L. Scott Johnson
  • Member for 4 years
  • Last seen this week
  • South Carolina, USA
3 answers
9 votes
4k views
Is there an AI that can build decks?
12 votes

Don Goodman-Wilson made a program to build decks given a pool of cards. (I guess you could make the pool 60 copies of each card legal for the format). From his post on Hackernoon: So I started ...

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
36 views
Cribbage two people , Run scoring Questions during the play
1 votes

The final play (the 2 from P2) only scores a pair (plus the 1 for the Go). It doesn't see the whole 4-4-3-5-6-2-2 sequence as a double double run of five. Scoring in the play doesn't allow you to ...

View answer
3 answers
4 votes
128 views
Alternate layouts for Backgammon: who's studied this?
1 votes

According to Mark Driver's article on the History of Backgammon, the earliest versions had the pieces all start off the board and enter based on the throws of the dice (like pachisi). Back then it ...

View answer
1 answers
2 votes
44 views
Uno-Flip going out on a flip
1 votes

Yes. The card is played as normal. (Just like in regular Uno, in order to go out, you have to play your last card. A card played is resolved when played, whether it is the final card play or not.)

View answer
1 answers
3 votes
96 views
Empty bank and Aqueduct
Accepted answer
4 votes

Yes. Sebastian Rapp of Kosmos confirms on BGG: Cities & Knights: If a player has an aqueduct and is entitled to claim a resource for it, he may claim a resource that was not given to the players ...

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
41 views
How detailed should a Black Stories mystery be solved?
Accepted answer
0 votes

As you say, it's up to the judgement of the one holding the card, but the author's description is: Durch Raten soll genau die Geschichte dahinter herausgefunden werden. Which translates to The aim ...

View answer
1 answers
-3 votes
89 views
In UNO, after a successful Wild Draw 4 challenge, what color does play resume on
0 votes

The color named by the player who (illegally) played the Wild Draw 4: From the rules: Regardless of the outcome (of the challenge), the Wild Draw Four remains on the discard pile and the color of ...

View answer
2 answers
4 votes
216 views
Can you identify this John Conway board game?
1 votes

Most likely it’s Infection (aka Ataxx), which Conway was at least aware of, having referenced it in Winning Ways for Your Mathematical Plays, Vol 1 See http://www.pressibus.org/ataxx/gen/gborigines....

View answer
1 answers
5 votes
53 views
Can the Malkavian player use Chaos twice?
Accepted answer
2 votes

The publisher clarifies (errata?) this on this thread on BGG: Chaos (or any other cards) doesn't get activated again once it's played through Madness Network, Let's say, for simplicity, each card ...

View answer
1 answers
4 votes
51 views
Whose are the cards played through Mesmerize considered to be?
Accepted answer
1 votes

The cards played via Mesmerize are treated as the Malkavian's deployed cards. You can take them into your hand via Chaos. See the publisher's answer in this thread on BGG: Mesmerized card on the ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
37 views
Yacht Seller + Lord Mayor >> should anchors been counted
3 votes

On this thread in BGG, Seth Jaffee of TMG says that Yacht Seller won't count Top Hats even with Lord Mayor. It's been a while and I've never personally played High Tide, but if the text you quoted is ...

View answer
3 answers
10 votes
2k views
After how many iterations can I shortcut the Delina, Wild Mage / Pixie Guide combo?
-1 votes

You might try the infinite series approach and just build a table for the expected number of Pixie Guide Tokens, then map that to a roll of permillenial dice (6 d10s read as digits of a number from ...

View answer
1 answers
2 votes
96 views
Dominion: If a second supply pile is emptied while I am discarding for the Poacher, will I need to discard another card?
Accepted answer
3 votes

You do the effects in order: +1 card +1 action +1 coin Discard a card per empty supply pile. When you get to #4, you find that there's one empty supply pile, so you discard one card. The "...

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
56 views
Do you use the Djinn you attain from the Sibittis ability' immediately?
Accepted answer
1 votes

You can use the special power of a Djinn using Sibittis, yes, by the text you quote. If you mean can you use Sibittis's ability twice in one turn, then no. This is also true without invoking Sibittis. ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
137 views
If you use Two-For-One and destroy Rainbow Aura, can you also destroy a Unicorn card?
Accepted answer
2 votes

Seems you cannot. The effect is "DESTROY 2" rather than "DESTROY 1 and then DESTROY 1". The two destructions are simultaneous and the Rainbow Aura prevents you from destroying the ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
114 views
In the game "Sorry", what are the rules about getting Home from the safety zone?
3 votes

You can enter the safe zone, sure. And you can move forward in there even if you don't make it all the way to the home space. So if you're five spaces from Home, you could cover that distance with a 3 ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
55 views
Juggler must be played at the end of a trick or any time to trigger its event?
Accepted answer
1 votes

It triggers when the trick is finished, no matter which card it was. It doesn't have to be the last card played to the trick. These google-translate-based rules are phrased ambiguously: When a trick ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
72 views
Seafarers Pirate island - Am I OBLIGED to attack when reaching pirate fortress?
2 votes

As written in these rules (pdf) and these rules (plain html) (and as you note in your question), it's optional. And also note you can't attack "as soon as you arrive" but rather at the end ...

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
78 views
Axis and Allies1940 Europe building facilities
1 votes

No. Rules, pg. 24: Air bases can be built on any controlled territory or island. ("controlled" not "friendly") and pg. 22: Move the newly purchased units from the mobilization ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
163 views
Collectible figures with rotatable base
Accepted answer
4 votes

The first Clix game,Mage Knight by WizKids, seems very similar to your description, and it came out in 2000.

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
162 views
Phase 10 “Skip” Card
2 votes

According to the rules at wikipedia, the Skip card is placed in the discard, not in front of the skipped player. Those rules also prohibit the drawing of a skip card from the discard pile. (So: no, ...

View answer
1 answers
11 votes
1k views
What has changed in the new edition of Junta?
2 votes

According to this review, which relied on the reviewer's memory for some details of the original, there are some functional differences: Marxists Leninists card removed. First Fire rule removed. ...

View answer
1 answers
2 votes
153 views
Unbeatable Nine Men's Morris AI?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Yes, Gábor E. Gévay et al. have made such an engine. The program and instructions for downloading the databases necessary for perfect play can be found here.

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
118 views
In Robinson Crusoe, once you build the brick, what happens to it?
Accepted answer
3 votes

As I understand it, the brick increases the palisade level by 1 when it is built. Then what? It is placed in the invention spaces. Rules, p. 18: At the end of the Action Phase, any Inventions in the ...

View answer
2 answers
3 votes
135 views
Searching for Plant Growth Board Game with Stacking
Accepted answer
4 votes

Sounds like Arboria players play cards to grow flowers, move the sun, move the cloud, create rain, or destroy opponents' flowers. On your turn, play three cards from all available (yours and the ...

View answer
1 answers
1 votes
56 views
Parcheesi dice roll of double when all pawns still in nest
1 votes

Depends on which rules you're using. If you're playing with these Parker Brothers rules, you only get another turn if you used all of the double roll. If you can't use all of the roll, you don't get ...

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
22 views
Genotype - Market Card refills
Accepted answer
1 votes

Not until the end of the round. Pg. 10 of the rulebook: (Assistant Cards are not refilled until the end of the Round.) And pg. 12: Discard the remaining Pea Plant Cards, Tool Cards, and Assistants. ...

View answer
2 answers
5 votes
2k views
How to use big fun 'play the lottery' card
6 votes

No. If the dice come up 3 and 4, then you have rolled a seven and only collect if you called for seven.

View answer
1 answers
0 votes
72 views
Is the person allowed to change his card if the stack is not collected by the opposition?
0 votes

Players must follow suit if they are able. If unable, then before playing a card, the player must ask for trump to be revealed (or simply reveal trump if they are the declarer). If trump has already ...

View answer
1 answers
2 votes
334 views
In Monopoly, can you save an 'advance' card to use later?
12 votes

No. Cards are resolved when drawn (except for Get Out Of Jail, by explicit card text). CHANCE AND COMMUNITY CHEST When you land on either of these spaces, take the top card from the deck indicated, ...

View answer
1
2 3 4 5
8