15

There is nothing in the rules to prevent two armies from the same codex from fighting one another. I would just be sure that you can tell who each model belongs to; this is not too difficult once they are painted, but it could be easy to lose track of who is on which side if there are all just bare plastic. With the current fluff, Necrons Overlords have ...


11

TL;DR Yes they can, however the rules for alliances vary by edition As well as with some others... History of Allies Previously in second edition there were rules in each codex for who could ally with who, specifically mentioning which armies you were allowed to team up with. From what I can tell you could just add any unit you wanted to your force. Come ...


11

These are the supported base sizes in 40K Standard Infantry - 25mm round Large Infantry - 40mm round Monsters - 60mm round Flyer - 90x120mm oval Bike Bases - 25x70mm oval Clear flight stands small - 30mm round Clear flight stands large - 60mm round For Fantasy: Standard Infantry - 20mm square Large Infantry - 25mm square Monsters - 40mm square Cavalry - ...


10

You cannot escape this way From the Steve Jackson Games Forums, on a thread about running away, the Munchkin Line Editor wrote: If a monster doesn't allow you to Run Away at all, then there's no attempt that will automatically succeed or fail. (But some Items will allow you to try to escape even from monsters that don't normally allow a try; they will ...


8

You would need the core rule book and codex to start. Both the Dark Angels and Blood Angels codexes are separate books now. There are scenario cards and psychic cards for the current edition, but they are optional. The game currently uses the 3" and 5" templates along with the teardrop flamer. Those, a measuring device, a scatter die, and copious d6s is ...


8

The Short answer is "yes, but throw in some other guys to make sure" The only restriction that Warhammer 40k has for building armies is that the chosen models need to share a Faction Keyword, though specific factions within that keyword need to be grouped together. As it turns out, since Blood Angels and Dark Angels share two Faction Keywords, Imperium and ...


7

Any army can fight against any other army, even Space Marines of the same chapter. It depends on how much you care about the story of your battles as to how odd this may feel. If you are just playing games, it won't be an issue. If you want to run a coherent story or campaign then you'll need to justify why the two armies are fighting, and that may be ...


6

Six edition has had a big impact on fire warrior squads. While some of the points in the article user1873 links to in his answer are still valid there are other factors that should be considered. The short answer is you probably want to go either min or max on squad size. Other numbers are acceptable but situational(like if you got some extra points and ...


6

These are from the bygone days of Rouge Trader, when you could field Imperial Robots. GW's fluff and art direction where less mature at this point and you got lots of random stuff like this. Fluff wise the technology has been lost and/or declared heresy by the Imperium for millennium. But Forge World brought them back.


6

The rule-book itself is full color with expanded art and fluff sections. Though you won't find anything here that wasn't present in previous versions outside of some new artwork. Most of the price increase was because it's GW and that's just what they do. Any other gaming company would probably charge 10-20% less for the same thing. GW did just release ...


6

It is perfectly legal to use Necrons with Chaos Space maines so long as you obey all the necessary allies rules. In standard games of 40K your can field allies with your army using the Allies Matrix. When you do this your select one army to be your primary detachment and the other one as the allied detachment. Your primary detachment works as normal and ...


5

Yes. He is an individual model. He does not come attached to the Death Company nor can he join it, because he is not an Independent Character (the 'normal' version is an Independent Character). This is how the rules are written and was confirmed in the Blood Angels FAQ published on the Games Workshop website, last updated February 2013: Q: Are the Sanguinor,...


5

When a model is armed with multiple separate ranged weapons, you only have to follow the restrictions of the ones you use. So if you choose to fire your Bolt Pistol instead of the Bolt Gun you are free to charge in the same turn. Pistols have no restriction against assaulting after using them. If you choose to fire the bolt gun at either its full or ...


5

I can't answer the specific question on drill bit types. I've don plenty of magnatizing, but haven't analyzed the tools I've used in that great of depth. I've used Dremel's precision drill bit set in my 7.2 Volt rotary tool. I've never had too big a problem with the convex bottom of the hole they create. If you match the drill bit size close enough to ...


5

I'd say the reasoning behind the allies matrix is 60% fluff, 10% balance, and 30% Matt Ward lolz. A lot of the matrix is what you would expect from reading the basic fluff. Guard working with the other imperial factions and with a few of the others to represent renegades. Tyranids can't ally with anyone because they would just eat them. Tau will work ...


5

In the Letter of the Law: Psychic Shriek asks you to evaluate the target unit's Leadership value. It does not say that it causes them to make a leadership test, so it can still apply to things that ignore/auto-pass leadership tests. Ork Mob Rule says you (meaning the Ork player) may always choose to substitute the number of Orks in the mob for their ...


5

Strictly speaking the barest minimum needed to play would be Index: Imperium 1 and Index: Chaos. If you already have the CSM Codex you can do w/out Index: Chaos. You do not actually need the Codex: SM for Blood Angels. They will eventually get their own codex, but in the meantime you could either use the Index or the Codex until the chapter specific book is ...


5

Short answer Yes. Longer answer Yes, but thinking in terms of "races" isn't the determining factor (it effectively is, as far as I know, but it isn't the language used by the rules). In 8th edition 40k, there are three styles of play: Open, Narrative, and Matched. In Open and Narrative, you can just bring what you want and play. Though there are ...


5

The Most Important Rule Basic Rules, Page 6 Sidebar, Summarized: When you aren't sure of what's supposed to happen, talk with your opponent and apply the most sensible resolution that you can agree on. If you can't agree, roll-off, and apply the victor's resolution. The fact that this is labeled "The Most Important" implies that this trumps any other ...


4

The common consensus is that the Battlesuit number is XV (indicating Battlesuit), followed by two digits, constructed based on size/mass (1-9, light to heavy) and function (1=long-range?, 2=experimental, 4=high-precision(?), 5=stealth, 6=space-faring(?), 8=heavy support), although the functional categories are less clear. Lexicanum references Codex:Tau ...


4

There's no hard and fast rule for it. I would suggest using a base size most appropriate for the size of the model. So if the model is Terminator sized, use a 40mm, if Dreadnought sized, use a 60mm. So convert your model and use what makes sense. This requires a bit of good judgement and common sense. If you made a reasonable selection most people ...


4

It's a grey area, but it's preferred that models be played with the bases provided with them with some exceptions for scenic bases. Generally as long as you haven't modeled for a clear advantage(such as using a base that's 9" tall) most players will be OK with it. To be on the safe side, you should have a standard based guy to swap in for the scenic base ...


4

That video is rules lawyering at its best(as in worst). You can't shoot Death Marks in your opponent's turn. Something that against the normal mechanics would be spelled out explicitly. Yes, units may fire the turn they come in from reserve as normal, but it's still the other players turn. Normally a player can only fire their own units on their own turn....


4

Yes you can. Wolves and Dark Angels are qualified as "Allies of Convenience" under the 6th edition allies rules. This allows you to field 1 HQ, 0-1 Elites. 1-2 Troops, 0-1 Fast Attack, and 0-1 Heavy Support options from the Dark Angels codex with your Space Wolves detachment. In game-play rules they are treated as enemy models that cannot be directly ...


4

You have an army construction chart you have to agree on with your opponent. If you want to mix armies, you would have to play high points and agree on the scenario with your opponent - see the rules for allies in the 6ed rulebook. They would allow you to field 1 HQ, 0-1 Elites. 1-2 Troops, 0-1 Fast Attack, and 0-1 Heavy Support options from the Dark Angels ...


4

Alright, I have done some more research, asked around and I have come to the following conclusion regarding the Power Weapons on the sprues of the regular Space Marines. Some are entire arms, others are just hands. Likewise some weapons have one bladed edge, the others two. Tactical Marines Squad 1 left-handed double-bladed Power Sword, hand. Assault ...


4

The Army List entry would be referring to the "Tau Empire Wargear List" on pg 95. This lists 5 sections: Ranged Weapons, Signature Systems, Drones, Support Systems and Vehicle battle Systems. So they could take up to 3 items from the Ranged Weapons and/or Support Systems lists on this page.


4

As @Skeith mentioned, Games Workshop LLC is very vicious when it comes to protecting their Intellectual Property license, so it will be very hard to find anything designed for this on purpose. That being said, Steam recently released a game called Tabletop Simulator, which, with a lot of work, could probably be used as a tool for this (right up until GW ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible