15

There is nothing in the rules to prevent two armies from the same codex from fighting one another. I would just be sure that you can tell who each model belongs to; this is not too difficult once they are painted, but it could be easy to lose track of who is on which side if there are all just bare plastic. With the current fluff, Necrons Overlords have ...


12

The ship in the back is a Dark Eldar Raider. The big robot thing behind it is a Chaos Dreadnought. The infantry also appear to be Chaos Space Marines.


11

Yes, acrylic paint can be safely removed, and quite simply too. The basic process is to dunk your models in a solution of household cleaner, watered down if you like, and leave them in the bath for a few hours. The paint turns into a kind of slimy goo, which you can then scrub off with a toothbrush and toothpicks. In the US, Simple Green All-Purpose Cleaner ...


11

These are the supported base sizes in 40K Standard Infantry - 25mm round Large Infantry - 40mm round Monsters - 60mm round Flyer - 90x120mm oval Bike Bases - 25x70mm oval Clear flight stands small - 30mm round Clear flight stands large - 60mm round For Fantasy: Standard Infantry - 20mm square Large Infantry - 25mm square Monsters - 40mm square Cavalry - ...


9

You cannot escape this way From the Steve Jackson Games Forums, on a thread about running away, the Munchkin Line Editor wrote: If a monster doesn't allow you to Run Away at all, then there's no attempt that will automatically succeed or fail. (But some Items will allow you to try to escape even from monsters that don't normally allow a try; they will ...


8

You would need the core rule book and codex to start. Both the Dark Angels and Blood Angels codexes are separate books now. There are scenario cards and psychic cards for the current edition, but they are optional. The game currently uses the 3" and 5" templates along with the teardrop flamer. Those, a measuring device, a scatter die, and copious d6s is ...


8

It's not a hiccup, p48 of the main rulebook covers this. In short, it means that both combatants have their Initiative reduced to 1, which in turn means that they are striking simultaneously. And to clarify, Concussive reduces the opponents Initiative to 1 for the next assault phase. So if a Thunder Hammer + Storm Shield terminator were attacking a model ...


8

The Short answer is "yes, but throw in some other guys to make sure" The only restriction that Warhammer 40k has for building armies is that the chosen models need to share a Faction Keyword, though specific factions within that keyword need to be grouped together. As it turns out, since Blood Angels and Dark Angels share two Faction Keywords, Imperium and ...


7

Yes they can, see page 113 of the rule book. As well as with some others... History of Allies Previously in second edition there were rules in each codex for who could ally with who, specifically mentioning which armies you were allowed to team up with. From what I can tell you could just add any unit you wanted to your force. Come third edition, these ...


7

Any army can fight against any other army, even Space Marines of the same chapter. It depends on how much you care about the story of your battles as to how odd this may feel. If you are just playing games, it won't be an issue. If you want to run a coherent story or campaign then you'll need to justify why the two armies are fighting, and that may be ...


6

Unfortunately they are completely different rulesets. While they have a few similar mechanics(rolling to hit/wound or making characteristic tests), the structure of the games do not synch up. Turn structure is different. Ranged weapons, saves, movement, and combat are all different. Applying some fairly common rules in one system to the other can have ...


6

40K-wise, there are a few builds that you can do that are relatively cost effective. Any of the marine variants tend to get you a full army for the least cash. Xenos armies tend to have much cheaper point cost units that are still equivalent to Marine cost in cash money. Of the marines, Space Wolves and Grey Knights are probably the cheapest to build. ...


6

Six edition has had a big impact on fire warrior squads. While some of the points in the article user1873 links to in his answer are still valid there are other factors that should be considered. The short answer is you probably want to go either min or max on squad size. Other numbers are acceptable but situational(like if you got some extra points and ...


6

The rule-book itself is full color with expanded art and fluff sections. Though you won't find anything here that wasn't present in previous versions outside of some new artwork. Most of the price increase was because it's GW and that's just what they do. Any other gaming company would probably charge 10-20% less for the same thing. GW did just release ...


6

These are from the bygone days of Rouge Trader, when you could field Imperial Robots. GW's fluff and art direction where less mature at this point and you got lots of random stuff like this. Fluff wise the technology has been lost and/or declared heresy by the Imperium for millennium. But Forge World brought them back.


6

It is perfectly legal to use Necrons with Chaos Space maines so long as you obey all the necessary allies rules. In standard games of 40K your can field allies with your army using the Allies Matrix. When you do this your select one army to be your primary detachment and the other one as the allied detachment. Your primary detachment works as normal and ...


5

Necrons are a fairly solid codex right now. They don't have any glaring issues like some of the older codexes do. They come with very impressive shooting and decent resilience. I would say they are a top-tier army this edition, but they aren't all-powerful. They are not the greatest army in melee. They have units that can be good at melee(Overlords, ...


5

List tailoring is a bit of a Faux Pas in miniature gaming. You, shouldn't build a list specifically to beat a single opponent. Massing heavy bolters would be a step down on that path. Heavy bolters are also a fairly limited weapon, since they are nearly useless against most armor. A better weapon choice would be autocannons or asssault cannons. They ...


5

Quick rundown what I think would be some good options from a modelling perspective: Warhammer Fantasy: Skaven Battalion - Something like 70 models in the box. Fur and "raggedy cloth" are pretty easy to learn to paint to a nice standard, good for starting out on. Plus you get two Rat Ogres which are nice big mean-ugly models that are a lot of fun to model/...


5

Well, it depends. 40K by the rules is WYSIWYG(What you see is what you get). This means that if you give a guy an ax, he needs to be modeled with something vaguely ax shaped. If you give him a bolt pistol he needs to be holding something bolt pistol like(a holster at his hip works too) This holds true for the war scythe as well. There's some wiggle ...


5

I'd say the reasoning behind the allies matrix is 60% fluff, 10% balance, and 30% Matt Ward lolz. A lot of the matrix is what you would expect from reading the basic fluff. Guard working with the other imperial factions and with a few of the others to represent renegades. Tyranids can't ally with anyone because they would just eat them. Tau will work ...


5

I can't answer the specific question on drill bit types. I've don plenty of magnatizing, but haven't analyzed the tools I've used in that great of depth. I've used Dremel's precision drill bit set in my 7.2 Volt rotary tool. I've never had too big a problem with the convex bottom of the hole they create. If you match the drill bit size close enough to ...


5

When a model is armed with multiple separate ranged weapons, you only have to follow the restrictions of the ones you use. So if you choose to fire your Bolt Pistol instead of the Bolt Gun you are free to charge in the same turn. Pistols have no restriction against assaulting after using them. If you choose to fire the bolt gun at either its full or ...


5

Yes. He is an individual model. He does not come attached to the Death Company nor can he join it, because he is not an Independent Character (the 'normal' version is an Independent Character). This is how the rules are written and was confirmed in the Blood Angels FAQ published on the Games Workshop website, last updated February 2013: Q: Are the ...


5

In the Letter of the Law: Psychic Shriek asks you to evaluate the target unit's Leadership value. It does not say that it causes them to make a leadership test, so it can still apply to things that ignore/auto-pass leadership tests. Ork Mob Rule says you (meaning the Ork player) may always choose to substitute the number of Orks in the mob for their ...


5

Yes, you can make the head swap. There are 2 rules of thumb for converting Games Workshop models: Friendly games Here most things go. If you say 'this model counts as a Hive Crone' before you start playing, then nobody will object. Tournament games The rule is WYSIWIG (what you see is what you get). Nobody is going to complain that they can't see your ...


5

For cosmetic stuff like this, you should be ok. The ITC rules certainly don't make any distinction about things like that, as long as it is clear what the model represents. Other tournaments may have differing rules - for example the NOVA open tournament states that if your models are different from the standard, you cannot gain any unfair advantages (for ...


5

I recommend you check out the Modelling Section of the Advanced Tau Tactica forums. This will probably be more helpful for their great magnetization guides, but there are a TON of other guides linked there... if you stick with Tau it will be an invaluable resource. If you can find a copy of some of the older codexs they often have better pictures of what ...


5

Strictly speaking the barest minimum needed to play would be Index: Imperium 1 and Index: Chaos. If you already have the CSM Codex you can do w/out Index: Chaos. You do not actually need the Codex: SM for Blood Angels. They will eventually get their own codex, but in the meantime you could either use the Index or the Codex until the chapter specific book is ...


5

From what I've seen on forums and general consensus on the web, there doesn't seem to be any rulings against Movement trays in Warhammer 40K. The only issue it may cause is with certain units with blast radius weaponry. This would possibly deprecate you game if your models are locked in a tray. However, Termagants should be okay to place in trays as from ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible