Johno
  • Member for 10 years, 4 months
  • Last seen more than a month ago
1 answers
7 votes
1k views
Why is "All that remains" banned from Android: Netrunner World Championships?
Accepted answer
12 votes

There is nothing banned in All That Remains. This exception was added in the update to the Tournament Rules for the World Championship to clarify that because it was being released so close to the ...

View answer
1 answers
6 votes
655 views
Mafia-type game which a secret message is communicated
5 votes

Not a perfect fit, but it sounds a bit like Speakeasy, a party game in which you use a secret password to identify your teammates and try to deduce as much as you can about the other side, including ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
914 views
What are some of the different interactions with empty remote servers in Android: Netrunner?
Accepted answer
4 votes

A remote server requires at least one piece of ICE protecting it or at least one card installed in the server itself (i.e. agenda/asset/upgrade) to exist. The three central servers always exist. "...

View answer
2 answers
11 votes
1k views
What are some common tactics to make runs against servers with unrezzed ICE in Netrunner?
Accepted answer
14 votes

Obviously it depends on the game-state, but here are some tips: Be aware of how much money the Corp has. The less they have, the less dangerous the ICE they can afford to rez. (Also, don't forget ...

View answer
2 answers
2 votes
704 views
How do "Run" Events interact with effects that change the server you're running on?
Accepted answer
2 votes

As CrystalBlue commented, the latest copy of the FAQ (PDF) addresses this (page 2): “If successful...” Whenever there is an “If successful...” effect tied to the outcome of a run, the run ...

View answer
4 answers
10 votes
8k views
Game for a blind person
3 votes

As well as games that can be played just through talk, it's good to consider games that would be fun to play blind. Primarily tactile games with open information would hopefully fit the bill, ...

View answer
3 answers
7 votes
836 views
Tactics to fight or deter Diplomatic races in 2 player games
1 votes

It's a tough one. I'd say that it's pretty hard to be completely surrounded, so focussing on avoiding that is a good first step. If you see the diplomatic option come out, you could consider spreading ...

View answer
2 answers
5 votes
606 views
Hokusai and Bernice Mai timing
Accepted answer
4 votes

The timing structure for accessing the server is: 4 The Runner APPROACHES the attacked server. 4.1 [Paid abilities] 4.2 The Runner decides whether to continue the run. ......

View answer
5 answers
3 votes
438 views
Periodical chess problems by RSS
1 votes

No knowledge of the area whatsoever, but a bit of quick googling turned up this page, which appears to have an RSS feed. Maybe that's the kind of thing you're looking for?

View answer
1 answers
3 votes
850 views
Does "any" mean "all" or "one" for cards like Cheetah?
Accepted answer
4 votes

According to this BGG thread (which cites a play-tester), it means you can take any one card. At the end of the thread, game designer Matt Hyra (one of the co-designers for the game) corroborated this ...

View answer
2 answers
5 votes
563 views
How to design the end of a race game such that over-rolls do not break the logic of the game?
10 votes

You could consider having the "track" continue past the finish and mark the end as a line rather than a space. It should be clear then that a player has crossed the finish line, even if they've rolled ...

View answer
4 answers
6 votes
2k views
How can I arrange a Christmas gift exchange for board game geeks?
1 votes

If there are lots of small presents, you could play a Coloretto-style game with them. Players take it in turns to reveal (or unwrap?) a small present. They add them to one of N heaps (where N is the ...

View answer
1 answers
7 votes
3k views
What can a Runner do to trash ICE that is in play?
Accepted answer
8 votes

I believe the only three current cards that can trash ICE after it's installed are: Parasite - program that reduces the strength of a rezzed ICE until it hits zero, at which point the ICE is trashed. ...

View answer
2 answers
8 votes
1k views
In Pathfinder ACG, what happens if I must encounter the Villain because of another effect?
Accepted answer
5 votes

I wasn't able to find an official answer, but here's an answer on behalf of the BGG community answers here: It seems that my latter intuition was probably correct. When you reveal the next card, all ...

View answer
1 answers
8 votes
797 views
Do I need to buy data packs to be competitive?
Accepted answer
6 votes

In theory, all Android: Netrunner cards are fairly well balanced, and the core set provides a good broad base for building decks, but in practice I think buying data packs is necessary to remain ...

View answer
1 answers
5 votes
194 views
Does the Visionary's Mass Levitation power apply to Scum and Villany?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Mass Levitation does not apply in this case, for exactly the reason you expect. The key word here is "deals": Mass Levitation prevents damage dealt by the environment. The environment card doesn't ...

View answer
1 answers
2 votes
165 views
What happens if the last Shadow and Hunter die at the same time?
Accepted answer
2 votes

By a strict reading of the rules, the only requirement is that all of the opposing faction are dead, regardless of whether you or anyone else in your faction survived. Therefore, unless there is an ...

View answer
1 answers
9 votes
510 views
Can Spoils be trashed by Counterfeit?
Accepted answer
18 votes

Spoils is played twice, but is returned to the Spoils pile and not trashed. Spoils is a treasure providing three coins that reads: When you play this, return it to the Spoils pile. Counterfeit ...

View answer
1 answers
5 votes
965 views
What does it mean when the Animator "counts as" the Finger of God?
6 votes

It can count as the Finger of God for the purposes of Goals AND for having the ability. That means: I actually thought the answer was no, but in hunting for a source, I was corrected! So, yes, the ...

View answer
7 answers
8 votes
2k views
Keeping track of many independent variables on a physical board?
6 votes

It's not uncommon to use dice to track values, turning them to the appropriate side. For instance, in Shadows over Camelot, knights use D6s to track their health in this way and for no other reason (...

View answer
1 answers
4 votes
4k views
Can you leave Tokyo voluntarily?
Accepted answer
12 votes

No, you can only leave Tokyo as the immediate result of taking damage (from an attack) while in Tokyo. The rules (PDF) state (under "Becoming King of Tokyo"): If you are attacked while in Tokyo ...

View answer
3 answers
16 votes
5k views
How can I set up a game of the Resistance without anyone needing to close their eyes?
Accepted answer
9 votes

This solution would work, though it may take a minute to perform. For p players, with t traitors and n "normals", you need: t "You are a traitor" cards and n "You are a ...

View answer
2 answers
4 votes
806 views
When can I discard the Death Creeper Card?
Accepted answer
2 votes

I disagree with the other answer. The card text says: If you have this at the start of your turn, discard something else you have in play (a Keeper or a Creeper). You may discard this anytime it ...

View answer
1 answers
4 votes
863 views
Can Aesop's Pawnshop Remove Wyldside before the start-of-turn resolves?
Accepted answer
8 votes

You choose the order they resolve. If Wyldside resolves first: Draw two cards, lose a click Sell Wyldside with Aesop's: trash it and gain three credits Or, if Aesop's resolve first: Sell Wyldside ...

View answer
5 answers
11 votes
8k views
I died, what can I do until the world ends?
12 votes

Following the haunt, the game tends to become semi-cooperative, with one antagonist. In those cases, while you're not controlling a character, you could certainly offer advice and contribute to group-...

View answer
1 answers
5 votes
584 views
Does Cell Portal restart the run?
Accepted answer
3 votes

When the subroutine on Cell Portal fires, the Runner must encounter all ice (again), starting from the outermost. Just be careful with terminology; the run doesn't "restart" (i.e. no "start of run" ...

View answer
1 answers
11 votes
3k views
Parasite + Wyrm combo - is it an insta-killer?
Accepted answer
12 votes

Yes, this combo works. Parasite will trash any ice as soon as it has zero (or lower) strength, regardless of how that strength was lowered (i.e. it doesn't only trigger from Parasite's counters). ...

View answer
3 answers
9 votes
2k views
Can abilities with a [Click] cost be used during a run?
Accepted answer
15 votes

No. If an ability has a [Click] as part of its cost, it can only be used as a main action in the controlling player's turn. It cannot be used on the other player's turn or during a run. From the ...

View answer
2 answers
5 votes
3k views
House Rules for divine intervention
Accepted answer
4 votes

There are a couple of approaches that I can think of if it happens: Don't worry about it - Shuffle up and play again. Random victories are part of the Munchkin experience. Or, if you'd rather play a ...

View answer
1 answers
14 votes
22k views
Can the Runner/Corporation trash their own installed cards?
Accepted answer
20 votes

Unless a card states otherwise, players may only trash cards in the following circumstances: In the rulebook (PDF) page 13: When installing a card in a server, the Corporation can first trash any ...

View answer