J. Sallé
  • Member for 3 years, 11 months
  • Last seen more than 1 year ago
How to deal with Legendary tokens?
Accepted answer
22 votes

I believe you've misinterpreted the "Legend Rule", which is CR 704.5j (emphasis mine): 704.5j If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of ...

View answer
What happens when two cards both modify what I'm allowed to do?
Accepted answer
17 votes

But is this just an arbitrary decision? No, it's not. That specific interaction is governed by one of Magic's "Golden Rules", specifically CR 101.2, which states: 101.2. When a rule or effect ...

View answer
How fast should a competitive combo deck win?
Accepted answer
15 votes

Is a turn 5 win slow for Legacy? Yes. As of the current meta (from May 24th, 2018), Turbo/Dark Depths is the most represented Legacy combo deck, having around 6% of the field. This specific ...

View answer
Will a Theros God with low devotion enter the battlefield as a copy of Essence of the Wild?
Accepted answer
11 votes

No, the God will not enter as a copy of Essence of the Wild for the first case, but it will for the second. According to the Gatherer rulings: 9/15/2013: If a God enters the battlefield, your ...

View answer
What is a Conspiracy Card and how does it work?
Accepted answer
11 votes

Conspiracy is a special, standalone set in MtG, currently consisting of two expansions: Conspiracy; and Conspiracy: Take the Crown. First and foremost, I'd recommend you read these articles, which ...

View answer
When is the last time tribal decks were competitive?
Accepted answer
9 votes

If you consider "Tribal decks" as decks with core cards in the deck [that] care about a certain creature type, there's plenty of examples out there. This will be a very broad answer that'll ...

View answer
How do multiple death triggers work with a board wipe?
Accepted answer
9 votes

Both Vastwood Hydra and Hooded Hydra have leave the battlefield triggers. As their name implies, they will trigger only when the creatures actually leave the battlefield. What that implies is that ...

View answer
Stonehewer Giant questions
9 votes

Yes, you can do that. Since you're activating the ability when you receive priority back from the declare blockers step, your creature hasn't been blocked and cannot be blocked after that. If your ...

View answer
When does Tiana, Ship's Caretaker check card type?
8 votes

Tiana's ability will check for the card type at the time the ability that creates the delayed trigger is triggered. This means that the card will be returned to your hand even if it's not currently an ...

View answer
Does splicing change the target of a spell
8 votes

Well, first of all, you cannot do that. These are the rules for Splicing: 702.46a Splice is a static ability that functions while a card is in your hand. “Splice onto [subtype] [cost]” means “You ...

View answer
Can I copy a counter spell to then counter said counter?
Accepted answer
8 votes

Yes, that's a perfectly valid play. For this specific case of Reverberate, these are the rulings you should take into account: 8/15/2010: Reverberate can target (and copy) any instant or sorcery ...

View answer
Does Sutured Ghoul count cards exiled by other effects, such as suspended creatures?
8 votes

Although the wording on the card might cause some misinterpretation, notice that it says "the exiled cards", instead of something like "your exiled cards" or "all exiled cards". This is because it's ...

View answer
What happens when I copy a legendary creature with Rite of Replication?
7 votes

The token will enter the battlefield when the spell resolves and, the next time any player would receive priority, you'd have to choose one of the legendary permanents to stay on the battlefield. The ...

View answer
Narset, Parter of Veils interaction with Matter Reshaper
7 votes

You're correct. Narset, Parter of Veils prevents opponents from drawing more than one card per turn. However, as you pointed out, Matter Reshaper doesn't draw you a card, but instead reveals the top ...

View answer
Can I prevent my opponent from looking at cards with Vizier of the Menagerie while I'm Mindslaving them?
Accepted answer
7 votes

Yes, the Mindslaver's controller may prevent the controlled player from taking that specific action. Mindslaver's rulings say: You get to make every decision the other player would have made ...

View answer
How can I resolve my Dragon Shield sleeves being curved?
Accepted answer
7 votes

This answer comes from personal experiences I've had with using Dragon Shield sleeves, so it shouldn't be taken as fact, since the sleeves from different batches can vary. First things first, I'd ...

View answer
Can one draw their commander to the command zone, and would that be a draw?
7 votes

DISCLAIMER: Most of this answer could be interpreted as speculation. I'm posting this based on my understanding of the rules of the game, but it shouldn't be taken as the actual truth until consensus ...

View answer
Are you able to take control of another player's Commander?
Accepted answer
7 votes

Yes, you can take control of someone else's commander. The rule about returning the commander to the Command Zone reads (emphasis mine): 903.9. If a commander would be exiled from anywhere or put ...

View answer
Will Journey to Eternity come back if the enchanted creature comes back as a land?
Accepted answer
7 votes

Yes, you can get both cards to return transformed: Both Golden Guardian's and Journey to Eternity's abilities are triggered abilities. When the enchanted Guardian dies, both abilities trigger ...

View answer
Do you get a counter for each Tempered Sliver on the battlefield
Accepted answer
6 votes

The sliver in case would, in fact, get 2 +1/+1 counters. This is because of rule 113.2c, which I quote, with the relevant bit emphasized: 113.2c An object may have multiple abilities. If the ...

View answer
Do Combat Celebrant and Helm of the Host give me infinite combat phases?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Yes, you will have as many combat phases as you want. When Combat Celebrant's ability resolves, you get an additional combat phase. Rule 506.1 defines what steps the combat phase contains: 506.1. ...

View answer
How often can I activate planeswalker abilities with Teferi's emblem?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Since I can activite 1 planeswalker ability per planeswalker per turn could I activate Jace's +1 draw a card ability every player's turn as long as I have the emblem on board ? Yes, you can. Teferi, ...

View answer
Do Collective Restraint and Nylea's Presence work together in a non-5-color EDH deck?
5 votes

Yes. Since Nylea's Presence turns the enchanted land into every basic land type, it means that you have all basic land types under your control. Whether you could have originally have them or not ...

View answer
What does "until end of turn" mean?
5 votes

Yes, the "first strike" ability will be canceled "forever". The creature which had the ability "until end of turn" will lose this ability exactly at the end the current turn, and not at the beginning ...

View answer
How does stealing a creature's text box work with copies?
4 votes

Phoebe will steal the (cloned) Badger's text box. Clone states: You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield. According to rule 706.2, one of the "...

View answer
Bonded Horncrest and Prey Upon interaction
Accepted answer
4 votes

If Prey Upon is used on Bonded Horncrest, will it be able to "attack alone"? No, it won't. Prey Upon is a spell that makes creatures fight each other. Fight is a keyword: 701.12. Fight ...

View answer
Martial Law vs Zacama, Primal Calamity
Accepted answer
4 votes

Your enchantment will be destroyed, then their creature will be detained. That happens because, as you guessed, their creature only becomes detained after Martial Law's trigger resolves. Since it's ...

View answer
Cryptoplasm Counters
4 votes

No, Cryptoplasm would keep the counters. 121.1. A counter is a marker placed on an object or player that modifies its characteristics and/or interacts with a rule, ability, or effect. ...

View answer
How to interrupt a loop with multiple players?
Accepted answer
3 votes

The described situation is perfectly legal. These loops are governed by rule 720, concerning the taking of shortcuts. CR720.2a, b and c explain how shortcuts are to be taken: 720.2a At any point in ...

View answer
Boggle - Letter distribution and face orientation of each die
3 votes

I believe you'll find that the answer doesn't matter for your specific case: If we assume every die is a fair die (which means every face has exactly 1/6 chance of coming face up, and is what you ...

View answer