Vilmar
  • Member for 6 years, 9 months
  • Last seen more than a month ago
  • Minsk, Belarus
1 answers
6 votes
36k views
Do blocking creatures heal back to full between phases?
20 votes

It will be destroyed. All damage done to the creature in most cases stays until the very end of the turn (cleanup step). 119.6. Damage marked on a creature remains until the cleanup step, even if ...

View answer
4 answers
5 votes
4k views
What is the difference between Owning and Controlling an object on the Battlefield?
Accepted answer
15 votes

You won't ever become a creature's owner in a game if you already weren't. 108.3. The owner of a card in the game is the player who started the game with it in his or her deck. If a card is brought ...

View answer
3 answers
8 votes
761 views
Returning card to hand off Emeria Shephard from Plains trigger
13 votes

Yes, you can. When Emeria Shepherd triggers from Plains entering the battlefield, you target a nonland permanent in you graveyard to return it to your hand. Since it is a Plains, you may choose to ...

View answer
4 answers
27 votes
5k views
Can I win with a "you lose" effect on the stack?
12 votes

A tricky one, and I fear I might be mistaken, but I suppose the answer still lies in 603.8 rule in the linked question (emphasis mine): 603.8. Some triggered abilities trigger when a game state (...

View answer
2 answers
5 votes
436 views
Life gain against fatal spell damage
Accepted answer
11 votes

You would have 1 life remaining. Action order: Opponent casts Beacon of Destruction, it goes on stack. Sunscorch Regent triggers, it goes on stack. If both players pass, the stack starts resolving ...

View answer
2 answers
7 votes
849 views
Is it possible to move auras with the equip ability?
Accepted answer
10 votes

An easy way to get an answer will be to look at Bludgeon Brawl's Gatherer tips: While Bludgeon Brawl is on the battlefield, an Aura enchantment that somehow becomes an artifact in addition to its ...

View answer
2 answers
8 votes
2k views
If I activate Shambling Vent's ability after it has been 'awakened', what happens at the end of the turn?
Accepted answer
10 votes

Both Awaken and Vent's ability generate a continuous effect that applies changes in layers 4 and 7b – type and power/toughness accordingly (also some other layers which do not intersect). 611.1. A ...

View answer
1 answers
3 votes
698 views
What happens if neither player decides to do anything?
10 votes

The most likely outcome is that one player loses when he has no more cards to draw: 104.3c If a player is required to draw more cards than are left in his or her library, he or she draws the ...

View answer
1 answers
8 votes
860 views
The Comeuppance of Commeuppance
Accepted answer
10 votes

Since Purphoros doesn't have enough devotion to make him a creature there is indeed a loop, but it's not a loss for any player, but a draw: 104.4b If a game that’s not using the limited range of ...

View answer
1 answers
7 votes
2k views
Does Hellkite Tyrant in combination with Mycosynth Lattice steal lands?
Accepted answer
8 votes

Yes, as you stated correctly, lands are permanents: 110.1. A permanent is a card or token on the battlefield. ... 110.4. There are five permanent types: artifact, creature, enchantment, land, and ...

View answer
3 answers
2 votes
1k views
Does Aligned Hedron Network exile creatures that enter after it does?
Accepted answer
8 votes

Network's ability is a triggered one, which triggers, as stated, when Network enters the battlefield. All creatures with power 5 or greater will be exiled when this ability resolves (unless something ...

View answer
1 answers
5 votes
2k views
Will an ability on the stack resolve if its source is removed?
Accepted answer
8 votes

Your Hawk will die. Once a triggered ability has triggered, it is independent from its source: 112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. ...

View answer
1 answers
3 votes
377 views
If Ink-Eyes brings a creature back and then her owner loses in a multiplayer game, does the rezzed creature go to graveyard?
Accepted answer
7 votes

It will be exiled. The card would go back under your control if there was a temporary effect granting your opponent the control of your creature, e.g. Mind Control or Act of Treason. This is not the ...

View answer
2 answers
5 votes
529 views
Interaction of Pyxis of Pandemonium with Altar of the Brood
Accepted answer
7 votes

If Altar of the Brood enters the battlefield at the same time as other permanents, it would trigger for each of those permanents. 603.6a Enters-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent ...

View answer
2 answers
2 votes
812 views
Brutal Hordechief & Bloodthrone Vampire
7 votes

Assuming you have Bloodthrone Vampire and 10 other creatures: You have successfully activated Brutal Hordechief's ability. During the declare attackers step you declare 11 attackers. Brutal ...

View answer
2 answers
4 votes
3k views
Awaken targeting rules
Accepted answer
6 votes

You've mostly answered the question yourself, including the ruling quotations. Yes, paying Awaken cost will add a new target (a land), so if you make a first target illegal, it won't counter the spell ...

View answer
1 answers
-1 votes
1k views
If I copy a mythic rare, will both survive?
6 votes

The copy will have all Keranos's copiable values, so it will be a Legendary Enchantment Creature — God: Keranos, God of Storms. Due to the legend rule, you will have to choose which one stays on the ...

View answer
2 answers
2 votes
6k views
Do enchantments played by my opponent on creatures I control count towards my devotion?
6 votes

Let's have a look at what devotion is: Devotion A numerical value a player has, equal to the number of mana symbols of a certain color among the mana costs of permanents that player controls. The ...

View answer
3 answers
2 votes
1k views
Can Mizzium Meddler steal the effect of a Renown ability?
5 votes

No, you cannot. Renown is a triggered ability: 702.111a Renown is a triggered ability. “Renown N” means “When this creature deals combat damage to a player, if it isn’t renowned, put N +1/+1 ...

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
541 views
Can a blocking creature fight? How is damage dealt if it dies?
4 votes

If you cast such an instant after declaring blockers, the following will happen: Your creature A will fight creature C and they will both die. Creature B will still be blocked, and thus will not deal ...

View answer
4 answers
7 votes
19k views
Do morph cards suffer summoning sickness
4 votes

Let's recollect the summoning sickness rule: 302.6. A creature’s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can’t be activated unless the creature has been ...

View answer
1 answers
3 votes
3k views
Is 'Enchantment Creature' a creature type?
Accepted answer
3 votes

According to the rules, possible card types are: 300.1. The card types are artifact, conspiracy, creature, enchantment, instant, land, phenomenon, plane, planeswalker, scheme, sorcery, tribal, and ...

View answer
3 answers
5 votes
10k views
Is it worth it to buy booster boxes or singles to collect 4 regular and 4 foil Cards
3 votes

In general, if you plan on buying singles or building a deck, it is almost entirely worth it to buy singles than buying booster boxes. Buying boxes is great if you just like to tear open the boosters ...

View answer
3 answers
6 votes
562 views
Regal force and cyclonic rift
2 votes

If the opponent responds to you casting Regal Force, the following would happen: Regal Force is cast and goes on stack Cyclonic Rift is cast and goes on stack Cyclonic Rift resolves, two green ...

View answer
2 answers
10 votes
6k views
Damage distribution with Banding and Trample
2 votes

I haven't really played with banding, but here are my thoughts: If you attack as a band, each creature in a band becomes blocked: 702.21h If an attacking creature becomes blocked by a creature, ...

View answer
3 answers
5 votes
1k views
Is an old edition of Cinder Wall able to attack?
2 votes

No, it doesn't really matter what is printed on the card, since according to the rules: 108.1. Use the Oracle™ card reference when determining a card’s wording. A card’s Oracle text can be found ...

View answer
2 answers
3 votes
916 views
Dropping from a sanctioned event mid-draft
2 votes

Most of the time - yes, you keep what you drafted (any unopened boosters included). However, some stores may have a different approach to distribution of rares and such - they might be distributed ...

View answer
2 answers
4 votes
6k views
Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
1 votes

Of course, if it is your turn, Humble Defector’s ability can be activated any time, including in response to a spell or ability. Dromoka Dunecaster's ability is put on stack, you have the opportunity ...

View answer
4 answers
1 votes
4k views
Does cloning a card include color?
1 votes

I assume that by "pro-black" you mean having protection from black? If so, since clone is a copy of a black creature, it has all its copiable values, including color. Your copy will thus deal no ...

View answer
3 answers
7 votes
1k views
If I exile Rout with Narset's ability, when can it be cast?
1 votes

According to Comprehensive Rules 117.8: A cost is an additional cost only if it’s phrased using the word “additional.” Therefore, Rout's extra cost of {2} is not additional. Further in 117.8e: ...

View answer