46

When you are taking cards on your turn, you can choose to take any of the face-up cards rather than taking one from the deck. Taking a face-up card this way lets you choose what you are getting (as long as the color you want is available). From the rules: Draw Train Car Cards – The player may draw 2 Train Car cards. He may take any one of the face-up ...


20

No, you cannot claim a route longer than the number of plastic trains you have left. Ticket to Ride Rules Claim a Route The player may claim a route on the board by playing a set of Train Car cards that match the color and length of the route and then placing one of his colored trains on each space of this route... Claiming Routes ... ...


14

Yes, you need to indicate which tunnel you are attempting to claim. This has been a somewhat contentious question among other players; because you are correct that the rulebook doesn't not directly address this. However, Alan Moon, the designer of the game, stated1 that you do reveal which route you are attempting. Source: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/...


13

I played with my 5y old daughter using the Ticket to Ride: Europe base game and the following house rules. (We played twice; each game taking 20-30min.) The first player to complete 4 tickets wins! (We don't use the score track) Game setup Deal four train cards to each player Everybody play cards face up Remove all destination cards higher than 8 points ...


11

You cannot trade destination cards at all: neither the ones you receive at the start nor any you receive later. You get three at the start and can choose to keep all three or just two (discarding the other one). Rulebook: Shuffle the Destination Ticket cards and deal 3 cards to each player. Each player looks at their Destination Tickets and decides ...


11

Each station allows you to claim a single route. That route may be used to fulfill more than one destination ticket, but every ticket must use the same route. From the rules, A Train Station allows its owner to use one, and only one, of the routes belonging to another player, into (or out of) that city to help him connect the cities on his Destination ...


10

This is another Yes, you need to indicate which tunnel you are attempting to claim. but with other sources. Using the rules here look at the examples for claiming a route and claiming a route with a tunnel. Both sets of example show a red arrow pointing at the section being claimed. I think the classic rule of interpreting instructions applies here. ...


8

It seems you have some misunderstandings regarding how to play Ticket To Ride: Europe. You cannot ever claim more than one route in your turn. You can do one, and only one, of these actions in your turn From the Rulebook, page 3: On his turn, a player must perform one (and only one) of the following four actions: Draw Train Car Cards: The ...


8

Yes, you may use multiple borrowed routes to complete a destination ticket. There is simply no limit in the rules.


6

The rules for longest path say, "In the case of a tie for the longest path, all tied players score the 10 point bonus." So all players whom have the longest path or most tickets would qualify to score the bonus from the permits if they had them.


5

No. Drawing cards, both for destinations and trains, is a separate action. Finishing a route gets you points, but you need to replenish your hand manually. The rule book says nothing about drawing cards in the section on claiming a route, if you were meant to draw cards, it would be here: Claim a Route – The player may claim a route on the board by ...


4

You score points for EVERY route you claim, based on its length (length 1 is 1 point; length 2 is 2, 3 is 4, 4 is 7, etc), at the time that you claim it. Destination cards are awarded (or penalized) at the end of the game.


3

Your understanding is correct. Completing a district means that you would be able to get from any location in the district to any other location in the district by traveling along your trains. Essentially the same as completing Destination cards; but with more than 2 locations on them.


3

The rules do not state that you cannot use more than one station claimed route to complete a ticket. Therefore, you may use more than one station claimed route to complete a ticket. This will require two stations. Each station can only claim the use of a single route.


2

Boiler Lagging and Steam Turbines The times that I have won against someone who got the Southampton-New York route, I had relied on the bonus points from the Boiler Lagging card (score 1 extra point for each route that you claim) and the Steam Turbines card (score 2, or 3 extra points for each Ferry route that you claim). Right of Way Also, this is riskier ...


2

With six players the map might become a little too cluttered quickly: rather than adding new rules that make the game fiddlier, I would rather reduce the number of coaches, probably between 35 and 40. Hence players would focus on completing fewer tickets too: consider scrapping the longest tickets, which could become difficult to complete. On a side note, ...


2

Yes, in a few ways: Each segment gets a score immediately when you build it, the longer the segment, the greater the points. This is completely independent of routes. Longest route is another award during the end game, and this doesn't need to follow any of your destination routes (it usually includes at least part of some destination routes but is longer) ...


2

You seem to be misunderstanding a key part of how the game works, in both Ticket to Ride Europe and regular Ticket to Ride. On a single turn, you can only put down enough trains to follow a single path between adjacent cities. You cannot go through multiple cities at once. So a route of length 8 for 21 points is the longest route you can claim. On later ...


1

So myself and my daughter had a go at this and if you don't use stations i.e. you get 12 points for them, we got to 172 points going from Roma to Palermo and along the longest routes through Bucaresti, Budapest and Kyiv, then Petrograd to Stockholm. This gave a route of 44 carriages, so assumes longest route. It completes one long route and six short ones. ...


1

Yes, you can claim any route (as long as it's available) and you will score the appropriate number of points. Ticket to Ride Rules OBJECT OF THE GAME ...Points can be scored by: • Claiming a Route between two adjacent cities on the map; • Successfully completing a Continuous Path of routes between two cities listed on your Destination Ticket(s);...


1

With 6 or more I would split into 2 games of ticket to ride since with 5 players the down time is already pretty high to keep player interested in my opinion. I do think it is possibly to balance the mechanics of the game but the down time between plays would make it a very slow game and not the best for that size of group. Part of what makes a game ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible