Aetherfox
  • Member for 2 years, 5 months
  • Last seen more than 1 year ago
Where are token creatures created from?
4 votes

The pieces of cardboard included with your deck that represent tokens (such as a dragon) are really just memory aids. You can put them on the field to represent tokens that you make, but you're ...

View answer
Marauding Raptor and Polyraptor - what happens when a loop has no exit?
Accepted answer
23 votes

The game will end in a draw If the loop cannot be ended by either player, instead the game ends in a draw. 721.4. If a loop contains only mandatory actions, the game is a draw. (See rules 104.4b ...

View answer
Gleemax targeting
1 votes

No Keep in mind Silver-Bordered games always require some play-group-specific interpretation of the rules. That being said, Gleemax changes who selects the targets, but it does not change anything ...

View answer
Why is Monstrosity not a keyword ability?
1 votes

I believe it comes down to the level of control the player has over the effect. Just about every keyword ability* is an either an alternate cost, replacement effect, or triggered ability, passive ...

View answer
Can I cast an instant or activate an ability between "whenever a creature dies" triggers, if the creatures die at the same time?
1 votes

No All combat damage is dealt at the same time, which means that the two creatures will die at the same time, and each one will add a trigger from Dark Prophecy to the stack. At the end of combat ...

View answer
Can Canopy Spider block Treetop Rangers?
2 votes

No, Canopy Spider cannot block Treetop Ranger In the errata of the card Canopy Spider, which appears to the right of the card image, the creature's text has been replaced with the Reach keyword. The ...

View answer
Rock Paper Scissor Lizard Spock applied to units features
Accepted answer
4 votes

Simple Answer: Enforce Type Interactions Pokemon video games (and the card games) tackles this idea with type. Water beats Fire, Fire beats Grass, Grass beats Water. The simplest answer is to modify ...

View answer
Use of Instants During Combat Phase
5 votes

The Grizzly Bears don't deal combat damage to the Air Elemental Assuming no more instants or abilities are added to the stack after Shock, the stack will resolve. First, Shock will resolve, causing ...

View answer
Lazav Ability on the Stack
Accepted answer
5 votes

The Lazav that entered after Essence Flux is a new Lazav Any old abilities that may be on the stack only see that the Lazav that they were supposed to change is no longer on the field. This is ...

View answer
Am I allowed to have a creature have 0 toughness, but still assign combat damage?
14 votes

No You can activate Metropolis Sprite's ability one or more times before combat damage is dealt. However, after each use of the ability resolves (before damage is dealt), state based actions will be ...

View answer
Is there any way to get an instant or sorcery on the field as a permanent? What would happen if this occurred?
1 votes

Sort of, but not really. As Glorfindel said, not currently. However, this card was very recently shown at a MtG event where packs contained experimental/prototype cards. It does exactly what you're ...

View answer
Can you have a permanent become all permanent types at the same time?
Accepted answer
19 votes

Yes Play Gideon Blackblade. He will be both a creature and a planeswalker on your turn. Play Mycosynth Lattice to turn it (and everything) into an artifact. Play Enchanted Evening to turn it (and ...

View answer
Countering an uncounterable spell, triggers, and state-based actions
Accepted answer
29 votes

You lose when you have to draw a card and can't, not when you have no cards left in your library Your third bullet point is mostly correct. All instances of Drowned Secret's triggered ability ...

View answer
Titania's Song and Mycosynth Lattice
1 votes

The multiple type-changing effects involved here is similar to a popular combo that uses Mycosynth Lattice and March of the Machines. (Titania's Song is slightly different in that it removes non-...

View answer
Interaction with Grismold and Adarkar Valkyrie
1 votes

No Adarkar Valkyrie's ability creates a delayed triggered ability that watches for Grismold to die. Then, all creatures are destroyed by Akroma's Vengeance. All creatures that were destroyed are ...

View answer
How to find Enchantments or Artifacts that have multiple effects?
4 votes

Gatherer Advanced search supports RegEx expressions by using the format m/[expression]/ The following expression might be a good place to start: m/\bWhen\b.*?\n\bWhen\b/ Breaking this down: m/ ...

View answer
Does a Wolf enters the battlefield and fight target creature with or without buff?
Accepted answer
7 votes

Wicked Wolf enters the battlefield as a 4/4 You get priority after Wicked Wolf's ability is put on the stack, and you can use this to activate Wicked Wolf's second ability The Wolf 'Lord's ability is ...

View answer
Can Chandra, Acolyte of Flame cast Heartfire without the additional cost?
10 votes

You still need to sacrifice a creature Chandra, Acolyte of Flame's -2 ability gives you the ability to cast an instant or sorcery from your graveyard, but you still need to pay costs for it. This ...

View answer
Can you take an Immortal Phoenix out of the game?
Accepted answer
14 votes

'Dies' means 'is put into the graveyard from the battlefield', so any effect that destroys it will end up causing this trigger to happen. The four main ways this card could move from the battlefield ...

View answer
Getting priority after putting a spell on the stack
Accepted answer
4 votes

Yes All players must pass priority before something on the stack can resolve. 608.1. Each time all players pass in succession, the spell or ability on top of the stack resolves. (See rule 609, “...

View answer
Do "if you would gain life, gain that much life +1" abilities trigger once per turn, or once for every instance of you gaining life
3 votes

4 Life Each life gain is evaluated separately. A creature enters, causing two triggered abilities to be placed on the stack of 'gain 1 life.' Because of the other creature's replacement effect, each ...

View answer
Why don't players draft the week before a new set releases?
Accepted answer
2 votes

I believe it's because of how the store stocks itself, and because of the economics of a draft/prerelease. Stores only have so much they can spend per week on their product. Given that they know they ...

View answer
Can I pay some of the cost of an activated ability lots of times to get more out of the effect?
12 votes

Just one As Philip Kendall pointed out, because the ability specifies a goblin, you only sacrifice one. You can think of activated abilities like purchasing something. Everything to the left of the ...

View answer
Can I exile my opponent's Progenitus/True-Name Nemesis with Teferi, Hero of Dominaria's emblem?
3 votes

No Quite simply, 'Protection from X' means (among other things) 'can't be targeted by X'. In the case of True-Name Nemesis, 'X' is the named opponent. The ability on the emblem says "Whenever you ...

View answer
How to calculate the power level of a Commander deck?
6 votes

As far as I have ever seen, there's no official Power Level. There are, however, a number of factors that influence win rates. Keep in mind none of these are absolute, they are just guidelines, and ...

View answer
If I cast Reality Ripple with Eon Hub out, is the target Permanently phased out?
Accepted answer
6 votes

Yes. From the comprehensive rules: 702.25m If an effect causes a player to skip his or her untap step, the phasing event simply doesn’t occur that turn. If by 'permanently' you mean 'until ...

View answer
Does Dovescape counter Enchantment Creatures?
8 votes

Expanding on Erik's correct answer. 205.2b Some objects have more than one card type (for example, an artifact creature). Such objects satisfy the criteria for any effect that applies to any of ...

View answer
How does the ability of Bloodthirsty Aerialist resolve with other life link creatures?
7 votes

The scenario unfolds as follows: You declare bloodthirsty Aerialist and Blood Burglar as attackers. Your opponent declares blockers for these creatures. All damage is dealt. At the same time, Blood ...

View answer
Is there a tier list of all precon Commander decks?
2 votes

As far as I'm aware there are no official rankings for Commander preconstructed decks. However, each deck in a given set it made with the others in mind to be balanced against. Thus, Mirror Mastery is ...

View answer
Who is the controller of a Pacifism enchanting my creature?
1 votes

As Glorfindel pointed out, although pacifism is enchanted on a creature you control, your opponent controls it, and you can target it with Conclave Tribunal. If we look at another example, it becomes ...

View answer