When you are taking cards on your turn, you can choose to take any of the face-up cards rather than taking one from the deck. Taking a face-up card this way lets you choose what you are getting (as long as the color you want is available).
From the rules:
Draw Train Car Cards – The player may draw 2 Train Car cards. He may take any one of the face-up ...
Yellow's "longest train" is only 38 points. Loops won't count towards the "longest train" count unless they can be continued without doubling over itself. Otherwise, only the longest branch will be counted.
So, taking a segment of your example:
Here, the segment would be worth 11 points without counting the extra two trains. This is ...
He can only claim a route with length 1 because he only has one train.
You will not magically get more trains because it is the last turn so all normal rules still apply.
By the rules:
When one player’s stock of colored plastic trains gets down to only 0,1 or 2 trains left at the end of his turn, each player, including that player, gets
one final ...
Yes, you do.
Although it is not exactly specified in the Japan rulebook, the beginning of the rulebook does say this:
This rules booklet describes the game play changes specific to
the Japan Map and assumes that you are familiar with the rules first
introduced in the original Ticket to Ride. This expansion is designed
for 2-5 players
So this is only the ...
No, when you draw a card from the deck it is hidden to the rest of the players. Other players only know what you get when you pick one of the face up cards.
One of the benefits of drawing from the deck is others don’t know what you get but you also don’t have a choice of what you get. Another possible benefit depending on the version is the ability to draw ...
The holder of the destination card has to connect the two cities with their own trains. The route can be as roundabout as you like though, as long as they are connected.
In the Ticket to Ride: Europe version, you can build stations which then let you count another player's route as if it was your own for the purposes of scoring destination cards.
Allowing play to continue can give the player who is choosing which tickets to pick up an advantage:
Other players may place a route blocking one of the tickets the first player was considering keeping.
Seeing what colours others pick up can indicate where they're going. Another round of this can only help decide which routes are worth keeping.
If play has ...
No, you cannot claim a route longer than the number of plastic trains you have left.
Ticket to Ride Rules
Claim a Route
The player may claim a route on the board by playing a set of Train Car cards
that match the color and length of the route and
then placing one of his colored trains on each space of this route...
No, there is no limit. You could even complete a route using only locomotives. Remember that even though Locomotives are Wild and can be used freely like that, it is harder to collect them. Rather than being able to pick up TWO cards on your turn (i.e. two yellows), when picking up a Locomotive, you can only pick that ONE card. The only way you can collect ...
Players get negative points for any destination tickets that are incomplete when the game ends, period. Either this player got unlucky, or made a foolish decision drawing new tickets so close to the end of the game.
Here are three sources of pain you try to avoid:
Drawing only one resource card instead of two
Drawing resource cards that you will never be able to spend
Losing a race to build a link you want (an opponent gets there first, or the game ends first)
The single rainbow option is the only way to get stuck drawing one card instead of two, but rainbows are ...
All you need is an unbroken chain between the two cities. It doesn't matter which way you started it, how many cities are in between, or whether it is the most direct route.
From the rules:
Each Destination Ticket includes the name of two cities on the map and
a Point Value. If a player successfully completes a series of routes
that connect the two ...
There is no way to get rid of a destination card once you already have it.
Destination cards count as negative points against your score if you do not complete them for a reason (think of it thematically - you are playing as a company who has taken on a contract to connect two specific cities by train, and if your company doesn't finish the contract there ...
You cannot pick up cars from a previously claimed route in order to claim a new route. Resource management is one of of the control factors of the game; you only get 45 cars to achieve your routes. The game meets its ending condition when a player has 2 or fewer train cars remaining.
Review the rules for the game. They are written from a permissive stance, ...
It depends on the number of players. The second path is available when you have four or more players.
Important Note: In 2 or 3 player games, only one of the Double-Routes
can be used. A player can claim either of the two routes between cities, but
the other route is then closed to other players.
Note that no single player may take both routes of a ...
There's no such thing as a ticket that's "started" vs "not started". Unless it refers to the act of taking the ticket. When you take a ticket, you must complete that route, or lose points for not having completed it. It doesn't matter if you've touched those cities with any trains or not.
No, you only need one of the base games (Europe or USA) in order to access the train car cards, scoring markers and the player carriage pieces. It doesn't matter which base game you own. For example, the rules for Heart of Africa tell you:
This game is an expansion and requires that you use the following game
parts from one of the previous versions of ...
It is common that when drawing new destination tickets, none of them will be possible to complete. Especially if drawing later in the game. It makes no difference if the reason that it's impossible to complete is because you don't have enough trains, or because all routes into and out of the necessary cities are blocked, etc. Drawing new tickets is intended ...
It sounds as though you have misunderstood how playing train cards to claim routes works.
On your turn, you can either draw train cards, draw destination tickets, or "claim a route". A "route" is the spaces between any 2 adjacent cities; routes are from 1 to 6 trains long. You can claim any route that is still available if you have the ...
Green appears to have a length of 40 and Yellow appears to have a length of 38.
Looking at the green path there are a total of 4 cars that can't be counted in the longest path. Sault St. Marie to Toronto and New York to Pittsburgh.
Looking at the yellow path and there are a total of 5 cars that can't be counted. Dallas to Oklahoma City and Denver to Salt ...
No. Your opponents should not know when you complete a route until the end of
the game. Also, you score points for every track you lay down, so you aren't just playing to block other players or to get he longest route. Completing routes is simply one of the ways to score points, it is not "the object" of the game.
The goal in TTR is not "complete the cards you're given", it's "get the most points". There are plenty of ways to do this with short routes (e.g. by focusing on building only length 4+, not going for longest route, and picking the spots where everyone wants to go).
If no one in your group wants to adjust their play style to match the cards they're dealt, ...
You only have to make the required connection (Glasgow to France) once for 19 points. Like all destination tickets; a single ticket cannot be scored multiple times, even if you connect the locations via multiple routes.
The reason that the ticket shows multiple routes is because France is a country, as opposed to a city. In the base Ticket to Ride game, ...
Yes, you can. There were zero cards revealed from the train draw pile which matched the colour of the cards used to claim the tunnel (red), so you must play zero extra red cards - and having done that trivial action, you claim the tunnel.
You can claim any unoccupied route between any two locations (that does not require passing through a third location) at any time. You do not require a destination ticket showing either location, and it doesn't have to be connected to any of your other routes. You only need:
Sufficient trains to cover the route.
Sufficient cards to pay for it.
You don't ...
Yes, you need to indicate which tunnel you are attempting to claim.
This has been a somewhat contentious question among other players; because you are correct that the rulebook doesn't not directly address this. However, Alan Moon, the designer of the game, stated1 that you do reveal which route you are attempting.
I played with my 5y old daughter using the Ticket to Ride: Europe base game and the following house rules. (We played twice; each game taking 20-30min.)
The first player to complete 4 tickets wins!
(We don't use the score track)
Deal four train cards to each player
Everybody play cards face up
Remove all destination cards higher than 8 points ...
Some actions you can take, in increasing order of difficulty it will impose:
Don't aim for the Longest Route.
Don't draw from the visible options. This will reduce the 'skill' you can exercise, making your plays more dependent on luck.
Don't use wild Cards to fill out a color set. Makes it harder to get the longer routes. Knowing that they may gather in ...
From the Switzerland rules, page 2:
The three Train Car cards revealed for the Tunnel are discarded.
Note that train cards are never put on the bottom of the draw pile. Only when the draw pile is empty does the discard get shuffled to replace it.
There is no time limit for each turn and etiquette for turn length depends on the group that you are playing in. The best suggestion that I can make for you is to remind your wife that she can start planning her next turn while others are playing. While things will change based on other players move not every action they take is going to impact her choice.