the rules (available here) you are not required to pick new destination cards when you complete the ones in your hand. Player 2 can simply perform one of the other actions for his last turn, e.g. drawing train cards.


10

The rules, p7: If several players are tied for the longest path, they each receive the 10 point bonus from the European Express card.


9

Firstly, to extend the game you will need to add twice the train pieces as well as 2 boards. Maybe you should double the tickets too. This soon degrades into playing two different games at the same time, where you choose which one to play each round. The second problem is all the advantage is on the side of playing on only one board. This is because adding ...


9

No, the rules explicitly state what pieces are required from an earlier set: This game is an expansion and requires that you use the following game parts from one of the previous versions of Ticket to Ride: A reserve of 45 Trains per player and matching Scoring Markers taken from any of the following: - Ticket to Ride / Ticket to Ride Europe ...


9

At the end of a game of Ticket to Ride, when final scoring happens, your destination tickets can only have one of two statuses: complete or incomplete. As per the rules for destination tickets on page 6 (emphasis mine): The cities listed on a Destination Ticket represent travel goals for the player; they can result in a bonus or a penalty. If, by the end ...


8

I would suggest that Ticket To Ride is fairly self-balancing. What this means, applied to your question, is that the European map and destination tickets won't be as intrinsically balanced as if you'd played with the full rules. Obviously routes involving lots of ferries and tunnels have suddenly become a lot easier to complete, and as such more attractive ...


8

Either of those big boxes is fine. Märklin is not perfectly compatible, since the train car deck is a little bit off, and Nordic Countries only has enough trains for three players. That's why those boxes are not quite compatible with the expansion maps.


8

No they don't. The rules explicitly state it twice. In longest route scoring it states "Stations, and the opponents’ routes they may provide access to, do not count for the purpose of computing paths and claiming the longest one." In rules for stations it states "A Train Station allows its owner to use one, and only one, of the routes belonging to another ...


8

No. If you do complete all your routes, it is often a good idea to collect more since each route completed adds to your score, however this is very dependent on the current game situation (how many routes are free, how close it is to game end, how flexible your current rail system is) as you also risk drawing new cards that you can't complete and which ...


8

This is another Yes, you need to indicate which tunnel you are attempting to claim. but with other sources. Using the rules here look at the examples for claiming a route and claiming a route with a tunnel. Both sets of example show a red arrow pointing at the section being claimed. I think the classic rule of interpreting instructions applies here. ...


7

I don't think the rules are ambiguous. The first rule says that a station may be used to share another player's claimed route. The second rule says that a station can be built even if there are no claimed routes into that city. The second rule doesn't mean that you are using one of those empty routes, it means you can build a station and then wait until one ...


7

No, definitely not. You are never required to draw Destinations Tickets except during setup. It seems to me you don't realize one can claim routes even without Destination Tickets[1]. There's a good chance P2 might have the Train Cards to claim a one- or two-train route for the one or two points it gives. If P2 can't claim any routes, then they should draw ...


6

I do not think this is the best idea, here's why: Usually, a game is designed and playtested against its original rules, to fit them as well as possible. Since the Europe version adds the train stations, the game is built in a way that encourages their use. In this case, the map has several choke points that get crowded quickly, requiring the other players ...


6

Yes, you may use multiple borrowed routes to complete a destination ticket. There is simply no limit in the rules.


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible