Andrew
  • Member for 4 years, 1 month
  • Last seen this week
  • Ontario, Canada
Why doesn't a go board have an 'I' ('i') column?
Accepted answer
33 votes

Zeiss isn't completely correct, this is actually the less common reason for omitting the I. The more common reason why I is often omitted where it would normally be expected between H and J is because ...

View answer
How should I ship cards?
Accepted answer
30 votes

A soft plastic sleeve (like the ultrapro or dragonshields used when playing a deck) in the mail is not enough support, and cards shipped that way that I have received have come in damaged. The best ...

View answer
If a Planeswalker transforms into a creature during the main phase, but it is suddenly killed, is it still able to attack?
Accepted answer
26 votes

There's a few small issues here: Buyback needs to be used while the spell is cast - it's an additional cost so the opponent will pay for the first casting of clockspinning all at once, not to cast ...

View answer
How to build a budget-friendly manabase for a 5-color deck?
Accepted answer
25 votes

Here are the lands that will work in a 5 colour deck, I ordered them in roughly the order I think they are helpful speed wise to an EDH deck and will include the lands you already run for completeness....

View answer
Which game is this six-sided die with two sets of runic-looking plus, minus and empty sides from?
22 votes

Those are called fate or fudge dice, and they have 2 blank sides, 2 sides with a + and two sides with a -. That particular die does not come from any specific game, it's instead the "Ancient Fate ...

View answer
In Scrabble, does a blank tile on the double/triple word square count?
17 votes

Yes. It doesn't matter which tile is on the double/triple word space, if you make a word while placing a blank tile on one of these squares, your word score is still doubled/tripled. From the official ...

View answer
Was it ever the case that Scrabble tiles had to be placed contiguously?
17 votes

This was never an actual rule, but it's easy to understand how someone could misread the rules to think it was. The original printed rules for scrabble include this rule (emphasis mine): 4. All ...

View answer
Why does a blocking 1/1 creature with double strike kill a 3/2 creature?
17 votes

It looks like you misunderstand how double strike works, thinking the second hit happens after normal damage. The best way to think of double strike is a creature that does both first strike damage (...

View answer
Can a “flung” creature that is destroyed still deal damage?
17 votes

The situation described in your question can't happen. Your opponent cannot use Fatal Push on your Longtusk Cub. Sacrificing the creature is part of the cost of casting Fling, not part of the effect. ...

View answer
Why do some cards say "choose target"?
Accepted answer
16 votes

The difference is in how the wording works in the entire spell or ability, and if text on that card needs to refer back to the target. Look at your examples, Giant Growth is very simple self contained ...

View answer
Which dual lands count as having the name of their respective basic land types for certain effects?
Accepted answer
16 votes

There's an assumption you're making that's a bit off here, that assumption being that you are looking for something by name. Voltaic Key has the ability ", : Untap target artifact." that ...

View answer
Do I have to take mana from my deck or hand when tapping a dual land?
16 votes

Take a look at the old mountains, they had written on them ": Add to your mana pool" from 6th edition on they stopped printing that on the card itself, but the rules still include that all lands with ...

View answer
Can "Fling" target a Player?
15 votes

Look at the original printing for fling: Back then Planeswalkers didn't exist as a card type, spells that were meant to be able to target anything (that could take damage) had the wording "...

View answer
Why is Bind The Monster useful?
15 votes

Bind the Monster is the newest card from a decent list that both taps the creature when you play it, and keeps it tapped. Most of these that do only that cost 3 or 4 mana, the ones that cost only 1 ...

View answer
How does your opponent verify that you're able to cast a Companion card?
Accepted answer
15 votes

Presenting a card as your companion requires you meet the companion condition. Like every keyword in magic, there is a section of the comprehensive rules that cover the ability, and those rules are ...

View answer
Absorbing damage with Planeswalker
Accepted answer
14 votes

Neither. Treat your planeswalker as if they are a separate player, one that you can use your creatures to block for. If there is trample damage when your block, that damage goes to your planeswalker, ...

View answer
How does Psychic Surgery work with Scheming Symmetry?
Accepted answer
13 votes

The card found by Scheming Symmetry will be one of those looked at. Spells and abilities in Magic the Gathering are atomic - once they start to resolve, they need to fully resolve before anything else ...

View answer
What if Magic gives the second player a Lotus Petal, similar to what Hearthstone does?
13 votes

There are already decks that win on turn one, giving one extra mana on that turn enables these decks to be more reliable. One example of a deck that wins turn one, and already wants to be on the draw,...

View answer
Can I produce off-color mana and activate off-color abilities outside my commander's identity?
12 votes

Mostly no, you cannot have cards with a different color identity from your commander in your deck, including your lands. There are however ways to cast off color spells and have off color mana. Color ...

View answer
Which commanders benefit from being in the Command Zone other than Oloro?
12 votes

13 possible commanders interact with the command zone in an unusual way. 8 commanders have abilities that function in the command zone. All of them were created for the preconstructed commander decks ...

View answer
How does your opponent verify you have not more than 4 of a particular card in your deck?
12 votes

The assumption is people are playing with legal decks - this is enforced at higher rules level events by random deck checks (where players are randomly selected and their decks compared to the ...

View answer
Adventure board game I had as a kid
Accepted answer
12 votes

Malco guided me to a list of possible answers on BoardGameGeek and I found the game there. The game is called Dark World: Village of Fear. It is an expansion to the original Dark World, which is the ...

View answer
Lazav, Dimir mastermind, copying Growth-Chamber Guardian, and wearing spy kit
12 votes

No, the "Search for a card named Growth-Chamber Guardian" is not self-referential, you are not searching for the card itself, but that ability is naming the legal targets for your search. Just because ...

View answer
Lord Windgrace; Resolving the First Loyalty Ability
Accepted answer
11 votes

Neither of your interpretations are correct. The order of events is discard, draw, [draw]. Look at the way the ability is ordered "+2: Discard a card, then [...]" The very first thing you do ...

View answer
Do we still track damage on indestructible creatures?
11 votes

Absolutely. Indestructible does not prevent damage, it prevents damage from causing a creature to be destroyed. That damage needs to be done for lifelink to happen, and in the case of wither or infect,...

View answer
Adventure cards and Feather, the Redeemed?
Accepted answer
10 votes

Short answer: You can do either, your choice, but you have to pick if you intend to return it with Feather or have it exiled as on an adventure while the spell is being exiled, you can't have your ...

View answer
Can I activate abilities in the middle of declaring blockers?
Accepted answer
10 votes

Here are the most relevant rules for this question: 509.1 First, the defending player declares blockers. This turn-based action doesn’t use the stack. To declare blockers, the defending player ...

View answer
Is it legal to use poetry elements/sound devices as hints like "alliteration 3", "assonance 3", and "rhyme 3" in Codenames?
10 votes

The rule is that clues must be about the meaning of the word. Alliteration, assonance, consonance, and rhyme are all about the construction and pronunciation of the word, and have nothing to do with ...

View answer
Why can Faceless Haven and other changelings attack if they're Walls?
9 votes

This was an old rule that the wall creature type couldn't attack. It was changed in the major CR update in 2004. Walls can now attack and a new keyword ability, defender, was created and added to ...

View answer
Which, if any, colored cards can be made colorless after being cast?
Accepted answer
9 votes

No spell has an inherent way to become colorless after it has been cast while it's still on stack. There are ways to do this however, but it requires using other cards. This means that almost all ...

View answer
1
2 3 4 5
11