5

As it says in the rules for Shattered Empire, if you're using the Age of Empire variant, you have to use the Imperial II strategy card rather than Bureaucracy.


4

No, nothing changes. The TI3 FAQ puts it fairly straightforwardly on the left hand side of page 2: Elimination A player who controls no planets and has no units on the board is eliminated from the game. He cannot play Action Cards or choose Strategy Cards. After a player has been eliminated, the other players continue the game normally, with no ...


4

There is no official 2-player variant; the game just wasn't designed for it. But as always, the internet provides. Various fans have proposed two-player rule sets. The Roland Wood variant is probably the most commonly used, building on earlier suggestions by other players. (There was another popular version in the "Shattered Expansion", but I can no ...


4

I'm not claiming an authoritative answer, but when playing recently the rule we followed is the activation rule -- the adjacent PDS may fire into a system that has been activated. So, in your scenario, the PDS would fire only one time. From the TI3 Rule book (page 29): When a player activates a system in range of an enemy PDS unit, the owners of any ...


4

Sometimes we just have a "Call Time". When that time is reached the game will complete that turn we are on and the player with the most VPs wins. Not the best system perhaps, but it works for us. Sometimes we finish before the call time. We have discussed the possibility of using a game timer (similar to chess timers - ours is a cube that can time up to ...


3

The Sardakk N'orr chooses the targets. This thread on BoardGameGeek has an official answer from FFG on the subject: I do have another questions about some of the "destroy abilities " in game. Exotrireme II - sacrificial ability , Assault Cannon, Yin Flagship. 1.) Am I correct to assume that for any Destroy ability sustain damage cannot be used ? 2....


3

It's powerful, but remember that you're limited by the number of pieces you have. And if I recall correctly, then you only get the 6 PDS units. So while yes, the PDS wall is strong, it is just a Maginot line. You can just go around it, since the PDS units have to be transported or rebuilt.


3

You need, however annoying it may seem, to formalize a policy that deals not only with minor 'take back' adjustments, but with mistakes that were not noticed at the time. Before the next game, ask the group for a rule on which everyone can agree. Some possibilities are: No changes after the dice have been rolled (for any reason). This has the advantages ...


3

Position 3, which gets the 6 trade goods is, as you say, clearly the worst, all cramped up there. The two which get 4 trade goods, positions 1 & 2, only have 3 tiles which are directly connected to their home world, whereas the remaining 4 positions are connected to the board with 4 tiles. This gives them more movement options and I guess this would be ...


3

Short answer: Ha- Kahn Rationale: There is no official pronunciation from Fantasy Flight as of yet (and I hope they don't release one, because this is one of the best things to argue about in the game). That said, we have some theoretical basis to come up with one by considering that "proper" pronunciation will vary by language. The first question we ...


2

Our record is 5.5 hours for a 7 player game, 3.5 hours for a 4p game and we are convinced we can keep improving on it. But last night we spent more than 8 hours on a 6p game. I had a few ideas: 1) Don't bother including anyone who isn't actually going to be into it. If someone is going to be sitting there snoring at the pace of the game for several hours it'...


2

Honestly, I think it would be pretty straight-forward to remove The Agenda Phase from the game. Not too many components actually rely on it. With that being said, none of the below suggestions have been play-tested and there may be things that I have overlooked in terms of gameplay. I've played this game quite a few times but am by no means an expert. Here's ...


2

Yes. The living rules reference v1.1 contains the errata: HYPER METABOLISM The text of the “Hyper Metabolism” technology should read as follows: “During the status phase, gain 3 command tokens instead of 2.”


2

No. The card says "Gain that technology". It does not allow gaining your faction specific variant of that technology. Effectively, this means that you cannot use the card in that situation (or if you did, it would not get you any benefit). I don't have an official ruling to back this up, but a literal reading of the card text seems pretty clear. This thread ...


1

You may do each of the following, in order. In these steps, "pre-existing" means it was there at the start of your activation: Place a sleeper token on one planet that has ground forces but no sleeper token. Convert a pre-existing PDS into your flagship. Convert each pre-existing sleeper token into either: A PDS A Mech and an Infantry If you ...


1

Yes it can. While this has not been addressed specifically for TI 4th edition, the answer appears to be yes by comparing 4th edition to 3rd edition. In 3rd edition, the flagship had the ability: You may treat this ship's system as if it had a "D" Wormhole in it. When this ship is moving, treat its destination system as if it had the Wormhole. ...


1

You must spend these resources specifically to score the objective. You have to make a choice between spending the resources on units/buildings and getting points to win. These objectives are status phase objectives, meaning they can only be scored in the status phase. Thus spending resources to build ships wouldn't apply because it happens during the ...


1

You can (barring an rules reference update by FFG). The rules on Tactical Actions have the following restrictions: The active player must activate a system that does not contain one of his command tokens. • To activate a system, the active player places a command token from his tactic pool on that system. That system is the active system. ...


1

Any number of players can play any number of riders on a single agenda, provided each is a different rider. If multiple players want to play the same rider, the player first in speaker-clockwise order has priority. The relevant points from the rules reference: Multiple action cards with the same name cannot be played during a single timing window to affect ...


1

The valid options are #1 (not shooting) and #2 (shooting the ships of the active player). Shooting space cannons is optional for any player (so #1 is always an option). Then, #2 is an option but not #3 or #4 because space cannons apply their hits to the ships of the active player, with the only exception being for the active player's space cannons. Here are ...


1

I couldn't find any rules that back up this specific situation but this is my interpretation. The trigger for the LAW states: When a player chooses a Strategy Card... So if someone were to play an action card which forces that player to put their current strategy card back and choose a different strategy card, the LAW would trigger again allowing the ...


1

We usually play with Age of empire option and variant strategy card, using this set of strategy cards: initiative diplomacy II political logistic trade II warfare technology II imperial II It leads to very smooth matches, so it became our standard set up.


1

Any time when you are likely to just get smoked in combat. Say you have a carrier with just a couple of fighters vs the force mentioned above. You will be lucky indeed to even kill all of the cannon fodder to start to damage the Warsun. And you would also have to count on unlucky rolls from the opposing fleet to get to that point as well. You have a 2% ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible