The Chaz 2.0
  • Member for 10 years, 3 months
  • Last seen this week
Is it legal to buy property for $1 in Monopoly when other players are in prison?
Accepted answer
38 votes

"Anyone can bid in an auction, including the one who declined the option to buy it at the printed price." Also, more official rules PDF. From other forums I have visited, it seems as though most ...

View answer
How to respond to publishers when they ask for rules?
Accepted answer
19 votes

Send the rules. Fear of having your idea copied/stolen is a uniquely amateur mentality. Daniel Solis (designer) and Gil Hova (publisher who references other publishers) cover the topic well in their ...

View answer
Which game do these dice belong to?
16 votes

This is Go Long, a game about (American) football. The black die is for yards gained, if I remember correctly. Here's an image of the dice from Go Long (from BoardGameGeek):

View answer
Roll a 7, move robber AND play knight and move the robber again in the same turn
Accepted answer
13 votes

Yes, that is legal. You may play the knight at any time during your turn, including before rolling.

View answer
What is optimal robber placement in Settlers?
Accepted answer
13 votes

I can't figure out if you are asking one overly broad question, or many smaller-scoped questions... in any case: The "player to the right" strategy ignores a few possibilities, including: - one or ...

View answer
What's the highest score that can be achieved by pegging?
12 votes

If you scroll down to "Pegging Maximal Score", they outline how the dealer can peg 30 points. I found that page from an answer to the question that you linked above... not sure how you ...

View answer
What if I forget to pay rent?
Accepted answer
10 votes

According to the official rules, property owners must ask for the rent before the player after the next player rolls the dice or they forfeit the rent. The owner may not collect the rent if they ...

View answer
Can I complete a quest during the "Waterdeep Harbor" phase?
Accepted answer
10 votes

Yes. But if you have enough cubes to complete that many missions, you'll probably find the spaces at Waterdeep Harbor filled with enemies playing mandatory quests on you... From the FAQ: Q: When ...

View answer
Is there an in-game mechanic reason for placing action cards face down during the planning phase
Accepted answer
9 votes

It is to promote communication between players. If you and I (try to) use the same lift/elevator in the same turn, one of us will be delayed - and this send all of that player's subsequent plans ...

View answer
What are some good ways to transition to more complex strategic thinking games?
9 votes

Technology has helped me convert/graduate more players than any other tool that I have used. Consider Dominion: this game is very easy to play online. You click on cards that are in bold and then you ...

View answer
How does the "Bean Protection Rule" affect Bohnanza?
Accepted answer
8 votes

You lose tension without this rule, since players can effectively just "burn" undesirable beans - both those in hand and those that are flipped in the second phase of each turn. My suspicion is that ...

View answer
Board games involving players' consensus for who wins?
Accepted answer
8 votes

For starters, you cannot objectively have the scoring based on precision, cleanliness, etc. Players will vote however they want, which - depending on the system you use to collect votes - can allow ...

View answer
In Settlers of Catan, what seat position is the best for odds of recieving any resource?
Accepted answer
8 votes

Key assumption: Every player places both of their initial settlements according to what will get them the most resources (so we don't have people going for port combos, weird 12/2 superstitions, etc.) ...

View answer
Hungarian card says MINIMUM in the description, but MAXIMUM on the top
Accepted answer
7 votes

The English text on Colonizer Training Camp is (Oxygen must be 5% or less.) This goes with the "max 5%" icon, as you suspected. edit: Link to an image on BGG, where the English card can be ...

View answer
Sheriff of Nottingham Negotiation Question
Accepted answer
7 votes

Before you [as the sheriff] inspect a bag, you may choose to threaten the bag's owner. That player may offer you a bribe to avoid the inspection. A deal is considered complete when an offer is ...

View answer
Recommendations for making board tiles
7 votes

My first published game has a map of seven hexagonal tiles, so I have some experience with this. If you must have hex tiles (e.g. a case where the board layout is user-generated as in the 4x game E C ...

View answer
How to speed up reaction time in Settlers of Catan?
7 votes

One way to speed up the game is to increase resource production. There are two common approaches to this: During setup, each player's second placement is a city. This gives a boost to everyone's ...

View answer
the sycophant card
Accepted answer
6 votes

Whenever anyone takes the "Take 1 Grain" action space, they must first pay the Sycophant 1 food. After receiving this payment, the Sycophant then (also) receives 1 food from the supply. When the ...

View answer
Identify game: Intergalactic United Nations
Accepted answer
5 votes

I just did an advanced search for party games + science fiction (weight < 2) and Cosmocracy was 10th on the list.

View answer
Recent semi co-op maze game designed to be played blind
Accepted answer
5 votes

The game is Nyctophobia. I spoke with the designer last weekend, and she said it's scheduled for a Gencon 2018 release.

View answer
Can special cards with "discard" label in King of Tokyo be saved until later?
Accepted answer
5 votes

The rules explicitly state that Discard cards are immediately used and discarded. It's in a text box right above "3. Buying cards".

View answer
When does the parasite lose its power?
Accepted answer
5 votes

Notice that the text of the Parasite say that "...you may use this power to ally..." (emphasis mine). It does not say "... you may use this power by allying...". The point is that the use of the ...

View answer
Is it possible to combo Spy and Wishing Well?
5 votes

Remember - act out the card in order that it is written: +1 Card, then +1 Action, then "Name a card...". So any card that has you put (just) one card back on your deck (e.g. Spy, Bureaucrat, Lookout,...

View answer
Are 4-of-a-kind dedications unbalanced?
Accepted answer
4 votes

It's hard to say what would have happened in your game had more 4-of-a-kind tiles been claimed, but it only takes 3 (8, 7, 7, if I remember correctly) in a 4p game for the points per card to be more ...

View answer
Will any route (built without a destination ticket) be counted as points?
4 votes

You score points for EVERY route you claim, based on its length (length 1 is 1 point; length 2 is 2, 3 is 4, 4 is 7, etc), at the time that you claim it. Destination cards are awarded (or penalized) ...

View answer
Which city is the one being searched for the virologist?
4 votes

Frankly, I don't see how you could entertain the second interpretation at all! From this picture: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/20687079#20687079 ADVANCE 3 SPACES IF YOU DISCARD THE CARD ...

View answer
Counting multi-runs in cribbage
4 votes

Not to be trite, but the score is the score! Announcing point contributions from the various categories (runs, pairs, same suit, correct Jack, etc.) should suffice. Note: this is what you have ...

View answer
Promised future trades as part of legal trades? (Solution described, alternatives/comments requested)
4 votes

Since this is too long for a comment, here's the way that I have played... You can promise almost anything in a trade: future cards (not necessarily meeting a minimum one card per transaction rule......

View answer
Does mixing Dominion expansions lessen the power of card combinations in random kingdom setups?
4 votes

Added: A fundamental property of Dominion is card interaction, so to claim (not that anyone has) that a certain expansion doesn't increase the amount of positive interaction between cards/sets would ...

View answer
How do the Investigators Collectively Decide?
4 votes

"If players cannot agree, then the first player chooses" ... (It reads something to that effect, though I could only locate it in the Headless Hollow version of the rules on short notice)

View answer