hexparrot
  • Member for 7 years, 9 months
  • Last seen more than a month ago
Do the rules as written make Assault weapons and Pistols useless?
4 votes

The rules-as-written do not deny assault weapons and pistols their expected advantage. From the 8th edition Battle Primer, you can see under Shooting/Weapon Types (pg 6): Each type of ranged ...

View answer
What are the rules for a space marine commander?
1 votes

Was this Space Marine Commander the miniature you saw? If so, at least according to the description on the website, it appears you'd be treating this as a Captain for rules purposes: Space Marine ...

View answer
Warhammer 40k: Do 'decurion' style detachments comprised of multiple formations still count as one detachment for ITC purposes?
Accepted answer
1 votes

“Decurion Style” Detachments comprised of multiple sub-detachments count as 1 detachment towards the 3 detachment limit. Source: ITC 2017 FAQ and Format Guidelines (linked from ITC2017 FAQ, Format ...

View answer
How does Conestoga work?
3 votes

There's an official answer in the Bang! Dodge City FAQ: Q11. How Conestoga and Rag Time work? A. Just read the symbols. They both allow you to draw a card (from the hand of among “in play” cards) ...

View answer
In Catan, is it possible to steal from yourself with the robber?
Accepted answer
14 votes

No, you may not. According to the official rules on the website: (1) You must move the robber immediately to the number token of any other terrain hex or to the desert hex. (2) Then you steal 1 (...

View answer
Can you use an ability and scrap a card in the same turn?
Accepted answer
10 votes

According to the Star Realms rules, I think your interpretation is correct: you may play a card for its trade value, then scrap it in the same turn. The relevant text (in the third row, top): When ...

View answer
How does "Concealment" transfer to Dedicated Transports?
1 votes

The 10th Company's special rule Concealed Positions gives Stealth to each unit in the formation that deploys using the Infiltration rule. We also know that the Dedicated Transport is a separate unit ...

View answer
Is Apocalypse still a rule set in 7th edition and are the books still useful
Accepted answer
2 votes

The most recent Apocalypse book came out in 2013, making it a 6th edition release. Since then, the 7th edition rulebook has already included many rules that were previously only mentioned in the Apoc ...

View answer
If my walker is in base with a vehicle can it shoot AND attack?
2 votes

6th edition An immobilized walker cannot pivot (p.74)--so while overwatch is still allowed (p.84)--you are limited precisely moving targets within the 45 degree horizontal and vertical arc present at ...

View answer
Does a Venomthrope gets an extra attack for using multiple weapons?
1 votes

The reason why the entry for Venomthropes does not list off "two pairs of scything talons" is because Venomthropes--unlike Raveners--have options for how to arm up that are zero cost. Looking at the ...

View answer
Ticket to Ride: May a train segment count for 2 different routes?
1 votes

In Ticket to Ride, any segments you have placed can and will work for any Routes you wish to complete. By sheer luck he pulled one that required very little additional track and re-used much existing ...

View answer
Which has to be declared first: Marklights or Jink?
1 votes

In the interest of forging the narrative and through a step-by-step playthrough of the shooting phase, I believe it is unambiguous that Jink must be declared before Markerlights. Tau player enters ...

View answer
Thud! - Can the Trolls win?
Accepted answer
9 votes

I have found that it is possible for Troll to actually play a strong game, however, there is a fundamental issue with seeing that one could win with either the trolls or dwarves. Remember, Thud! is ...

View answer
Is pretending to want to trade before playing a monopoly card objectionable?
11 votes

The Settlers of Catan FAQ offers an official answer: Monopoly - In order to find out which resources my opponents have, may I first offer them trades and then play my Monopoly card? Yes. However, ...

View answer
Would I level up if I "automatically defeated" a monster but someone wandered in a monster that killed me afterwards?
Accepted answer
9 votes

The Mascot is defeated, but Player A must defeat (but not necessarily kill) the wandering monster before being awarded levels or treasure (or the win). Basically, the rules state that after you kick ...

View answer
Why would you not move pawn two spaces during first move in chess?
Accepted answer
3 votes

Sometimes, center board control is not immediately the goal of a particular openings's strategy. I'm referring specifically to two types, Larsen's Opening and regular Fianchetto openings. Here, ...

View answer
Risk - Play by mail/email
3 votes

Unfortunately, play-by-mail isn't really an appropriate medium to play Risk, for a number of reasons. Gameplay is too long, even when just considering playing in person. while only one player can "...

View answer
40k - Ork Mob Rule vs Psychic Shriek
3 votes

6th Edition You are correct in your interpretation: the target's leadership is determined by the Mob Rule special rule. Ork Psychology and morale is directly linked to the number of Boyz around ...

View answer
WH/40k - The age-old instant death and multiwound models question
Accepted answer
1 votes

6th edition When rolling with a weapon with the instant death rule, the wound itself delivers instant death. The rulebook advises: Remember to use different coloured dice or otherwise distinguish ...

View answer
Putting a reclusiarch terminator in a drop pod?
2 votes

According to the rules cited in my other answer to your question regarding Dedicated Transports, you are permitted to attach either a Librarian or Reclusiarch (either in Terminator Armour) along with ...

View answer
Can a non independent character deploy in a dedicated transport?
1 votes

Tycho has two different profiles, Captain Tycho and Death Company Tycho. Since Death Company Tycho is not an independent character (codex p. 41, FAQ p. 4), it is disallowed by the Dedicated ...

View answer
40k - Kustom Force Field and Vehicle Explosions
Accepted answer
2 votes

6th Edition Your units within the transport should get their cover saves. Under Effect of Damage on Passengers (p. 80), it states the damage is treated as shooting hits: Explodes! The unit suffers a ...

View answer
Look Out Sir save clarifications
2 votes

There certainly is ambiguity in the Rulebook about which model determines what minimum die to hit, though I believe it makes more sense from the 'saving' model's point of view to do the roll. From ...

View answer
Calculating reserves, and the 50% rule
Accepted answer
2 votes

According to the rulebook pages on Deep Strike (p.36), I think the relevant rule-- for the sake of calculating 50%--is: When working out how many units can be placed in reserve, units that must ...

View answer