Fr33dan
  • Member for 7 years, 11 months
  • Last seen this week
  • Charlottesville, VA
Which player is affected by Tolarian Winds?
4 votes

You are correct, the effect will apply to the Tolarian Winds' controller. I believe the relevant rule is 608.2c: 608.2c The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order ...

View answer
Can an Aura be attached to itself?
Accepted answer
9 votes

You cannot do as you described, there is a ruling on Simic Guildmage (emphasis mine): For the second ability, only the Aura is targeted. When the ability resolves, you choose a permanent to move ...

View answer
Does Unsubstantiate work on graveyard or exiled cards?
Accepted answer
16 votes

It does not return cards from graveyard or exile. "Spell" only refers to a card when it is on the stack: 111.1. A spell is a card on the stack. As the first step of being cast (see rule 601, "...

View answer
If I rebound Seasons Past what happens?
Accepted answer
8 votes

If you give Seasons Past rebound it will still be placed on the bottom of your library. It will not be exiled and thus can not be cast during your next upkeep. The rule for rebound says (emphasis ...

View answer
Are 1/1 creatures sent to the graveyard from one damage before Rite of Passage's ability activates?
7 votes

You opponent was correct and the creature will die. In Magic the Gathering there is virtually nothing that "triggers instantaneously". With the exception of abilities that only create mana all ...

View answer
Is Argothian Elder a Druid?
Accepted answer
13 votes

Rule 108.1 states: 108.1. Use the Oracle™ card reference when determining a card’s wording. A card’s Oracle text can be found using the Gatherer card database at Gatherer.Wizards.com This means that ...

View answer
How does Necromantic Selection work with Adarkar Valkyrie?
5 votes

Player B will have the Sun Titan. Adarkar Valkyrie creates a triggered ability on the creature targeted that will trigger when the creature dies. Necromantic Selection will destroy the creature and ...

View answer
Dictate of Erebos and Bestowed creatures
2 votes

Dictate of Erebos' effect goes onto the stack for each instance it was triggered. The Hopeful Eidolon becomes a creature as soon as the creature it's attached to is removed from the battlefield so it ...

View answer
Do cards with abilities that target trigger heroic?
10 votes

No, Heroic cards specifically state "whenever you cast a spell that targets [this card]". Abilities are not spells. Here is the definition of a spell: 111.1. A spell is a card on the stack. ...

View answer
If a creature with an effect is destroyed by blocking do other attacking creatures lose the effect?
Accepted answer
8 votes

I think I might have found my own answer writing this ask but I'll post it so others can comment if I'm wrong and learn if I'm right: Yes given rule 510.2 which says: 510.2. Second, all combat ...

View answer