JSBձոգչ
  • Member for 11 years, 3 months
  • Last seen more than a month ago
Why was the banding ability 'removed' from MTG? What was so complicated about it?
Accepted answer
39 votes

Take it from the horse's mouth: The short explanation of banding is that if your creatures attack or block in a band, the controller of any creatures that deal combat damage to them doesn’t get to ...

View answer
Where can I sell my Magic: The Gathering cards?
20 votes

To get the most money for your cards, I recommend that you do the following: Separate out any valuable rares -- anything worth more than a few dollars -- and sell them individually. Sell the rest of ...

View answer
How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities?
Accepted answer
19 votes

There are certain actions that you undertake in Magic which do not use the stack, and therefore cannot be responded to. (AFAIK this has never been different for as long as the stack has existed, so ...

View answer
Hexproof on an opponent's creature
17 votes

That depends on how the enchantment is worded. If the enchantment actually says "Enchanted creature has hexproof", then the enchanted creature will be untargetable by you after the enchantment ...

View answer
Does a sacrificed creature count as a creature that died?
17 votes

Yes. Assuming the sacrificed creature is a Zombie, Diregraf Captain's ability will cause target opponent to lose 1 life. This is because "dies" simply means "goes to the graveyard from the battlefield"...

View answer
Does an ability resolve if the source of the ability leaves the battlefield?
13 votes

The ability still resolves. Once the costs of the ability are paid and targets are chosen, the ability goes on the stack. Once the ability is on the stack, the source of the ability can be destroyed, ...

View answer
How to prevent being overrun in the early game?
11 votes

If she's in blue/green, then she has several options: On the blue side, lean on counterspells and bounce. 4x Mana Leak will probably go into any blue deck. It's cheap (only 1U), and in the early game ...

View answer
Nivmagus and cipher card rulings
10 votes

You cannot have Nivmagus "eat" the spell and still cipher it on Nivmagus. Ciphering is part of the spell's effect, and if the spell is countered or exiled before resolution, then none of its effects ...

View answer
Does a creature with Lifelink provide lifegain equal to its power, or the defender's toughness?
9 votes

Yes, you have. When a creature with lifelink does damage, you gain life equal to that creature's power, since that is how much damage it deals (outside of a few corner cases). In the case of a 3/3 ...

View answer
What are the possible archetypes in Innistrad draft?
Accepted answer
9 votes

In my Innistrad drafts so far, I've noticed the following as dominating archetypes: Red-black vampires. This is a classic red aggro strategy, since there lots of small, fast vamps that get big to put ...

View answer
What games are suitable for a large number of people with only a pack of playing cards?
9 votes

The best large-group card game that I know of is Up and Down the River, which Wikipedia knows as Oh, Hell. I find the rules given by Wikipedia to be confusing, though, and found a better set here at ...

View answer
What counts as an ability for the purposes of Muraganda Petroglyphs?
Accepted answer
7 votes

Gatherer has the following ruling: Animated basic lands have mana abilities, so they won't get the bonus. So your assumption is correct: any land that has become a creature does not get the bonus ...

View answer
What happens if you sacrifice a creature brought back with Postmortem Lunge?
6 votes

This card has the following Oracle ruling: If the creature is no longer on the battlefield at the beginning of the next end step, it won't be exiled. This is an instance of general principle: when ...

View answer
Am I forced to choose targets for "may" abilities?
5 votes

Yes, your opponent has to choose a target for the Necropede's ability. The controller of a "may" ability chooses whether or not to use the ability at the time that the ability resolves. However, the ...

View answer
House rules to fix LotR Risk endgame
5 votes

The variant that we've experimented with is to give no victory points for territories owned, only for adventure cards, regions, and strongholds. Most of the point swing comes from the masses of ...

View answer
Can a creature with summoning sickness be targeted?
4 votes

You are right. The only thing that summoning sickness prevents is using the creature's own tap ability or attacking. You are allowed to target a just-summoned creature with spells and abilities. You'...

View answer
Does deathtouch kill Phantom creatures?
1 votes

A phantom creature dealt damage by a deathtouch creature is not destroyed. That's because the "phantom" ability reads: If damage would be dealt to this creature, prevent that damage. Remove a +1/+1 ...

View answer
What strong draft decks exist for Innistrad-Innistrad-Dark Ascension draft?
1 votes

A previous question covered the major archetypes for Innistrad draft. Most of the information there is still relevant, as Dark Ascension hasn't dramatically altered the draft landscape for most of the ...

View answer