monoRed
  • Member for 5 years, 3 months
  • Last seen more than a month ago
Can I make a card that places a +1/+1 counter on an enchantment that isn't a creature?
Accepted answer
18 votes

There is nothing in the rules that disallows counters from being on particular permanents. This means that +1/+1 or -1/-1 counters (or as in your title, 0/-1 counters) can be on artifacts, lands, ...

View answer
Can a Bristling Hydra activate Hexproof when an instant is cast?
Accepted answer
15 votes

Bristling Hydra is a bit tricky, because it has a triggered ability for when it enters the battlefield, that gives you energy. Making it hexproof also costs energy. If you had no energy before ...

View answer
What's the difference between "exile" and "destroy"?
Accepted answer
14 votes

Exile and the Graveyard are two different zones in magic. "Destroy" puts a card into the graveyard, and "Exile" puts it in the exile zone. Why does the distinction matter? Well... Some cards can ...

View answer
What would happen if you made Spellskite Hexproof?
Accepted answer
14 votes

You can fizzle a spell, but only once. Here are the two sequences possible: 1. Give Spellskite Hexproof, and then change target to it Spellskite's ability resolves, and attempts to change the target....

View answer
What is the difference between an "Effect" and an "Ability", and how do you identify one from the other?
Accepted answer
13 votes

BJ Myers' CR quote answers your question pretty well. An Ability is rules text on a card. With only a few exceptions, abilities all create effects. An Effect is either the result of a spell or ...

View answer
Is Metallic Mimic the chosen creature type when it enters the battlefield?
Accepted answer
13 votes

Yes Metallic Mimic As Metallic Mimic enters the battlefield, choose a creature type. Metallic Mimic is the chosen type in addition to its other types. When you are asked to do something "As X ...

View answer
Can a creature with megamorph block then morph?
Accepted answer
12 votes

Yes you can. Morph/megamorph can be used any time you have priority. After declaring blockers but before combat damage is assigned and dealt, there will be a priority pass where you can megamorph your ...

View answer
Can I untap Nettle Drone in the untap step?
10 votes

You are correct. All permanents will always untap during the untap step UNLESS a continuous effect stops them from untapping. This continuous effect could come from its own static ability (e.g. ...

View answer
Picking colors for an abstract game (game design)
9 votes

If it's only for two players, you're in luck. Chess and Go are both over a thousand years old, and both use the classic combination of Black and White. If you insist on having a colour, though, you ...

View answer
How are vehicles costed, and how do I tell if the crew cost is worth it?
Accepted answer
9 votes

Evaluating the vehicles like they're creatures is a mistake. As @JonTheMon says, vehicles are very analogous to equipment; they're worthless without creatures (or one of the other, fringe-ier enablers)...

View answer
Does Copperhorn Scout untap land creatures?
9 votes

They are creatures, therefore they untap. If the ability doesn't specify that it applies only to nonland creatures, then it applies to all creatures, regardless of other types they might have.

View answer
Meaning of "it's still a land"
Accepted answer
7 votes

When a land becomes a creature (or any other permanent type) but is still a land, it retains all subtypes associated with being a land it may have had previously, such as "Mountain" or "Plains". If ...

View answer
Does Baral, Chief of Compliance reduce alternative costs?
5 votes

Yes As long as the cost involves mana, Baral will get the job done. 117.9d. If an alternative cost is being paid to cast a spell, any additional costs, cost increases, and cost reductions that ...

View answer
Can I exile a token copy of Greenwarden of Murasa for its second ability?
5 votes

You cannot exile the token for the ability This is what happens: Your Greenwarden of Murasa (token) is put in the graveyard, triggering its ability. The ability is put on the stack and you choose a ...

View answer
Has there ever before been card text that had no effect with cards from the same block?
5 votes

Eye of Ugin technically existed in the same block as Eldrazi, but the next set, Rise of the Eldrazi, was drafted separately from Zendikar and Worldwake, meaning that in these limited formats its first ...

View answer
What are the uses of holding priority?
5 votes

The only time I've ever had to do this is playing around Extirpate. In the particular scenario that came up, my opponent had just milled a large portion of my deck, including a lightning bolt (me ...

View answer
What happens when I blink a Manic Scribe multiple times?
5 votes

What you are describing is possible, but I will go over various interpretations of what you described. We will assume that you already have a Manic Scribe on the battlefield. The most likely way you ...

View answer
Is there a term for defensive effects that only/primarily function for attacking creatures?
Accepted answer
4 votes

There isn't really an overarching term for these effects (official or unofficial, that I've heard anyway), as they're so broad. For many of them, it's simply abilities that trigger off of attacking ...

View answer
Can I use Datasucker without icebreakers?
Accepted answer
4 votes

There's no restriction on using the ability aside from what's printed; you must be encountering a rezzed piece of ice. Datasucker is not an icebreaker, so the strength of the ice doesn't affect the ...

View answer
Help identify: multi-player but single character role playing game
4 votes

Perhaps you're thinking of Everyone is John? The main concept is that every player but one plays a voice in "John's" head. All of these voices are trying to get John to do something that they like. ...

View answer
Pump spell sequence in MTG
4 votes

You will hit for 20. I think you have a fundamental misunderstanding of double strike. Double strike doesn't affect the actual power/toughness of the creature. It doesn't double the creature's power, ...

View answer
What does Leovold, Emissary of Trest & Teferi's Puzzle Box do to opponent's hands?
3 votes

The draw happens at the beginning of your draw step, then the ability of Teferi's Puzzle Box is put on the stack. Therefore, Player 2 will draw a card, then put all his/her cards on the bottom of ...

View answer
Magic The Gathering: Where To Begin
Accepted answer
3 votes

Hi and welcome to MTG! So, Magic is a game with many formats, similar to how Hearthstone has Standard and Wild modes. I'll list the most common ones for you: Standard: Cards that were released ...

View answer
Ambuscade Shaman + Warstorm Surge
2 votes

1 damage or 3, it's up to you Both Ambuscade Shaman and Warstorm Surge trigger at the same time, when your 1/1 creature enters the battlefield. Since you control both, you get to decide what order ...

View answer
Activated ability that share a name
2 votes

When a card refers to it's own name in text, it isn't actually referring to cards with that name; it's referring to itself. So Vector Asp's activated ability actually means: "{B}: This Card gains ...

View answer
Cast high-mana creatures quickly in Amonkhet Standard
2 votes

The most obvious example of a "cheating" spell is Aetherworks Marvel, the RUG variant of which is dominating standard at the moment. There are many ways to generate the 6 energy you need to activate ...

View answer
If my opponent Confiscates my permanent and I can cast my own Confiscate, should I target my permanent or their Confiscate?
2 votes

Air's answer explains that Confiscating your opponent's Confiscate is typically the better move, and gives examples of why. Generally, Air is right, but... Magic is a complex game and almost no lines ...

View answer
What does The Saharan Republic's power mean?
2 votes

Yes, that is exactly what it means.

View answer
What spells affect Planeswalkers in MTG?
2 votes

There's a lot of them. Here's a list of things to search for Things that deal damage to players; at resolution the controller of the spell/ability about to damage a player can redirect the damage to ...

View answer
What the value of a misprinted Graverobber Spider?
2 votes

As murgatroid says, there isn't a good estimate for any card, but there are a few guidelines. Major misprints are more valued by collectors than little ones, so miscuts where some other card from the ...

View answer