jwodder
  • Member for 10 years, 3 months
  • Last seen this week
How does Perplexing Chimera work with multiple triggers on the stack?
Accepted answer
15 votes

Quoting directly from the Born of the Gods Release Notes: In some unusual cases, you may not control Perplexing Chimera when its triggered ability resolves (perhaps because the triggered ability ...

View answer
Must a "target creature" be on the battlefield?
14 votes

Yes, it does. The rules say: 109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” ...

View answer
Combo question: urborg tomb of yawgmoth, torpor orb, kormus bell, dark depths = free Marit Lage?
Accepted answer
13 votes

It won't work. Dark Depths' "Dark Depths enters the battlefield with ten ice counters on it." ability is not a triggered ability; you can tell because it doesn't use the words "when," "whenever," or "...

View answer
Has Magic always had tapped/untapped tokens?
Accepted answer
12 votes

Tokens could always be tapped & untapped. They're (usually) supposed to be creatures, after all, and creatures tap & untap. Exhibit A: The very first token-generating card, The Hive, from ...

View answer
Can you dredge twice for one card draw?
Accepted answer
11 votes

No, you cannot. 614.6. If an event is replaced, it never happens. A modified event occurs instead, which may in turn trigger abilities. Note that the modified event may contain instructions that can’...

View answer
Can I tap a card after I assign it to block?
10 votes

During the combat phase, after I assign a blocker, can I then tap that blocker for its activated ability? Yes. Blockers only need to be untapped when they're actually declared as blockers; after ...

View answer
Can you attack any creature of your opponents with flying if he can't block it
9 votes

No, because you don't attack creatures in Magic; you attack players (or planeswalkers), and then the player being attacked can choose to block (or not block) your attacking creatures with their ...

View answer
When do transformed creatures go back to their original forms?
Accepted answer
8 votes

Double-faced cards only transform when they (or another effect like Moonmist) explicitly say they transform. For example, Ulvenwald Mystics says on its front side: At the beginning of each upkeep, ...

View answer
Do deathtouch and deathtouch-like effects stop trample damage?
8 votes

Combat damage is dealt all at once, and so a creature destroyed by or in response to combat damage will still deal all of its damage, including any trample damage. 510.2. Second, all combat damage ...

View answer
Can a single Myr Servitor save itself when sacrificed to Eldrazi Monument?
Accepted answer
8 votes

No. Myr Servitor's ability has an intervening "if" clause ("if Myr Servitor is on the battlefield"), and whether this clause is true is checked both when the ability triggers and when it tries to ...

View answer
questions about shapesharer
Accepted answer
8 votes

No. Coat of Arms says "Each creature gets +1/+1 for each other creature on the battlefield that shares at least one creature type with it" — it counts the number of matching creatures, not matching ...

View answer
Does a Life Gain deck have any hope against a Stigma Lasher?
8 votes

Stigma Lasher's effect cannot be removed while the game is still going on — so, obviously, the only way around it is to abandon the current game and replace it with a new one by using Karn Liberated's ...

View answer
Help with the rules of checkmate
7 votes

No, you may not ever move your king into a position in which it is threatened ("in check"). If you did, your opponent could just immediately capture your king, and you would lose. Reference from the ...

View answer
Will Karlov get multiple +1/+1 counters with Soul Warden when multiple tokens are created simultaneously?
7 votes

Soul Warden's ability reads: Whenever another creature enters the battlefield, you gain 1 life. When Lingering Souls resolves, there are two separate instances of "another creature" entering the ...

View answer
Gaining control of a creature while an Aura targeting it is on the stack
7 votes

Casting Hypnotic Siren on Boonweaver Giant will not give you control of Spectra Ward. However, this doesn't matter, as Spectra Ward will continue to give its bonus to Boonweaver Giant anyway, and (...

View answer
Black creatures that cause loss of life when they enter the battlefield?
Accepted answer
7 votes

Technically, there appear to be only three black creatures that deal damage when they enter the battlefield, and for color pie reasons they're all black/red: Anathemancer, Hellhole Rats, and Murderous ...

View answer
Unearth and Return-to-Hand costs
Accepted answer
6 votes

It appears that you can activate Grinning Ignus's ability: 117.11. The actions performed when paying a cost may be modified by effects. Even if they are, meaning the actions that are performed don’t ...

View answer
Voracious Wurm and Wall of Reverence: which trigger happens first?
6 votes

No. Replacement effects do not use the stack; as rule 614.1 (which you quoted) says, "[R]eplacement effects apply continuously as events happen" — i.e., they happen immediately, at the same time as ...

View answer
Why is Wizards breaking the color pie (at least in Legacy)?
6 votes

Simple: "really bad creatures" isn't part of Blue's slice of the color pie. It's not part of any slice. Thus, making good creatures doesn't violate the color pie, especially not when those creatures'...

View answer
"At the beginning of the end step" versus "Until end of turn"
5 votes

Yes. "At the beginning of the end step" abilities trigger at, well, the beginning of the end step, while "until end of turn effects" expire at the beginning of the cleanup step, which is after the ...

View answer
Did Balance change when its wording was changed?
Accepted answer
5 votes

Yes, "discard" was once used to describe removal of permanents from the battlefield like "sacrifice" does now. Consider the original text on City in a Bottle and Golgothian Sylex, which have you "...

View answer
In multiplayer, does Dictate of Erebos still take effect if the combat that kills its owner's creature defeats the owner?
5 votes

The player loses as soon as state-based actions are checked after dealing combat damage (essentially, "immediately" after damage is dealt) and leaves the game at the same time. By rule 116....

View answer
Can Jelava cast a creature if it has Flash?
5 votes

No, you cannot. Being able to be cast when an instant could be cast does not make something an instant. The closest the rules actually come to addressing this point appears to be (emphasis added): ...

View answer
How many illusions will Lightning Bolt and Wild Ricochet get rid of?
Accepted answer
5 votes

Yes, all three bears are sacrificed, as they were all at some point the target of a spell or ability. Because the stack is "last in, first out," spells & abilities resolve in the opposite order ...

View answer
Shouldn't Mana be a Copied Attribute?
4 votes

Assuming your confusion stems from this passage: If an effect of the copy refers to objects used to pay its costs, it uses the objects used to pay the costs of the original spell or ability. This ...

View answer
How does Fuse work?
4 votes

When you cast a spell with fuse, you have three options: Cast the left half for its cost Cast the right half for its cost Cast both halves for both costs Choosing any one of these options causes the ...

View answer
How does Shadowborn Demon work?
4 votes

1) You can still play the card if there are no non-Demons. In that case, the enters-the-battlefield ability simply won't do anything. 2) Yes, you have to sacrifice it.

View answer
Fiend Binder's triggered ability
Accepted answer
3 votes

Quoth the rules: 506.2. During the combat phase, the active player is the attacking player; creatures that player controls may attack. During the combat phase of a two-player game, the nonactive ...

View answer
Do pre constructed decks refresh standard rotation?
2 votes

Theros (Theros, Born of the Gods, and Journey into Nyx) is the previous block; the current block is Khans of Tarkir block (Khans of Tarkir, Fate Reforged, and the as-yet-unreleased Dragons of Tarkir). ...

View answer
Mimic Vat and Exiling
Accepted answer
2 votes

Yes. The relevant part of Mimic Vat's text reads: Put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of the exiled card. It gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step. The text ...

View answer