L. Scott Johnson
  • Member for 4 years, 2 months
  • Last seen this week
  • South Carolina, USA
Are "three way" trades allowed in Catan?
32 votes

No (or yes, depending on how you define a single trade). The person whose turn it is can trade. Each trade is with that person and one other person. If you can accomplish what you need in a series of ...

View answer
Identify old boardgame
Accepted answer
23 votes

This is a wooden version of Shuttles (named for the rows that can be moved sideways) aka Impasse, Labymaster, Labyrinth, or Traject. The PC game was an implementation of this older board game from ...

View answer
Impossible Scrabble Words
21 votes

According to this reddit thread, the complete list of words in the allowed dictionary (which doesn't list words with more than 15 letters), the Collins Scrabble Words list from 2015, that you can't ...

View answer
In Carcassonne Rivers, does the Abbey Tile stop a road?
20 votes

It plays as illustrated: the road is unbroken. See the scoring example that shows the road is "not ended":

View answer
Is it okay / does it make sense for another player to join a running game of Munchkin?
18 votes

If it's "just for fun" and everyone is still having fun, then sure. If someone finds their fun level jeopardized by, for example, the disruption of the play order, then either you should delay the ...

View answer
Which dice game has a board with 9x9 squares that has different colors on the diagonals and midway on some edges?
Accepted answer
16 votes

It's a dice version of the match-3 (3 alike or 3 different) game "Set". It's cleverly enough called "Set Dice"

View answer
Can experts roll dice with non-uniform distribution?
Accepted answer
13 votes

In theory, yes (the macro nature of the dice and the table overcoming any quantum-level randomness, leaving you with classical physics). In practice, the bulk of the evidence says no, that the chaos ...

View answer
Ticket to ride, 1910: What are the big cities
Accepted answer
13 votes

From the rules pdf (also quoted in this blog post) : The Big Cities are Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, Miami, New York and Seattle.

View answer
Players turn was skipped, go back and allow that person to play out of order or continue on?
Accepted answer
13 votes

Your question basically boils down to "what are the rules for recovering from breaking the rules?" Munchkin doesn't have such rules. But it does have the catch-all rule (from the rulebook) : Any ...

View answer
Is there an AI that can build decks?
12 votes

Don Goodman-Wilson made a program to build decks given a pool of cards. (I guess you could make the pool 60 copies of each card legal for the format). From his post on Hackernoon: So I started ...

View answer
In Monopoly, can you save an 'advance' card to use later?
12 votes

No. Cards are resolved when drawn (except for Get Out Of Jail, by explicit card text). CHANCE AND COMMUNITY CHEST When you land on either of these spaces, take the top card from the deck indicated, ...

View answer
Is using a distinct pitch or tone in your voice for your hint legal in Codenames? I.e., "colddd" to link "blanket" and "Arctic"
12 votes

It looks like this could reasonably be considered to violate either the rule that the word must be in English ("colddd" is not in any dictionary of the English language) or the rule that ...

View answer
Can I play multiple Idols one at a time and receive the effects each time?
Accepted answer
12 votes

Yes, you play them one at a time, and therefore you get the alternating boon and curse effect. Note that this mandatory, not merely an option: You always play (and resolve) your treasures one at a ...

View answer
Does anyone know where this weird blue and green laughing chess set is from?
Accepted answer
11 votes

It's a "playmate" chess set by Umbra. UPC: 028295167055

View answer
Ticket to Ride trade original destination cards later in the game
11 votes

You cannot trade destination cards at all: neither the ones you receive at the start nor any you receive later. You get three at the start and can choose to keep all three or just two (discarding the ...

View answer
End of turn special powers
10 votes

Your Active race and your In Decline race(s) are scored independently of each other. A race's Special Power only applies to that race. From the rulebook (section II, p8): Each Special Power badge ...

View answer
Ticket to Ride United Kingdom, should the technology cards be in a stack or do we get to choose?
9 votes

I think the rules are clear enough by the use of "Available" when listing the Technologies and the absence of any description of a restriction on them. But the question has come up before, ...

View answer
If I extend a word, do I get points for all the words, or just the straight line word?
Accepted answer
9 votes

You are correct (you get points just for SADE and EN, not for the other words still on the board that were on the board before your turn). Here's the rule from the official rules (emphasis added): ...

View answer
Anyone got any info on this coin obstacle course game from Micki Gemla Sweden?
Accepted answer
9 votes

It's a miniature golf sim game played with coins instead of balls. It was made in 1970 by Micki Leksaker Sweden. It was just called "Minigolf" (Image from https://www.worthpoint.com/worthopedia/...

View answer
Uno discard and draw pile empty?
9 votes

There's always a card on the discard pile. Even when you reshuffle, you have to leave the top card of the former DISCARD pile as the start of the new DISCARD pile. (That is: you always have a card ...

View answer
Is the number coins a private information
8 votes

Your coins are kept on your board. The number of coins you have can therefore easily be seen or checked by the other players. Rules: Each player begins the game with 3 value “1” coins which they ...

View answer
Are double rolls added when you land on the utilities?
8 votes

Just the last throw, as shown on the deed card: If one "Utility" is owned rent is 4 times amount shown on dice. If both "Utilities" are owned rent is 10 times amount shown on dice. "amount shown ...

View answer
Marrying Mr. Darcy - Can Kitty Bennet play one more turn after the last turn?
Accepted answer
7 votes

No, she can't take one more turn by re-drawing that last event card. The game enters the Proposal Stage as soon as that last card was played. From the rules: When all Event Cards have been played, ...

View answer
Contingency planner question
Accepted answer
7 votes

Yes, assuming the Contingency Planner isn't already "storing" a different event, that is perfectly within the rules and the text of the Contingency Planner. During your turn, you (or any other player)...

View answer
Is there a long-term scoring system for 4 or 5 players who have played the same game repeatedly?
Accepted answer
7 votes

There's a relatively direct translation of the Elo rating system to multi-players: just treat each game as a set of games between each pair of players, with each pair having a winner and a loser based ...

View answer
Cribbage. Run of 5 or more
Accepted answer
7 votes

Yes. Each card that makes a run during play scores the run. From https://www.mastersofgames.com/rules/cribbage-rules.htm Similarly, if anyone lays a card such that with the three or more ...

View answer
In Uno, if a draw 4 is played and the player after next plays, does the player still have to draw 4
7 votes

Yes. Point of order: player 3 cannot play their card until player 2 has drawn the four. Rulebook: "gameplay usually follows a clockwise direction" (The usually is there to handle the Reverse card). ...

View answer
Can the active player receive free cards in Bohnanza?
7 votes

Yes, but (as you note) the donations need not be accepted. From the rulebook, page 5: Although trading is preferable to donating, it is often in a player’s interest to donate cards rather than ...

View answer
Unbeatable Nine Men's Morris AI?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Yes, Gábor E. Gévay et al. have made such an engine. The program and instructions for downloading the databases necessary for perfect play can be found here.

View answer
How to use big fun 'play the lottery' card
6 votes

No. If the dice come up 3 and 4, then you have rolled a seven and only collect if you called for seven.

View answer
1
2 3 4 5
8